• Blog Stats

    • 468,208 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

How to Mail a Book on a Tight Budget


Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

“How to Mail a Book on a Tight Budget” by Joan Y. Edwards

I set out the other week to send a reviewer a copy of Joan’s Elder Care Guide. I couldn’t believe the costs with FedEx and UPS…almost $15.00. Not within my tight budget.

I read where bubble wrap that allows books to move around wasn’t good, but wrapping the book tight in bubble wrap would be good…protect from water. Another person said that cardboard that stapled the book down around the edges where it couldn’t move was good. I didn’t want to have to buy a lot of products to keep around the house.

Office Depot had small bubble wrap containers (between $1.00-2.00), but they were larger than my book so the book wiggled around. However, FedEx had recycled cardboard envelopes (Yesterday’s News® Padded Mailer) of different sizes. Size #2 for about $1.29 was one that fit my book. It fit great: not too loose, not too tight. Goldilocks, just right. It self-sealed. I wrote the mailing address and return address right on the envelope. I went to the U.S. Post Office and mailed it for $2.11 media mail which included a tracking number. Now that was my kind of bargain. The reviewer who received the book said it arrived in great shape. Hip Hip Hooray!

I think most packages don’t have to sit in the rain. If you’re worried about that, you couId put a layer of bubble wrap around your book to protect it from water.

Below are three resources with more hints to wrap and ship a book. How do you ship books? Please share in the comment area.

Resources

 

Believe in you.
Never Give UpJoan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

*********************************************************

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Join over 357 Valued Subscribers and receive entertaining, encouraging posts PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

Save

12 Responses

  1. Good blog, Joan. You can buy shipping envelopes that are lined with bubble wrap for about $2. I also found it’s less expensive if you ship your book “Media Mail.”
    On another book marketing issue, could you please let us know how you decided on which reviewers to use and how you contacted them? Thanks, Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Sarah, Thanks for writing. I’m glad you’ve found shipping envelopes lined with bubble wrap to mail books. I’m especially glad that you discovered the great savings of shipping books by “Media Mail.”

      I’ll be glad to do a post about choosing reviewers. So far, I’ve chosen people who volunteered to review the book. These are people who might use the book in the future or might have used it had it been published at the time they were caring for an elder. There are many places to choose reviewers. I haven’t chosen my professional reviewers, yet. After I’ve done that, I’ll write the post about it. Thanks for asking.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  2. Hi Joan, I try to send mine the cheapest way also. I buy a box of padded mailers at Sam’s but I also recycle padded mailers in which something was sent to us. I save bubble wrap and wrap it around and if not that saran wrap but I make sure it is padded. Different ways depending on the book size. To mail my own book in a padded mailer is around what you paid for yours.
    Megan

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Megan,
      Thank you for writing. Thanks for sharing your mailing ideas.
      Glad you’ve found an inexpensive way to send a book through the mail. Recycling padded mailers is a great idea. Using bubble wrap or Saran wrap is an excellent idea.

      Packing your book safely helps get it to the new owner in great shape and smiling twice: one smile for the outside condition and one smile for the wonderful words held within your book!

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  3. I do my very best to avoid sending out paper books to reviewers, but offer electronic copies only. This works in most cases.
    One reason is the cost of postage (what you Americans call shipping, though no ship is involved!). But there are others:
    Time: my book arrives at the most the next day.
    Certainty of arrival. Much less likely to get lost in the mail.
    Above all, environmental considerations. My books don’t eat trees.
    🙂
    Bob

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear Dr. Bob, Thanks for writing and sharing with us. Glad that you do electronic copies for reviewers. I understand what you’re saying. However, i personally love reading a book and want to offer that to my reviewers.

    Soon, I can purchase an e-copy of my book and send it. It’s good that we have choices.

    Funny about us calling it shipping when a ship may not be involved at all.

    Celebrate you!
    Never Give Up
    Joan

    Like

  5. Hi Joan, Well done finding an inexpensive way to ship your books. I save the cardboard off the backs of writing pads and cut them to the size of the book then fold the envelope around it as tightly as possible. I’ve also received books wrapped in file folders and they’ve arrived in good condition.

    On the flip side, I’ve ordered books from online retailers and they’ve arrived in less than pristine condition.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Melanie,
      Thanks for writing and sharing the neat ways you mail your books so that they arrive in good shape without it costing you an arm and a leg or your first born child!

      Good luck with your books.
      Celebrate you!
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  6. That is really expensive. No wonder people have to choose carefully where they submit their work!

    Like

    • Dear Jason (otherwise known as opinionated man),
      Thank you for writing. Luckily for us, most publishers accept email submissions now. I hope you’ll subscribe to my blog. I hope you find many helpful articles here.
      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Joan! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • Dear Jason, You are very welcome!
          Have a fun day!

          Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

