• Blog Stats

    • 489,431 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

You Are Compassionate


You are compassionate Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards“You Are Compassionate” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is Day 20 of “Say Good Things February.”

Say Good Things February-Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

 

 

 

 

Are you compassionate? My answer for you follows:

You are compassionate. You feel and show sorrow for others when they are stricken by misfortune. You have a strong desire to make things better for others. You show concern for others. You are caring.

Repeat these statements with “I” rather than “You” to make them true affirmations for you.

I am compassionate. I feel and show sorrow for others when they are stricken by misfortune. I have a strong desire to make things better for others. I feel and show concern for others. I am caring.

Here are resources to help you be compassionate:

  1. Independence Blog. “10 Ways of Showing Compassion:” http://www.cc-sd.edu/blog/10-ways-of-showing-compassion/
  2. Kara B. “8 Ways to Show Compassion in Everyday Life:” http://www.mindfueldaily.com/livewell/8-ways-to-show-compassion-in-everyday-life/
  3. Montessori Rocks. “10 Ways to Show Compassion:” http://montessorirocks.org/10-ways-to-show-compassion/
  4. Power of Positivity. “7 Ways to Show Compassion to Others:” https://www.powerofpositivity.com/7-ways-show-compassion-others/
  5. Rebecca Webber, John Mastrojohn, Helen Riess, Jim Liske;, Melinda Gates, and Carrie Cole. “Five Small Ways to Show Compassion:” http://www.realsimple.com/work-life/life-strategies/how-to-show-compassion/

 

It’s interesting that when others doubt your compassion for others, you begin to do a little doubting yourself. It’s important to instill in you an unwavering belief in your compassion.

I’ll share a funny story with you.

When I was about 7 years old, we moved from Tucker, Georgia to Falls Church, Virginia. We moved into a two-story three-bedroom house on Birch Street. One night I heard a baby crying in the wee hours of the night. I cried and cried. Mother came into my bedroom and asked me, “What’s wrong?”

“A baby’s crying. No one’s trying to help it. Why don’t those parents help the baby so it’ll stop crying?”

Mother said, “Look out the window. See those cats out there on the fence. Those cats are doing the wailing, not a baby at all.”

“What?” I asked. “Let me see.”

I looked out the window. Sure enough there were cats on the fence. I stopped crying  as Mother and I watched and listened to the cats for a few more minutes. I laughed. “Boy, Momma, they sure fooled me.”

Once I knew the cat had played a trick on me, I went sound asleep.

So it seems that I had compassion for two cats that night.

Once you focus on being compassionate, you’ll find many ways to show your compassion for others. Compassion is not pity. In my experience, people do not want anyone to pity them. Compassion is sympathy.

Study new ways to make good decisions and put them into action. Your subconscious mind will lead you to make good decisions. Believe it’s possible. Believe it’s true. Believe in you. Love yourself. Love your compassion for yourself and others.

I hope that you find that using affirmations gives you a stronger belief in you, your skills, abilities, and positive experiences. Thanks for reading my blog. I hope you’ll share the post with others. Please feel free to ask questions and tell me stories about being times when someone showed compassion for you or when you showed compassion for others. I’d love to hear from you!

To leave a comment, click here and scroll down.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)

Here are links to other posts in my “Say Good Things February” series.

****************************

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Join over 347 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

 

Save

8 Responses

  1. Joan,
    Well done! I especially enjoyed the story of the baby crying. When I was in elementary school, I remember crying for a friend who said she was dying. I cried off and on for days. Later, I learned she made it up for attention. Sad, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Many thanks for writing. I’m glad you enjoyed the story about the baby crying. How sad that a girl would say she was dying for “attention.” Ouch! That hurt on many levels: trust for one! Thanks for sharing this story.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. Jesus was the Master of Compassion! His example should be right in front of our eyes. Matt 9:36!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Dear Carol,
      Thanks for writing. You are so right. Jesus was the Master of Compassion. I loved it when the acronym: WWJD came out and invited us to ask ourselves: What would Jesus do?

      Thinking about what God wants us to do helps us make a more compassionate response.

      Celebrate you and your love of God and his people.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  3. I was once put in possession of having someone come to me who had Alzheimer disease. .She told me that somebody was in her home. I called the police because I couldn’t be sure that someone was in the house.
    All I kept saying to myself was “What’s ever you do for my brother you do unto me.” I’m so glad I did what I did. I know God was with me that night and gave me the strength to be compassionate with this women.
    June

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear June,
      Thanks for writing. It was a good idea to call the police. You wouldn’t want to put yourself or the lady in danger.

      May God bless you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  4. Dear Joan,
    Thank you. I will admit I was a little scared even though i was praying.

    June

    Liked by 1 person

    • The police are there to help you! Better to be safe than sorry you didn’t call them. Love yourself! Love your compassion for others.

      I love you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

