• Blog Stats

    • 479,471 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Reblog from Martha Beck: “The Kindest Thing You Can Do For Yourself in 2015”


Reblog: “The Kindest Thing You Can Do for Yourself in 2015” by Martha Beck O Newsletter 3/1/15

In the 1970s, when the phrase “be your own best friend” made its way into the zeitgeist, I was mildly confused: I thought friendship involved, you know, more than one person. Then I grew up and realized that most of us are more than one person. As we figure out how we fit in socially and learn how to tailor our behavior to various situations, we end up with several—often wildly dissimilar—versions of ourselves.

For a long time, my own being housed a bustling community of judges, critics and doomsday prophets who conspired to put me through hell. One day I realized that if I wrote down all the negative things I said to myself and showed the resulting document to the police, they’d issue a restraining order against me on my own behalf. But then I figured out that if I could become my own worst enemy, I could also become my own best friend. I developed a method for doing exactly that, and now I’m going to share it with you.

My method for self-befriending centers on empathic listening. It requires that a friendly aspect of your psyche converse with the part that most needs support.

Go to the following link for the rest of the story! You will absolutely love it. Read more: http://www.oprah.com/omagazine/Martha-Beck-Be-Your-Own-Best-Friend

 

 

Martha Beck’s latest book is The Martha Beck Collection: Essays for Creating Your Right Life, Volume One (Martha Beck Inc.).

I hope this helps you as much as it did me.

Believe in You
Be a Good Friend to Yourself
Thanks for reading!
Joan Y. Edwards

7 Responses

  1. Joan,
    Great way to look at loving yourself. I especially enjoyed the conversations between BFS and TWS. One to keep in mind through all things. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      I’m glad you thought this reblog by Martha Beck showed a great way to look at loving yourself and that you enjoyed the conversation between the BFS and TWS. You’re right. It’s a great idea to keep these things in mind through all things.

      Celebrate you.
      Love yourself.
      Never Give Up on you.
      Joan

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing Beck’s inspiring blog and ideas. I’ve always believed that love of self too often gets caught up in ego instead of in the understanding that God didn’t make junk and we all have a purpose in life, gifts and talents to develop to share with the world. Lack of self-love keeps us from developing those gifts and talents.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Sandra,
      Thanks for writing. You’re welcome for my reblogging Beck’s inspiring blog post and ideas. I think when someone else gives ideas that are so good you can’t reword them better, a reblog is a good idea.

      You’re right. Like the man who buried his talent in the Gospels, we are sometimes stopped in our tracks by our fears, accompanied by a denial of love for who we are at this particular time in our lives, including our mistakes and imperfections.

      Celebrate you
      Love yourself
      Never Give Up on you
      Joan

      Like

  3. This article came at just the right time. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear J.Q.,
      Thank you for writing. I am so glad that this reblog post from Beck came at just the right time to help you. You’re very welcome. Beck said things that helped me, too.

      Celebrate you.
      Love yourself
      Never Give Up on You.
      Joan

      Like

  4. I love Joan Beck’s philosophies and writings. This blog is similar to your beliefs and practices, Joan. You always tell me to “believe in yourself.” This is so self-affirming. Thanks so much, Joan. By the way, I got your book overnight with Amazon Prime. It looks great. I like the charts and organizers you included. I’ll read it when we get back from the beach. I am so happy for you!

    Liked by 1 person

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

