• Blog Stats

    • 473,732 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Do You Have the Latest and Greatest B.S. Meter?


 

“Do You Have the Latest and Greatest B.S. Meter?” by Joan Y. Edwards

One day a friend said this to me, ” I met a man who said he was a movie producer. My B.S. Meter didn’t go off. So I think he’s legit.”

I laughed and laughed. I had never heard of a B.S. Meter. It sounded like a great gadget to have. That got me thinking. I searched online and discovered that B.S. Meters have been written about on the internet for many years.

After I pondered this device more, here’s what I think about B.S. Meters.

You were born with a natural, 100% biodegradable B.S. Meter. It’s your gut instinct. I admit that sometimes you can be intimidated, conned, and charmed into believing a number of untruths. However, when you believe that your B.S. Meter will ring a loud alarm when someone’s trying to pull the wool over your eyes, you’ll do much better.

You have to be trained to realize when someone is pulling your leg. When I was a child, I asked my grandfather, PaPa Bruffey, “How do those cows stand on the hillside? He said, “That’s easy. Their top legs are shorter than their bottom legs.”

That was what I call a slow smiling situation. It took me years to figure out that PaPa Bruffey was teasing me and making a joke. That’s when I smiled and smiled.

Experience plays a significant role in the use of your B.S. Meter. Believe in you and your ability to make good decisions. Study conversations. People who’ve been conned out of their money by charming B.S. flaunters don’t take time to study what they are hearing. Beware of how others want you to use your money.

Here are three times you need a B.S. Meter:

  1. When a contractor tells you it’ll only take $1,000.00 to build a screened in porch with a roof.
  2. When a salesman says, “It has a lifetime guarantee.”
  3. When a skydiver says: “It’s so easy, anyone can do it.

Here are five times when a B.S. Meter comes in handy for writers and illustrators:

  1. When you receive a critique that says, “There’s no way you can improve your manuscript/illustrations. It’s perfect.”
  2. When you receive a contract with legal lingo you can’t understand
  3. When you receive a request for a manuscript that says, “We guarantee you publication of your book in 24 hours!”
  4. When you go to a conference and hear a speaker say, “It’s easy to get published by a traditional publisher.”
  5. When someone says, “It’s so easy to write a children’s book, anyone can do it in 24 hours or less.”

If your B.S. Meter needs to be updated, I suggest you choose an image from the resources below or draw one to help you out. If you have drawings of your perfect B.S. Meter, please email it to me at joanyedwards1@gmail.com or share it with me on Facebook Joan Y. Edwards or Twitter @joanyedwards. Prayer helps your B.S.Meter become fully compliant with the high standards you want out of life.

Resources:

  1. “Images of BS Meters:” http://photobucket.com/images/bullshit%20meter
  2. “Bla Bla Meter :” http://www.blablameter.com/index.php 
  3. Urban Dictionary. “BS Meter:” http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Bs%20Meter
  4. Dana Theus. “Three Ways the Millennial Generation Can Be Your Company’s BS Meter:” http://switchandshift.com/3-ways-the-millennial-generation-can-be-your-companys-bs-meter

Please share your lines of times when you’re grateful you have a good B.S. Meter by clicking the comment link below and scrolling to the bottom of the page.

COMMENT

Believe in you.
Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

*********************************************************

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Join over 357 Valued Subscribers and receive entertaining, encouraging posts PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

 

 

10 Responses

  1. This was so cute, JOan! I’ll remember this one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Carol,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you liked this one. I still laugh when I say those words: B.S. Meter! So fun! Thanks for telling me you’ll remember this one.

      Believe in you.
      Live.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  2. I think my BS Meter worked pretty well on Monday at the phone service center. I try to remember, “When in doubt, don’t.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad that your BS Meter worked pretty well on Monday at the phone service center. Hurray for you! I like your saying, “When in doubt, don’t.” Very wise words.

      Believe in you.
      Live
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  3. I was surprised and then delighted by your B.S, Meter post. Someone more learned than I once told me that our instincts or gut feelings are the most accurate of all of our senses and the one we pay the least amount of attention to. If your radar goes up, give it your full attention.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear Sandra,
    Thanks for writing. I’m glad you were surprised and then delighted by my B.S. Meter post. Our gut instincts are “right on target” when we listen to them. Good advice someone gave you.

    Have fun today being you.
    Never Give Up
    Joan

    Like

  5. Loved this post. And don’t we need this meter this year with all the political promises and smiling, friendly candidates? Yes, I think living life is the best teacher for determining BS. Thanks for the giggle.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear J.Q. Rose,
      Thank you for writing. I am glad you loved this post. You are right. We need a good B.S. Meter in today’s times of political promises.
      Experience is a good teacher. You are fun!

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  6. Delightful! I sometimes think mine’s too good. I’m often skeptical and wary, even when the risks are relatively low, compared to the potential rewards. That said, I have few regrets, other than the notoriety of having passed on VOIP and online auctions back in the early 1990s.

    Experience should be a good teacher, but many people are poor students of it. Still others need to learn to TRUST their B.S. meters, as you say – to listen to those little warning bells and not second-guess their gut instinct. I firmly believe I’m alive today because my mom trusted hers, once, when I was a teen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Holly,
      Thanks for writing. Thanks for subscribing to my blog, too. I’m glad you found my post about our inner B.S. Meter delightful. You are right. Many times we are not good students of our life experiences. I’m especially glad that your Mother trusted her gut instincts when you were a teenager. I’m so glad you’re alive today and that I got to meet you personally at the OWFI conference.

      Enjoy your day.
      Believe in You
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

