• Blog Stats

    • 462,592 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

What Makes a Book Reviewer Tick? Interview with Page Inman


Page Inman, Book Reviewer

Page Inman, Book Reviewer

“What Makes a Book Reviewer Tick? Interview with Page Inman” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is the first in a series of blog posts about what makes a book reviewer tick and how writers can entice reviewers to read to the very end.

Thank you Joan for this opportunity to introduce myself and my blog As The Page Turns.

You’re very welcome. It’s my pleasure to share ideas from the mind of a book reviewer! You provide a wonderful service for readers, authors, and publishers.

Thank you very much. I’ll tell you a little about myself.

I am a retired librarian who lives in NC and I started the blog in 2010 to share my love of reading with others. I was born in Georgia, but have lived in NC most of my life. I am the fur mama of 4 cats. I love reading and have been an avid reader since childhood. My parents are readers and nurtured that as I was growing up. I always wanted to be a librarian since the age of 13 and was lucky enough to do it for over 25 years. I believe that reading can take you anywhere you want to go for little or no cost. I get a lot of my books at the library or at used bookstores.

What genres do you like to read?

I like to read thrillers, suspense, fantasy, sci fi, historical, non-fiction, and some romance.

Who are your favorite authors?

I have too many authors to pick just one favorite. I like Margaret Atwood, Steve Berry, Nevada Barr, Terry Pratchett, Paul Christopher, just to name a few.

Where can people find your reviews? 

You can find my reviews at http://asthepageturns-page.blogspot.com/. I don’t do advertising on the blog because I just want to highlight the books and to keep things simple. I don’t have a system for which books I review. I only review those I want to share. I like to highlight indie authors.

Do you do digital book reviews?

I don’t do digital books, as I like the smell and feel of a real book.

Do you charge to do a book review?

I do not charge to review your book. I may not review all the books I receive because I didn’t like the book, or I didn’t finish the book. I don’t do negative reviews because I only want to be positive. If I don’t like the book for some reason, I’ll contact the author and explain it to them without embarrassment.

Here are three of your reviews that I liked:

  1. Sunshine Beach
  2. American Dermish
  3. Violins of Venice

How can authors and publishers contact you to see if you’ll do a book review for them?

You can visit my blog to see how to contact me. I hope you visit my blog and share your reads with me and my readers.

Happy Reading!

I hope you’ll leave a comment for Page Inman. 

Comment

Believe in You
Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards 

                    *********************************************************************

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Join over 344 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
When you subscribe, you receive entertaining, encouraging posts PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

 

 

 

 

 

Save

Save

8 Responses

  1. Interesting post. Thanks

    Like

    • Dear Carol,
      Thanks for writing. I appreciate you stopping by. I’m glad you thought it was an interesting post.

      Believe in you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  2. Page, pity you don’t read electronic books. In contrast, I avoid paper ones when I can. 🙂

    Once you get used to them, e-books are much more convenient. Some of the advantages:

    Less weight and bulk. I once went on an intercontinental trip, carrying 40 books, and didn’t have to pay excess luggage. My house is full of loaded bookshelves, but there are more books in my computer.
    Zoom and backlighting. Nowadays, I need glasses and bright light to read on paper, but not onscreen.
    Search capability. Especially in editing, but also just for general interest, I may read something late in the book I want to compare to something earlier. In a computer, that’s easy, and I can confirm whether Jim in Chapter 37 was also Jim in Chapter 3, or was in fact Jack. Try that in a paper book.
    And the most important is the environment. In our crazy world, paper is murdered trees.

    So, much as I’d love you to review my books, I am not going to send you a slab of paper from Australia.

    🙂
    Bob

    Like

    • Dear Dr. Bob,
      Thanks for writing. Thanks for bringing up the pros for ebooks. It’s good to know the preferences of reviewers so you know if you will be a good match. I know there are many reviewers who accept ebook submissions. You will find the right reviewers for your books.

      Believe in you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

    • Bob,

      I understand your point and agree, but for me I prefer to hold it in my hands. I also donate my used books to my local library for their book sales and to a local used store to redeem for other books I wish to read. Like Joan said, my reviews are to introduce readers to authors and books they may be unaware of and most come as e-books, so if a reader prefers e-books they can use my review to know if it’s a book they want to read.

      Like

  3. Dear Page,
    Thank you for sharing your review preferences. It was fun to learn how you became a librarian and discovered your love of reviewing books. On behalf of authors and publishers, thank you very much.

    Believe in You
    Never Give Up
    Joan

    Like

  4. Thanks, Joan. I enjoyed learning about Page Inman and her book reviews. It’s great that she continues to share her love of reading by writing reviews. She has a lot of them posted! Good to know.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you enjoyed learning about Page and her book reviews. You’re right. It’s great that she continues to share her love of reading by writing reviews.

      Believe in you and your writing
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

