Fear of the Lord: Which Characters Have It? Which Don’t?


Fear of the Lord image Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

Fear of the Lord image Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

 

“Fear of the Lord: Which Characters Have it? Which Don’t?” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is Part 7 and the last in a series of blogs about the Gifts of the Holy Spirit.

Fear of the Lord is a gift of the Holy Spirit.

Fear of the Lord means awe, wonder of the workings of God. Dictionary.com says It is a fear conjoined with love and hope, and is, therefore, not a slavish dread, but rather filial reverence. An incentive to penitence; Google states that religious means treated or regarded with a devotion and scrupulousness appropriate to worship.

Synonyms are God-fearing, religious, devoted, faithful, prayerful, theological, spiritual, devout, sacred, filled with wonder and awe, veneration

Antonyms are irreligious, disbelief, atheist, secular, profane, defile, sacrilegious

I like to put fear of the lord as meaning full of awe for all he’s capable of and all He’s done for me. When I was a child, I was taught to fear God because if I did wrong He would send me away from heaven. That was a severe punishment. As I grew older, I realized that I didn’t believe some of the things I had been taught. I learned that God is a forgiving God and that if you try your best to obey his ten commandments and love him above all things and love your neighbor as yourself, you would be okay. I believe that God is the ultimate Judge and will decide who goes to heaven and who doesn’t.

There are a few wonderful times in my life when I knew there was a creator who was very powerful, creative, and loving. When I viewed the Grand Canyon. When I looked through huge telescopes in the mountains and saw the planets as well as the stars. When I was pregnant with my daughters and experienced the wonder of new birth. I have learned that God sends people into my life for a reason. One of these very touching moments was when a principal tried to persuade my teacher assistant to teach with another person. He asked three different times and her answer was, “I want to teach with Mrs. York.” She stood beside me when I was under fire. She chose to be with me. Now that was godliness in humanity.

Have you ever loved someone so much that you didn’t want to hurt them or disappoint them? I think this is gift that the Holy Spirit gives to you and me.

With gifts, you don’t have to accept them or use them. It’s a choice.

Let’s examine movies, TV shows, and books for examples of fear of the lord or the absence of it:

Characters with fear of the lord

  1. Moses in the Bible
  2. Jonah in the Bible
  3. Charlie Brown in “The Great Pumpkin” cartoon and film
  4. ET in ET
  5. Uncle Remus in Song of the South
  6. Andy Griffith in Andy Griffith
  7. Mother Teresa in Mother Teresa: In My Own Words

Characters without fear of the lord

  1. It seems to me that Henry VIII could be considered sacrilegious because he killed so many people, even some of his wives. The Six Wives of Henry VIII.
  2. The people in the town who started The Lottery (movie) where someone in the town was stoned to death
  3. The Devil in the Bible when he’s tempting Jesus Christ
  4. The people selling things in the Temple when Jesus threw them out in the Bible.
  5. Joker in Batman because he wants to kill or hurt people just to aggravate Batman. (Comics, movie)
  6. Anakin/Darth Vader in Star Wars. (Book, Movie)
  7. Stepmother and Stepsisters in Cinderella (book and movie)

Resources

 

You make my day. Thank you for reading my blog.

Please let me know your favorite characters with fear of the lord and those without it in any way, shape, or form. Click below and scroll down to the bottom to comment.

COMMENT

 

Gifts of the Holy Spirit Blog Series

  • This is Part 7 and the last in the series. “Fear of the Lord: Which Characters Have It? Which Don’t?”

Never Give Up
Live with Enthusiasm
Celebrate Each Step You Take

Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

***************************************************

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join over 360 Valued Subscribers and receive entertaining, encouraging posts PLUS 3 free gifts:

  1. Never Give Up image
    2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
    3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

4 Responses

  1. Time to celebrate! You’ve completed your latest series. I think “fear of the Lord” is very often misunderstood. For many, many years, I associated it with being afraid of instead of in awe of. It’s just not the usual meaning for fear. I hope children today learn this earlier than I did. Probably not.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. Thanks for congratulating me for completing this series on the Gifts of the Holy Spirit. I enjoyed finding different meanings for the gifts and characters who show how they can be manifested in humanity.

      I hop the children today are taught about a forgiving God…one from the New Testament, not one who is unforgiving and lacking compassion or help.

      Celebrate you.
      May God fill you with all the Gifts of the Holy Spirit.
      Never Give Up

      Joan

      Like

  2. The Holy Spirit has always been a mysterious entity for me whose work in my life has been evident many times. I too was taught as a youngster to fear God, but your explanation of being in awe of the Lord is far more accurate, kinder, and less frightening. I think of Job who didn’t fear the Lord even as everything earthly was taken from him. The Lord recognized that Job was in awe of the Lord, kept his faith, knew the Lord was in charge, and for this Job’s life was blessed once again. Thoughtful, well-written and well-researched series! Thank you!
    Joan Reid

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Joan Reid,
      Thank you for writing. You are right, Job didn’t fear the Lord even when God took everything from him. God definitely rewarded Job for believing in God and accepting that God was in charge of his life. Thanks for the compliment. I’m glad you think my series was well-written and well-researched series. Thanks for reading it and for commenting.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

