When Stressed to the Max, Take 3 Days to Rest


Take 3 days to rest Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards“When Stressed to the Max, Take 3 Days to Rest”

When you’re stressed to the max, give yourself three days to rest.

My mother, Ethel D. Meyer, had a friend who told her to rest 3 days to give her body and mind a chance to rejuvenate when she was stressed to the max. She used this technique. It seemed to work great for her. She lived to be 92 years old.

Emotional turmoil, feeling like your immune systems is running thin, or other stressful situations arise. All these things may take a toll or your body and your mind. It may hit you hard. The body needs time to heal and calm down. Rest will help it.

Rest doesn’t have to be sleep. Rest is doing things that help relax you. Your body and mind needs downtime from stress to do its automatic healing.

You tell me. I don’t have that much time to rest. Okay. But take 3 minutes, or 3 hours to rest. Everyone’s needs are different. Rest will help you in the long run.

I know when my body is under stress, I sleep a lot…not 3 days worth, but more than the 8 hours. I give myself release from self-made deadlines. Sometimes I’ll take extra vitamins, too.

Be merciful to yourself and to those with whom you are having problems. Forgiveness gives you freedom to start anew.

Say positive affirmations and pray to help fill you with calmness. Keep saying, “Thank you, God, for healing me. Thank you, God for helping me handle this situation with peace and wisdom.”

The Serenity Prayer helps many people overcome anxiety.

The Serenity Prayer

God grant me the serenity
To accept the things I cannot change;
Courage to change the things I can;
And wisdom to know the difference.

…Reinhold Niebuhr

Read more: http://www.lords-prayer-words.com/famous_prayers/god_grant_me_the_serenity.html#ixzz43Vj63S5v

Exercise helps many people cope with stress. Don’t overdo it when your body is already stressed. A combination of exercise and meditation with yoga will help, too. Drawing and writing helps me calm down when I am stressed

Whichever method helps you, do it. Take action to calm you down as soon as you get upset. Take time to relax. Don’t wait too long. Your body will force you to take time away, if you don’t put in a little relaxation. Time for you to rejuvenate yourself.

I know that meeting with family and friends helps me relax. I call and set up a get-together to help me relax. You know the things that help you relax. Go for them.

Here are two links to quotes and sayings that might help you.

Resources:

Joan Y. Edwards. “Being Calm in the Face of Emergency:”
https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2009/12/03/being-calm-in-the-face-of-emergency/

Joan Y. Edwards. “How to Get Out of Fear’s Trap:” https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2013/10/28/how-to-get-out-of-fears-trap/

Joan Y. Edwards. “What You Can Learn from a Deer:” https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2012/05/30/what-you-can-learn-from-a-deer/

Joan Y. Edwards. “You Are Calm:” https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2016/02/26/you-are-calm/

To leave a comment, click here.

I’d love to know what helps you when you’re stressed to the max.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Join over 344 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
When you subscribe, you receive entertaining, encouraging posts PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

Save

4 Responses

  1. Great advice Joan BUT there’s another side to this coin. Many creative types, like we writers all are, do their BEST work while stressed or depressed to the max.

    Now, I’m not recommending being stressed or depressed but perhaps another way to de-stress is to write or paint or sculpt your way out of it. If writing or any of these other creative forms gives you joy, then do it even when, and especially when you’re down.

    We each need to find our own path.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Sandra,
    Thanks for writing. Yes, you are right. Each of us has to do things our way. Rest doesn’t always mean sleeping. Rest can be without stressful situations. Relaxing. Perhaps I should add that to my post. If you’re so stressed you can’t work. If you’re so stressed, you’re getting sick, then that’s what I’m telling you to take time to do something that is relaxing for awhile so you can again tackle things in a better frame of mind and a healthy body. Your own personal experience will tell you what to do. God will enlighten you and help you, too. The main thing is to take care of your body and your mind!

    Celebrate you
    Live with enthusiasm
    Joan

    Like

  3. Good post, Joan.

    My thoughts: find beauty, peace, give thanks for your blessings, etc. even if you can’t physically remove yourself from the stress. I believe when family and friends pray for someone, the individual can sense a decrease in their stress level. I have felt this difference and attribute it to the power of prayer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. I agree with you that when people pray for you, you sense a decrease in the stress levels! God is good to us. He gives us friends to help us by praying!

      Never Give Up
      Live with Enthusiasm
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

