Is the Desire for Control in Your DNA?


Desire for control

“Is the Desire for Control in Your DNA?” by Joan Y. Edwards”

Is the desire for control getting the best of you. Is it embedded in your DNA? A couple of months ago, my friend Barbara Walker, who helped me take care of my Mother from 2002 until Mother died in 2009, said, “Control is part of our DNA.”

When Barbara said that I laughed and laughed. I said, “Barbara, I think you’re right about that.”

Is the desire for control a human thing? Is the craving of power to control an addiction? Who really has control?

Do people crave money because they think it means power to control? Or is it power they crave and crave money because they believe it will help them maintain control.

I don’t offer you the answers. I’m sure you’ve figured out a few of your own answers.

What is DNA?

DNA is the fundamental and distinctive characteristics or qualities of someone, regarded as unchangeable. Hereditary material in every cell in a person’s body. It’s your unique genetic code in a molecule called a genome.

DeoxyriboNucleic Acid,

  • “diversity is part of the company’s DNA”

What is control?

  • Control is the power to influence or direct people’s behavior or the course of events.
  • Control is the ability to determine the behavior or supervise the running of. “he was appointed to control the company’s marketing strategy”
  • Control means to be in charge of, run, manage, direct, administer, head, preside over, supervise, superintend, steer, command, rule, govern, lead, dominate, hold sway over, be at the helm
  • Informally, control means to head up, be in the driver’s seat, run the show as in the sentence: “one family controlled the company since its formation.”

To me when I feel everything is out of control, it means it’s out of my control. I feel helpless. I feel hopeless. That’s not a very empowering feeling.

However, when I think about how God has helped me in the past, then I get a little hope built in that everything is going to be okay. When you’re stressed to the hilt, start naming people, things, and situations you are thankful for.

It’s bad, but I’m thankful it isn’t worse.
I’m thankful that I have shoes on my feet.
I’m thankful that I have food in the refrigerator.
I’m thankful for God’s mercy on me.

I’ve heard myself and others say things like this, “I can’t handle this.” We have to ultimately change that thinking to, I can handle it with God’s help. I can handle it if I look at all the possible solutions. I’m thankful that I usually can figure out a different way to do something.

Take positive action. Action makes you feel like you’re making progress towards solving the problem. Take a long walk. Meditate. Pray. Wash clothes. Wash the dishes.If you’re still stressed out, here are a few blog posts that may help you:

Good luck with letting go of wanting control or at least accepting that not all things are in our control.

To leave a comment, click here:

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Join over 344 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
When you subscribe, you receive entertaining, encouraging posts PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

Save

4 Responses

  1. This is one to think on, Joan. Barbara’s comment is priceless. This thought came to mind as I read your post–Control of vs. control over. Think on the difference. In the Bible God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth. Genesis1:26 ( King James Bible) I’m not reading thoughts of control of or over others here. Thoughts on that? Do other scriptures apply? Surely, this topic is a complex study.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. Thanks for pointing out a difference in control of and control over. Very interesting. You are right. Barbara’s comment about is definitely priceless.

      I’m sure there are other quotes from scripture that gives us clarification on these points. The ones you mentioned are good.

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Joan,
    Thanks for this thoughtful post – it’s a complicated topic and I’m glad you tackled it!

    Like

    • Dear Mary Jane,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you enjoyed reading it. You are so right; the ideas surrounding control are very complicated!
      It’s good to tackle complicated things with a sense of humor. That’s what Barbara Walker gave to me. A funny way to look at it. yet it could be true.

      Celebrate you and your thoughtfulness in leaving a comment for me.
      You bring me life.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

