• Blog Stats

    • 467,576 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

You Make Good Decisions


You Make Good Decisions Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards“You Make Good Decisions” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is Day 19 of “Say Good Things February:”

Say Good Things February-Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

 

 

 

Do you make good decisions? My answer for you follows:

You make good decisions. You gather all the facts related to the problems. You research to find the best solution. You consider the pros and cons for options known to you. You make wise decisions.

Repeat these statements with “I” rather than “You” to make them true affirmations for you.

I make good decisions. I gather all the facts related to the problems. I research to find the best solution. I consider the pros and cons for each choice. I make wise decisions.

Here are resources to help you continue to make good decisions.

  1. Behance. “Don’t Overthink It: 5 Tips for Daily Decision Making:” http://99u.com/articles/7043/dont-overthink-it-5-tips-for-daily-decision-making/
  2. Catherine Price. “How to Make the Right Decision – How to Decide:” http://www.oprah.com/spirit/How-to-Make-the-Right-Decision-How-to-Decide/
  3. Courtney Helgo. “Five Gut Instincts You Shouldn’t Ignore:” https://experiencelife.com/article/5-gut-instincts-you-shouldnt-ignore/
  4. Mike Myatt. “6 Tips for Making Better Decisions:” http://www.forbes.com/sites/mikemyatt/2012/03/28/6-tips-for-making-better-decisions/#6bbb3f639f54/
  5. Stacey Colino. “How to Make Good Decisions:” http://www.realsimple.com/work-life/life-strategies/make-good-decisions/when-seek-outside-advice/
  6. Z. Hereford. “Keys to Making a Good Decision:” http://www.essentiallifeskills.net/gooddecision.html/

When you have trouble mastering a positive affirmation, you may discover, like me, that a  voice in your head keeps saying the opposite belief. This voice becomes very big at times. It may even shout at you and sell you on the idea that you’re not capable of doing what you declare. If this happens to you, you may need more of God’s help to believe in all facets of good decision making or talk with a good friend who may point out that you have these qualities and you just don’t realize it.

Study new ways to make good decisions and put them into action. Your subconscious mind will lead you to make good decisions. Believe it’s possible. Believe it’s true. Believe in you. Love yourself. Love your good decision making.

It’s interesting that when others doubt your decisions, you begin to do a little doubting yourself. It’s important to instill in you an unwavering belief in your ability to make good decisions on the road of life.

Are you familiar with a little uneasy feeling about a situation or a decision? I call this my “gut” feeling. I believe this is God sending you hints about your life.

When I was a teenager, I went on my first blind date with a girlfriend and a boy she knew. I’ll call him, Joe. I had a good sense of direction. I knew Joe wasn’t driving us into Washington, DC or into Virginia where we lived. Joe was taking us way towards Baltimore, Maryland which was about two hours from home. My date, I’ll call him Sam, started threatening me because I wasn’t willing to make out with him. He called me awful names. My gut feeling was sending me all kinds of danger signals. I told Joe, “Stop the car.”

He did. I told my friend, “Joe’s driving us towards Baltimore. We’re way into Maryland. I’m not going any farther with that guy, Sam, in the back seat.”

Joe stopped the car and I got out. It was at a gas station in “somewhere” Maryland. In those times there were no cell phones. There were pay phones on the parking lots of gas stations and sometimes inside. My plan was to find a phone and call home collect because I didn’t have enough quarters to pay for the call from the pay phone.

In a few minutes my friend came back with the two guys. She was sitting in the back seat. The two guys were in the front. “Joe said you were right. He was heading to Baltimore. If you get back in, Joe will take us home.”

And he did. My friend never dated Joe again. And of course, you know I didn’t date Sam again. I didn’t go on any other blind dates for a very long time.

You can imagine the changes I made in my decision making that night:

Be thankful for a good sense of direction. When you’re uncomfortable with a person, do something about it. Arrange to meet a blind date at a restaurant near your home. Have your own transportation. You drive. And a million other ideas probably popped into your mind. I never found myself in that kind of situation again because I changed my ideas. My self-preservation, gut feeling kicked in and I acted to save myself from further emotional or physical abuse. What would you do?

I hope that you find that using affirmations gives you a stronger belief in you, your skills, abilities, and positive experiences. Thanks for reading my blog. I hope you’ll share the post with others. Please feel free to ask questions and tell me stories about being times when you made good decisions in the comment area. I’d love to hear from you!

To leave a comment, click here and scroll down.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)


More posts in the series: “Say Good Things February:”

****************************

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Join over 347 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

Save

8 Responses

  1. Thank goodness, we all have stories about making good decisions. I think my best decision as a young adult was to marry. My husband and I celebrate 42 years this July. Love that man!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for being a faithful responder. Oh yes, we all have stories about good decisions. I am very thankful that you and Scotty decided to marry each other. 42 years is a treasure of love, compassion, and good decisions made together! Congratulations.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Joan,
    Your poster is great. I love the road and the character. He reminds me of Jiminy Cricket!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks again for writing. I’m glad you liked the poster. The guy with the hat does look a little like Jiminy Cricket.. I used the graphics in the Logo Creator software to create the poster. I love doing graphics art, manipulating characters others have made and putting text with them.

      Celebrate your ways of saying things that make others feel great about themselves

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Joan,
    Like you I always listen to my gut or it’s God telling me not to do something.

    June

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear June,
      Thank you for writing. It is nice to have you leave comments for me. Good idea to follow your gut instincts. In my experience, it is a good idea.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  4. Thank you, Joan.Sorry,I’m just getting back to you on this one.

    June

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are welcome.

      Love, Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

