• Blog Stats

    • 467,439 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Believe in You: Submit Your Manuscript or Illustration


Believe in You Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

Believe in You Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

“Believe in You: Submit Your Manuscript or Illustration”

Believe in you.

I know. Sometimes it’s more difficult to believe in yourself than it is at other times. What are some simple things you can do to show you believe in you and your writing or illustrating? Let’s look at a few examples that show either a positive belief or a negative belief.

Actions/Reactions show your beliefs.

  1. Do you hide your work in a drawer?
  2. When someone says that your work’s good, do you reply, “I try, but I’m not very good at it.”
  3. If your work gets rejected, do you throw your manuscript in the trash?
  4. Do you bang your head against the table?
  5. Do you tear up your drawings?
  6. Do you punish yourself for not being good enough?
  7. Do you think other writers/illustrators are keeping you from achieving your goal?

Revamp the way you act and react.

  • Submit your manuscripts/illustrations to editors/agents/contests/critique partners.
  • Study the works of best-selling authors/illustrators.
  • Study the works of authors/illustrators you admire.
  • Study your work again, make possible revisions and try again.
  • Take writing/illustrating workshops in person or online.
  • Act like successful writers/illustrators do.
  • God has a plan for you. No one is keeping you from achieving your goal. Help other writers/illustrators on your path. In helping them, you’ll learn something that helps you.
  • Revise your manuscript after a critique.
  • Study publishers/agents to find one that publishes the kind of story you want published.
  • Study methods of publication (self-publishing and traditional publishing) to see which one you really want deep down in your soul.

Emotions show your beliefs

  1. Do you stay tense until you receive a response?
  2. Do you stay tense until the time has passed the three months or six months that indicates you haven’t passed the publisher’s or agent’s test for being noticed?
  3. Do you go into a fit of depression when you receive a “no” response.
  4. Are you afraid of what others might say about your work?

Can you reprogram your emotions so that the rejection doesn’t have such a negative influence over your goals? If you can’t accept a yes or no answer, figure out why? What myth are you believing as truth. This is a control thing. You think if they say, “NO, that you won’t get published. This isn’t true. It just means “no” for that publisher or agent. Make sure you’re not saying this to yourself if you receive a “no.” You are the only one that can say “NO” that stops you in your tracks.

  • I relax knowing that I have put my best writing/illustrating forward. If they reject me, it’s because it’s not the right place for it. It doesn’t mean it’s not good.
  • I relax knowing that I am a good writer/illustrator even if no one agrees with me. I know that God is helping me find the right publisher and to get the work in the right format.

Words show your beliefs. Do you say any of these negative belief statements?

  1. I can’t write.
  2. I can’t draw.
  3. I’ll never get published. It’s too hard.
  4. I’m not good enough to be a best-selling author.
  5. I don’t have the marketing skills to be a best-selling author.
  6. Not many people will buy my books because they don’t know me.

Rephrase your words to show you do believe in you and your writing/illustration.

  • I can write. I can draw.
  • My work is good. I’ll get published. I’ll find a way.
  • Every day I take a step closer to the publication of my work.
  • I have the writing and marketing skills to be a best-selling author.
  • People who read my work tell everyone they know about my books and that they are good and give more value than its cost.
  • People who see/read my work know that they get wonderful value for their money. They get helpful information. They get a powerful story. They get heart-felt illustrations.
  • People who read my work or see my illustrations see my gift of humor and laugh.

 

Amazing Articles (Please read one. I promise you that you’ll be glad you did.)

  1. Amandah Tayler Blackwell. “10 Ways to Improve Your Writing Skills—Quickly:” http://www.ragan.com/Main/Articles/10_ways_to_improve_your_writing_skillsquickly_46142.aspx
  2. Dan Shewan. “16 Ways to Improve Your Writing Skills:” http://www.wordstream.com/blog/ws/2014/08/07/improve-writing-skills
  3. Jerod Morris.  “A Sobering Lesson on the Value of Compromising Your Creative Ideas:” http://www.copyblogger.com/creative-compromise/
  4. Miss Literati. “Author Quotes That Prove You’re a Real Writer:” http://www.missliterati.com/blog/author-quotes-prove-you-are-a-real-writer
  5. Jacquelyn Smith. “16 Business Books That Will Change Your Life Forever According to My Coworkers:” http://www.businessinsider.com/business-books-that-will-change-your-life-forever-2016-4/
  6. Elana Goldberg. “10 Life-Changing Books that Will Stay With You Forever:” http://www.goodnet.org/articles/10-lifechanging-books-that-will-stay-you-forever
  7. Linds Redding. “An Overdue Lesson in Perspective:” http://www.lindsredding.com/2012/03/11/a-overdue-lesson-in-perspective/

    My blog posts to get your work ready to submit:

    Pub Subbers
    Week 1
    Week 2
    Week 3
    Week 4

    I love hearing from you. Tell me what you’d like for me to write about. Click on comment and scroll down to the bottom of the page.

    COMMENT

    Never Give Up
    Live with Enthusiasm
    Celebrate Each Step You Take

    Joan Y. Edwards
    Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

    ***************************************************

    Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join over 370 Valued Subscribers and receive entertaining, encouraging posts PLUS 3 free gifts:

    1. Never Give Up image
    2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
    3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators
6 Responses

  1. Hi, Joan,Nice article. Of course, you have to remember that any English person, most British and a hell of a lot of Europeans will always put themselves down if asked if they’re any good. It’s just our way. Americans can say they’re really good at something, and that’s fine. Even to European ears it’s just a statement of fact, but over here we’re so indoctrinated against ‘conceit’ and ‘boasting’ that we just can’t bring ourselves to do it! Conversely, my problem is arrogance. It’s not that I don’t believe in myself, it’s that I don’t, in all honesty, believe in the people to whom I send my work. To tell you the horrifying truth, my immediate reaction to rejection  is to assume there’s something wrong with the person who’s doing the rejecting. Unfortunately, the dumbing-down that has infested British culture for so long only intensifies my sense of having cast purls before swine. The argument that they (ordinary people like you and me) ‘won’t understand’ is frustrating, and all the more so since I discovered that many of the ‘gate-keepers’ in the arts in general (editors, TV commissioners, producers etc.) seem to have been hand-picked for their astonishingly low IQ. I’ve met people (particularly in the world of British TV production) who have a real genius for stupidity. A friend of mine pitched a wine programme to The Food Channel, and was told that wine is visually unexciting, since there are any two colours involved: Red and White. (So what about Rose? What about the different countries where it’s made, and the colourful characters that make it?) You see what I mean? Am I alone in my inflated view of myself, or have others out there found the same thing? Is what we present as a lack of faith in ourselves in fact a lack of faith in the others on whom we have to depend in order to get our stuff out there?  Lorenzo

    |
    

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Lorenzo,
      Thanks for writing. It’s the inner talk about being a good writer that’s the most important. It’s the core belief. It’s funny that you’re thinking there must be something wrong with the people who reject you! Instead of sadness over being rejected, it gets you into being angry because they had the audacity to reject you. That’s why research is very important! That’s why it’s good to submit your work to a company or a person you truly believe will be interested in your work. But perhaps your way is healthier. Everyone has to find a way that works for them.

      I’m not recommending that people brag about their abilities necessarily. I’m just saying that you shouldn’t down your abilities as a writer or illustrator.

      Enjoy being you.
      Believe in you
      Never Give up
      Keep on Submitting Your Work
      Joan

      Like

  2. I like the term “revamp.” None of us like to have to redo. Funny, the power words have over us.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad that my word “revamp.” It does have a lot of good energy to it. More power as you say.

      Enjoy your writing!

      Believe in you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  3. Lots of good points here. We do need a sense of self-confidence to persevere. But we also need to be realistic. I can put my best effort into my work, but that doesn’t necessarily mean that I’ll end up with a published book. But–it’s certainly not going to happen if my work stays hidden on my computer!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Carol,
      Thanks for writing and sharing your ideas. You are right. You have to accept the possibility that your book may not be published. That’s a fact. However, I believe that if you focus more on the possibility that your book will become published, you’ll have better luck at it. What you focus your mind and thoughts on are more likely to happen! You’re right. Publication is definitely not going to happen if a writer’s work stays hidden in a drawer and never submitted to a critique group, contest, publisher, or agent.
      Believe in you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

