• Blog Stats

    • 462,586 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

17 Tips for a Successful Book Signing


17-tips-for-a-successful-book-signing-copyright-2016-joan-y-edwards

17 Tips for a Successful Book Signing Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

“17 Tips for a Successful Book Signing” by Joan Y. Edwards

First of all congratulations on having a book signing! What an honor! What an accomplishment! Congratulations to you, your publisher, and the book store or other place at which you are having a book signing. I had a very successful book signing at Park Road Books on November 12, 2016. Thank you to Megan, the event coordinator and the owner of Park Road books for accepting my books on consignment and then letting me have a book signing at the store.

I was afraid I would feel awkward or be alone. That didn’t happen. I felt right at home. Many customers who came in the store stopped to talk with me. Some stopped and signed “Thinking of You” cards for residents of Elmcroft’s Alzheimer/Dementia Unit. Both of my daughters came.  A couple of friends came to get the copy autographed that they’d bought online. It was like a big party. My older daughter came at 2:15 p.m. and stayed until I left at 4:00 p.m. My younger daughter and her family came, too. The family and friends who came stayed at least 40 minutes and visited with me and/or with each other. Everyone browsed the books. Six people bought Joan’s Elder Care Guide. Thirty-one people signed cards for the elderly. Thank you to all of you who came and visited with me. A special thanks to all who have purchased a book.

Here are 17 tips for a successful book signing:

  1. Contact your family and see if the date you’ve chosen is a good date for them to come.
  2. Email your family, writing groups and professional organizations and let them know about it.
  3. Post on your blog, Facebook, and Twitter about your book signing – If it’s a drop in, usually it’s for 2 hours from 2:00-4:00 PM or 7:00-9:00 PM. If you’re doing a presentation, you will want to put a special time: 2:00 pm. or 7:00 p.m.
  4. Call and/or email media about your book signing and ask them if they would like a copy for review. Ask the book store if they are contacting the media. Ask them if they have a media contact list that they would be willing to share with you.
    Newspapers from your county and each surrounding county
    Television stations
    Radio stations
  5. Get business cards printed – Name, website, email address, titles of books and ISBN numbers.
  6. Get postcards designed and printed – book cover, sentence quotes and name of reviewer.
  7. Print a poster with your picture and book cover announcing book signing and put in a plastic holder that will sit on a table.
  8. Have chocolate mints or after dinner mints.
  9. Bring your favorite pen that’s archival safe to use for writing an autograph. This means the pen won’t bleed through the page and will last a long time. Think of a good saying that will fit for most autographs. Perhaps a short but memorable saying. You want to focus on the person who bought your book and listen to his/her story.
  10. Wear comfortable shoes.
  11. Wear your favorite outfit that’s comfortable and distinctive looking.
  12. Wear a name tag around your neck with your name and the title or titles of your books (with your name large enough to read well at a glance).
  13. Call a day ahead and make sure everything is “Okay” for the book signing.
  14. Bring a bottle of water for you to keep yourself properly hydrated.
  15. Arrive 15 minutes early so that you can set things up and go to the bathroom to check your appearance before the book signing officially begins.
  16. Thank the people who buy your books. Thank those who come to hang out with you or stop by to say “hello,” even if they don’t buy a book.
  17. Before you leave, make sure you thank the event coordinator and the cashiers who were working during your book signing. See how many more copies of your book, they’d like for you to leave on consignment.

Thank you to all who have bought Joan’s Elder Care Guide and Flip Flap Floodle. In case you’d like to buy a copy or share with others, here are links to buy them. Joan’s Elder Care Guide is a great gift for a friend or relative who is caring for an elder. Flip Flap Floodle , a happy little duck, delights children of all ages and gives them courage to continue life playing their song so they don’t give up.

Joan’s Elder Care Guide: Empowering You and Your Elder to Survive
Park Road Books(Charlotte, NC)
4RV Publishing
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

Flip Flap Floodle
Amazon
Barnes & Noble

Thank you for reading my blog. I appreciate you very much. I’d love to hear from you. Feel free to let us know what works for you. To comment, click on comment and scroll down to the bottom of the page.

COMMENT

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

***************************************************

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join over 375 Valued Subscribers and receive entertaining, encouraging posts PLUS 3 free gifts:

  1. Never Give Up image
  2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
  3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators
13 Responses

  1. Great suggestions on having a fun book launch. Thanks for sharing-

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Sheri,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you liked my suggestions for a fun book launch! You’re welcome. It is my pleasure to share with you.

      Believe in you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  2. Thanks for this list, Joan. I’m saving it for when it’s my turn! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Carol,
      Thank you for writing. I’m glad you liked my list enough to save it for when it’s your turn. Your turn is going to be sooner than it has been since your last book launch!

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  3. Congratulations, Joan! Sounds like a terrific day. Thanks for the great tips. You are thorough.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Joyce,
      Thank you for writing. It’s good to hear from you. You are right. My book signing was a terrific day! I’m glad you liked my tips! I hope they help you. I’m so proud of you and the books you have written and gotten published!

      Believe in you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  4. Lots of good tips, Joan. It is a great idea to ask the bookstore if they contact the media. I believe you told me that you were given a list of contacts you could make. Is that correct? Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. Asking the book store if they contact the media is a great idea. Yes, you are right. I did ask the bookstore for a list of media contacts. Perhaps I should add that to my post. They did give me a list which helped me. Thanks for reminding me about that.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  5. Joan, a wonderful post! I’m so very happy that you had such a wonderful book launch day at Park Road books! You’ve worked so hard and are inspirational! I’m so sorry that I couldn’t be there. Thank you so much for sharing this writing journey. Sending a hug and my love ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Kathleen,
      Thank you for writing. I’m glad you liked this post. Thanks for being happy that I had a wonderful book launch day at Park Road Books. God had you in a different spot that day, it’s okay. I know you were with me in spirit. Thanks for the hug and the love! You are sweet to do that.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Good advice. I’m hoping my book will be out next year, so I’ll save the list for future reference… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Shawn,
      Thanks for writing. I am excited for you. It’ll be great when your book comes out. I’d like to do an interview of you on my blog close to your publication date.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  7. What great tips even including wearing a name badge and checking your appearance before the event. My latest mystery is in print, so this summer I hope to join my writers group in a book signing. It’s difficult to sell e-books at a book signing. At previous ones,I gave out info about my books and then hoped someone would actually order them. Any tips on “selling” ebooks to a crowd? Thanks.

    Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

