You Have a Sense of Belonging


sense of belonging copyright 2016 Joan Y.Edwards

“You Have a Sense of Belonging” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is Day 24 of “Say Good Things February.”

Say Good Things February-Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

 

 

 

Do you have a sense of belonging? My answer for you is:

Yes, you have a sense of belonging. You feel connected to your family, friends, school, workplace, church, or other group to which you wish to feel connected. You enjoy meaningful connections. You are friendly. You are outgoing. You are a team player. You add value to our world. You perform many useful tasks. You are helpful. You realize your purpose in life. You make others feel comfortable.

I have a sense of belonging. I feel connected to my family, friends, school, workplace, church, or other groups to which I wish to feel connected. I enjoy meaningful connections. I am friendly. I am outgoing. I am a team player. I add value to our world. I perform many useful tasks. I am helpful. I realize my purpose in life. I make others feel comfortable.

When you doubt your sense of belonging, it’s possible that some experience has pushed you a little over the edge. You may not be thinking logically. You may be making a big thing in your mind when in actuality, it’s a little thing in the scheme of life. Love yourself as you are. Thank God for your loving ability, your sense of belonging, and your willingness to make others comfortable, too.

Here are five resources to help you find ways to build a stronger sense of belonging:

  1. Karyn Hall, Ph.D. “Create a Sense of Belonging:” https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/pieces-mind/201403/create-sense-belonging
  2. Nabanita Ghosh. “Does a Sense of Belonging Help a Person in Self Discovery?” http://www.thisshouldhelp.net/does-a-sense-of-belonging-help-a-person-in-self-discovery/
  3. Trans4Mind. “I’m struggling to find a sense of belonging in the world:” http://www.trans4mind.com/healing/question92.html
  4. Middleearthnj. “Providing a Strong Sense of Belonging:”https://middleearthnj.wordpress.com/2012/04/16/providing-a-strong-sense-of-belonging/
  5. Amanda Enayati, CNN. “The Importance of Belonging:” http://www.cnn.com/2012/06/01/health/enayati-importance-of-belonging/

It is a lonely feeling when you’re with a group and you don’t have a sense of belonging with them. This has happened to me a few times.

Sometimes it could be, it’s not the right group for you. It could be you lack confidence in ways to communicate with others. It’s possible that you’re shy. There are a thousand reasons why you might not feel connected with other people. Accept the situation as it is. See if you can figure out a way to focus on the other people’s needs rather than your own/ It’s possible in doing this, you’ll fit right in. Don’t overdo things. For instance, don’t say, “I’ll bring cake and donuts every week free of charge.”

You don’t have to buy your way into friendship. People who are true friends accept you for who you are, not for what you can give them or do for them. There’s an interesting balance that you want to attain.

My mother thought she had to buy people things for them to like her. What she didn’t realize was that her compassion and interest in these people made them love her and all she had to do was to be her sweet self. She was spending money she didn’t have to buy things for her friends. She didn’t realize how much she meant to others. I talked to her and explained how much she meant to her friends and that she didn’t have to borrow money to buy them things. She listened and stopped buying for them and discovered they were all true friends who didn’t want or expect her to buy them gifts every day.

Perhaps this is your case, too. Love yourself. Stand up for yourself. Reach out to others, but don’t do more for them than they are willing to try to do for themselves.

Please leave a comment or ask a question. I’d love to hear from you.

To leave a comment, click here and scroll down.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)

Here are links to other posts in my “Say Good Things February” series.

 

****************************

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Join over 342 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

 

 

 

 

Save

8 Responses

  1. I love this idea of say good things February. Thank you. You are a joy.

    Like

    • Dear Carol,
      Thank you very much for writing and telling me you love this idea of “Say Good Things February.” You are very welcome. It’s my pleasure to lift your spirits. Your sweet words lifted my spirits! Thank you.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  2. Some times, connections don’t develop quickly. Patience may be the missing ingredient. Give it more time or you might miss out on a real treasure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. It’s really good to hear from you. You’re right. Sometimes it takes awhile for friendships to grow. Patience is indeed a good seed to plant for friendship.

      Thank you for being my friend through sunny days and stormy ones, too.

      Love, Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Friendship is worth a few stormy days!

    Liked by 1 person

    • :):)

      Like

  4. Dear Joan,
    I am very aware of what I say, what I do and how I say something effects others. I try to be a good friend.

    June

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear June,
      Thank you for writing. You are a caring lady and a superb friend.

      Celebrate you.
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

