• Blog Stats

    • 474,379 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

“Don’t Tell God How Big Your Problem Is; Tell Your Problem How Big Your God Is” – Author Unknown


Don’t Tell God How Big Your Problem Is; Tell Your Problem How Big Your God Is.”
…Author Unknown

Many times during my life, I wish I had been familiar with this saying: “Don’t tell God how big your problem is, tell your problem how big your God is.”

In his homily during a February 12, 2017 weekday Mass at St. Matthew Catholic Church in Charlotte, NC, Fr. Casmir Maduakor from Nigeria told us: “Don’t tell God how big your problem is, tell your problem how big your God is.”

Today I’m reminding you that your God is bigger than any problem you have now or ever will have. Trust that He is going to bring GOOD out of every problem situation you ever have. Tell your problem how big your God is. It will crumble before your very eyes. Watch a solution show up. See your problem disappear. 

In the year 2000, when I was driving Mother from Delaware to Charlotte, NC after they repaired her left hip, I couldn’t get her back in the car. She had gotten out but was walking like Tim Conway as the Oldest Man  or Mr. Tudball on the Carol Burnett Show

She walked for ten minutes and moved two feet. So I had to call for help. I called to a man on the sidewalk in front of the car, “Sir, sir. Would you help me, please?”

He said, “How can I help you?”

“I got my Mother out to go to the restroom, but she’s not moving very fast and doesn’t have any energy. I need to get her back in the car. I have a blanket. If you could pull her from this side to the other on her blanket, I would appreciate it very much. She’s limp and can’t pull herself.”

So I sat Mother down on her blanket and he pulled her to the left side of the car. He stopped and said, “Is this far enough?”

I said, “No. Her feet are hanging out the door.”

He smiled and said, “Then I believe I need to pull her a little farther.” And he did. Then he put a pillow behind her head and shut the door.

When Mother’s feet were inside the door, I covered her with another blanket, and closed the other door. 

I thanked the man and asked him if I could give him a hug. He said, “Yes.” So I walked around the car to him and gave him a big hug. But it was me who needed the hug. The man told me I was welcome and headed on his own path.

There were many times when I was caring for Mother that God sent someone to help me. My problems disappeared. 

Believe and it will be given to you.
Ask and you shall receive.
Trust that God will hear your voice and help you.

I pray that you always have the help you need.

I’d love to hear from you, please click on comment and scroll down to the bottom of the page to write me a note.

COMMENT

 

Joan’s Elder Care Guide: Empowering You and Your Elder to Survive
4RV Publishing
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

Never Give Up
Believe in You

Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2017 Joan Y. Edwards

***************************************************

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join over 402 Valued Subscribers and receive entertaining, encouraging posts PLUS 3 free gifts:

  1. Never Give Up image
  2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
  3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

 

 

 

 

10 Responses

  1. A lovely story and beautiful encounter with a complete stranger. There are angels among us!
    Joan Reid

    Like

    • Dear Joan Reid,
      Thank you for writing. I love that you are a follower of my blog. You give me great encouragement. Thank you very much for your kind words.

      Do something fun today
      Never Give Up

      Like

  2. Joan, thank you for this reminder. Your inspiration and encouragement always lifts my spirits. 💗

    Like

    • Dear Kathleen,
      Thank you for writing. I’m glad you read my blog posts. I’m especially happy that I inspire and encourage you and that it lifts your spirits! That makes me smile.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  3. How nice of you to pray for us to always have what we need! Awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thank you for writing. You’re welcome for my praying that you always have what you need! It’s the least I can do for people who read my blog.

      Do something fun today to celebrate you!
      God made you great!
      Love,
      Joan

      Like

  4. Joan,
    This post was wonderful and I love the title of your post. I am glad that stranger was there to help you and your mom.

    Like

    • Dear Maureen,
      Thanks for reading my blog and writing me a little note. I am very glad that you liked this post. Thanks for being glad that a stranger was there to help me and my Mom. I hope that God always sends someone to help you when you are in distress!

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  5. May we all pray for strength and wisdom. Good article. Thanks, Joan.

    Like

  6. Dear Janis,
    Thank you for writing. I pray that God gives you all the strength, wisdom, and all things you need to survive.

    Do something fun for you today!

    Never Give Up
    Joan

    Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

