• Blog Stats

    • 461,559 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

You Are Confident


You are confident copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

“You Are Confident” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is Day 25 of “Say Good Things February.”

Say Good Things February-Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

 

 

 

 

Are you confident? My answer for you is:

Yes, you are confident. You believe in yourself.  You have the skills and abilities to get the job done. You are comfortable stepping outside of your comfort zone. You pretend you can do it. You dress for success. You educate yourself on how to use the right tools. You learn the steps to complete goals. You observe other people to learn how they do what I want to do. You are prepared.

Repeat these statements with “I” rather than “You” to make them true affirmations for you.

Yes, I am confident. I believe in myself.  I have the skills and abilities to get the job done. I am comfortable stepping outside of my comfort zone. I pretend I can do it. I dress for success. I educate myself on how to use the right tools. I learn the steps to complete goals. I observe other people to learn how they do what I want to do. I am prepared.  I teach others; this helps me learn my skills on a deeper level.

Repeat them several times a day. You can make up 3×5 cards and carry them in your pocket to read and meditate. Believe in yourself. You can do more things than you’ve ever imagined. Dream it. See it in your mind. You can do it.

Here are resources to help you build your self-confidence:

  1. Minda Zetlin. “13 Easy Ways to Boost Your Confidence:” http://www.inc.com/minda-zetlin/13-easy-ways-to-boost-your-confidence.html/
  2. Rhett Power. “10 Ways to Become a More Confident Person:” http://www.inc.com/rhett-power/10-ways-to-become-a-more-confident-person.html/
  3. Young Entrepreneur Council. “8 Ways to Be a More Confident Person:” http://www.success.com/article/8-ways-to-be-a-more-confident-person/
  4. Lindsay Holmes. “8 Scientifically-Backed Ways to Feel More Confident:” http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/09/01/how-to-feel-confident_n_5724732.html/

I taught Kindergarten the last five years of my teaching career. I loved teaching kindergarten. I didn’t have to take papers home to check them. The students were fun and they enjoyed learning new things and being with each other.

One year I noticed many children fell as they were climbing across the monkey bars. I knew that if they fell and hurt an arm or leg, the parents would not be happy about it. So I told the students, you have to be able to tell me you can do it before I’ll let you try. They thought about it. I asked each student in line, “Can you go across the monkey bars?”

If he said, “Yes.” I’d tell them to go ahead. Remarkably all of them went across without falling. One day a little girl in my kindergarten class answered, “No.”

I said, “Oh, dear. We don’t want you to get hurt. Watch the other students climb across. Notice what they are doing with their arms and legs. Tell me when you think you can do it.”

In about ten minutes, she said, “I can do it.”

She was right. She did it not just once, but three or four times before the bell rang to go back inside the school.

Believing you can do things is half the battle.

Good luck in discovering that you have confidence and finding more ways to strengthen it.

Please leave a comment or ask a question. I’d love to hear from you.

To leave a comment, click here and scroll down.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)

Here are links to other posts in my “Say Good Things February” series.

****************************

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Join over 342 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

 

Save

4 Responses

  1. Joan, the kindergarten story is a great example of how to instill confidence! I love how this student blossomed. Thanks for sharing this and all the others this month.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad that you liked the story of the kindergartener learning to say she could climb the monkey bars. It was amazing to watch the transformation caused by the words, “I can do it.”

      You’re welcome for my sharing the “Say Good Things February” posts. I’m glad they’ve been meaningful to you.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a good teacher you are, Joan. That little girl probably grew up–or is growing up–to do wondrous things.Wish I’d had a teacher like you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Sarah,
      It’s so good to hear from you. Thank you for saying I am a good teacher. I love teaching. That little girl is about 26 years old today. II hope you’re right. I hope she still studies situations to figure out how to do them and tells herself, “Of course, I can do it.”

      I’m proud that your husband built confidence in you and told you that you could self-publish your book and sell a lot of copies of it. It’s amazing how much confidence we get from others.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

