You Are Powerful


You Are Powerful Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

“You Are Powerful” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is Day 27 of “Say Good Things February.”

Say Good Things February-Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

 

 

 

 

 

Are you powerful? My answer for you is:

Yes, you are powerful. You obtain your power from God. You are more powerful than you realize. You use your power wisely. You are kind. You are compassionate. You are trustworthy. You focus on your goals. You build on your strengths. You share with others.

Repeat these affirmations using I to help make them more meaningful and effective for you. Write them on a poster. Hang it in your bathroom. Record them and listen to the recording. Repeat the affirmations a few times a day. The affirmations will help change your brain cells and enable you to become a firmer believer in yourself and your God-given abilities and learned skills.

Yes, I am powerful. I obtain my power from God. I am more powerful than I realize. I use my power wisely. I am kind. I am compassionate. I am trustworthy. I focus on my goals. I build on my strengths. I share with others.

Paul Hudson made an astounding statement in his “10 Things Really Powerful People Do Differently.” It may surprise you as it did me. Here’s what he said, “Basically, other people believing you are powerful makes you powerful. Power itself isn’t so much created as it is bestowed upon by those we interact with. The more people believe you to have worth and value, the more power you have.”

Here are three resources to help you discover where your strengths are and how to be more powerful:

  1. Margaret C. White. “5 Scientifically Backed Ways to Seem More Powerful:”
    http://time.com/3007520/be-more-powerful/
  2. Aimee Groth. “How to Become More Powerful:” http://www.businessinsider.com/how-to-become-more-powerful-2011-12/?op=1
  3. Paul Hudson. “10 Things Really Powerful People Do Differently:” http://elitedaily.com/life/motivation/powerful-people-live-versus-dont/

I think most people are content as long as they don’t feel powerless. There are many times in my life when I’ve felt powerless. I may as well admit it. I can’t change the decisions other people have made. I can’t change the outcome of decisions I’ve made. When people are sick, I feel powerless in that I can’t help them personally to heal. However, I do know that God hears prayers and so I pray for people I believe are making wrong choices. I pray for people I know who are sick. I pray for those who are frightened. I pray for the poor.

You can’t fix things for everyone. One time I tried helping a friend who drank too much. He started scaring me with his behavior. He threatened to kill himself with a 22 shot-gun. I tried my best to help him build his self-esteem and give him better ways to view his world. But once he threatened to kill himself then I had to make a choice. I didn’t want him bringing a gun to my house. I didn’t want him to use the gun on himself.

I was going upstream without a paddle. While I was trying to figure out what God wanted me to do, I found an article that said, “If you have tried your best to help someone and it hasn’t worked out, pray that God send someone in their path who can help them.”

If you’re afraid for your safety because of someone’s behavior, pray that God help the troubled person and move him to a better environment.

So I prayed and prayed that God send someone to help my friend. And he did help him. My friend moved back to Texas which he missed so very much. I continue to pray for him when I think of him.

Sometimes in dangerous circumstances, it’s good to let go and let God do his work. And remove yourself and your family from danger.

Praying for someone isn’t giving up on them. It’s giving them the help they need.

Please leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a comment by clicking here and scrolling down the page.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)

Here are links to other posts in my “Say Good Things February” series.

****************************

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Join over 342 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

 

Save

6 Responses

  1. Joan,
    Great comment about giving others power by believing they are powerful and telling them so.

    Sometimes others believe in us more than we believe in ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. Yes, what you say to others does make a difference to them. Giving people true compliments helps them believe better things about themselves. And it usually makes you feel good to notice them, too.

      Thanks for all the good things you tell each person who comes in your path. You are a great encourager!

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is wonderful,Joan. I think I need to read it often! Many thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Janis,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you liked this post. We all need to read and empower ourselves, don’t we?

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  3. Dear Joan,
    . There are times I’ll do something and I’ll say:”Did I just do that?” It’s amazing what you can do when you tell yourself you can instead of telling yourself you can’t.
    Thank you, Joan
    June

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear June,
    Thank you for writing. Yes, those ttwo words, “I can,” are very powerful.

    You’re welcome.
    Enjoy your day.
    Live with enthusiasm.
    Joan

    Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

