• Blog Stats

    • 485,072 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Success Is Going from Failure to Failure with No Loss of Enthusiasm-Winston Churchill


Success is going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm

“Success Is Going from Failure to Failure with No Loss of Enthusiasm-Winston Churchill” by Joan Y. Edwards

 

Winston Churchill said, “Success Is Going from Failure to Failure with No Loss of Enthusiasm.”

I found this quote and other great sayings at Bright Drops.com: http://brightdrops.com/best-motivational-quotes

Here’s an explanation of Winston Churchill’s quote: http://quotivee.com/2013/articles/quote-explained-winston-churchill-success/

We all have ups and downs in life.

I had many experiences in my 35 years of teaching. A few stated I was a failure in a few areas. Usually, there was one or more areas in which I did well.

Yes, I became depressed for a short amount of time. Then, I decided that I loved teaching so much that I would study different techniques to make my teaching better or teaching in such a manner that others perceived me as better. I felt strongly that God had me there for a reason. Many of us  taughtnot to say anything to those in charge. I had to learn to speak up for myself. I had to say, “I may not do it their way, but my way still works.”

I had a job as a typist many times for different companies. One company fired me because I finished my work and was cleaning files in a cabinet. Two weeks later they hired 2 people to do my job. Some people may declare themselves as failures if they lose a job. Don’t do that. Chances are you may be in the wrong job or you need more training in the job you have, and you need to build a better belief system with education and loving yourself.

After 1968, I submitted my Flip Flap Floodle manuscript many, many times. They weren’t right for many, many publishers. After I retired from teaching in 1998, I re-declared my inner desire to get Flip Flap Floodle published. I rewrote. Resubmitted. I promised myself if I didn’t get a publisher to publish Flip Flap Floodle in 5 years, I would self-publish it as a show of belief in myself. And I did that.

Then I took classes. I read books on the craft of writing. I went to workshops. I attended writing conferences. I learned that publishers and agents selections are very subjective. I told myself if I keep writing and submitting, I’ll find the right connection to publish my work. Finally, in 2011 4RV Publishing gave me a contract for Joan’s Elder Care Guide.

Believe in yourself. No matter what you’re doing. Believe in you. If you’re a dishwasher learn to be the best dishwasher in town.

In some of these situations, I took them personally. However with support from family and coworkers, I realized that even sometimes it’s just that person’s opinion, not necessarily the truth, not necessarily a fact. If they are the ones hiring and firing, then you need to educate yourself in new ways or look for a new job.

I think Winston Churchill was a very wise man. Each of us has to find enthusiasm every day to continue to work toward our goals. We have to believe we’ve got what it takes, even when others don’t.

Love yourself. Look for the good in you. Educate yourself to build your skills. Take opportunities to expand your horizons beyond what your comfort zone. Don’t blame someone else for your failures. Realize it’s just one small downer. You can improve. Realize that you have many, many strengths. Take advantage of them. Improve your weaknesses so that they will not hurt you.

Bloom where you are planted is another way to say this. Here’s an earlier post I did on this subject: 

https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2014/06/27/how-to-bloom-where-you-are-planted/

Celebrate each day. Celebrate each step you take to improve your situation. Celebrate each step you take to improve your attitude. Believe in you. You are a success.

Please click here to leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you.

 

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Join over 344 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did. Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators


 

Save

4 Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing a terrific quote–one that inspires! I like that Winton Churchill’s quote didn’t just say, “Keep going.” He added “without loss of enthusiasm. My husband uses a home model pulmonary function test every day. It’s called a micro-spirometer. The female voice says, “Keep going, keep going…” as he exhales into the machine. I know it would most likely be irritating to have her add “with enthusiasm,” but I can imagine it now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thank you for writing. I’m glad you liked Winston Churchill’s “with enthusiasm” quote. It spoke to me, too. I like that you’re reprogramming that spirometer’s voice in your mind to say: “Keep going with enthusiasm.”

      That is no easy task. Perhaps you might not do it with enthusiasm every day, but finding new ways to be thankful will help you do it more often with enthusiasm. It encourages us that the more enthusiastic and believing in ourselves we are, the more successful we will be.

      Celebrate you!
      Live with Enthusiasm
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “Don’t blame someone else for your failures.” Good one, Joan!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Carol,
      Thank you for writing. I’m glad you liked my saying, “Don’t blame someone else for your failures.”

      I believe that taking responsibility for our actions enables us to get better, to improve, to move forward toward our goals.

      Good luck with the novel you’re writing. I know it’s going to be great!

      Never Give Up
      Live with Enthusiasm
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

