• Blog Stats

    • 467,576 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

You Are Perky


You are perky Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

“You Are Perky” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is Day 18 of “Say Good Things February.”

Say Good Things February-Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

 

 

 

 

 

Are you perky? My answer for you follows:

You are perky. You are energetic. You are enthusiastic. You are kind. You are lively in manner and appearance. You are a spiffy dresser. You are stylish. You are active. You are spirited. You have high energy. You are peppy. You are vivacious. You are spunky. You are upbeat. You are happy. You are intelligent. You are street smart. You have common sense. You are confident.

Repeat these statements with “I” rather than “You” to make them true affirmations for you.

I am perky. I am energetic. I am enthusiastic. I am kind. I am lively in manner and appearance. I am a spiffy dresser. I am stylish. I am active. I am spirited. I have high energy. I am peppy. I am vivacious. I am spunky. I am upbeat. I am happy. I am intelligent. I am street smart. I have common sense. I am confident. 

Here are five resources to help you be perky.

  1. Filip Tkaczyk. “Basic Survival Skills:” http://www.wildernesscollege.com/basic-survival-skills.html
  2. Spear Survival. “S.P.E.A.R. Survival:” http://spearsurvival.net/
  3. Wiki How. “How to Act Perky:” http://www.wikihow.com/Act-Perky
  4. Teachers Pay Teachers. “SLANT:https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/SLANT-Listening-Poster-1388435
  5. Doug Lemov. Teach Like a Championhttp://www.amazon.com/Teach-Like-Champion-2-0-Techniques/dp/1118901851/

One year when I was teaching school, a principal told me during my evaluation that I wasn’t perky. And so he cut me down a few points because of it. So that night I figured out an acronym for PERKY. I taught it to my students and instilled it in myself:

Perky Copyright 1987-2016

Be Perky

Pay Attention
Enthusiastic
Responsible
Kind
Yes, Ma’am (Be Polite)

Someone who is perky, pays attention, is enthusiastic, is responsible for his actions, is kind, and is polite (says Yes, or No, Ma’am instead of yep, uh-huh, nope, etc.

In 1986 a student shared with me what he learned at his former school. It came from Doug Lemov’s book, Teach Like a Champion.

  • SIT UP.
  • LEAN IN.
  • ACT INTERESTED..
  • NOD IN AGREEMENT.
  • TRACK THE SPEAKER.

When I was searching for qualities you need to have to survive, I found A SPEAR plan.

SPEAR Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

  • STOP
  • PLAN
  • EXECUTE (Tell people what to do. Get people in place)
  • ACT
  • RE-EVALUATE

When you come across a situation that needs organization…like Policemen, Firefighters, Teachers, Fathers, Mothers…anyone young or old. When you plan your spear attack to a problem, you’re definitely being smart and perky.

When you have trouble mastering a positive affirmation, you may discover, like me, that a  voice in your head keeps saying the opposite belief. This voice becomes very big at times. It may even shout at you and sell you on the idea that you’re not capable of doing what you declare. If this happens to you, you may need more of God’s help to believe in all facets of perkiness or talk with a good friend who may point out that you have these qualities and you just don’t realize it.

If you keep saying the positive affirmations, study new ways to become more perky, and put them into action, your subconscious mind will lead you to make it true. Believe it’s possible. You must believe it’s true. Believe in you. Love yourself. Love your perky self..

I hope that you find that using affirmations gives you a stronger belief in you, your skills, abilities, and positive experiences. Thanks for reading my blog. I hope you’ll share the post with others. Please feel free to ask questions and tell me stories about being perky or perky people you know in the comment area. I’d love to hear from you!

To leave a comment, click here and scroll down.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)

****************************

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Join over 347 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

 

Save

11 Responses

  1. Joan,
    I’m having a hard time imagining that a principal said you were not perky. You must have been nervous, because ordinarily perky flows freely from your mouth and actions. For example, I’ve never heard a recorded phone message any more perky.

    Thanks for sharing the acronyms for listening, being perky, and for survival. I applaud you for the way you responded to your principal’s negative comments. Instead of reacting in anger, you got creative. You wrote and taught your students an original acronym for perky. Way to do it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. I was very nervous and had been through an ordeal in my private life. I had students with problems. But you can’t give excuses when you want to instill affirmations. You have to believe it will happen in all circumstances. Being compassionate and loving to yourself but believe that you are perky no matter what. I decided I’d do something to surround myself in perkiness. I knew it was just his opinion, but his opinion was what I had to deal with while he was principal. He never said I wasn’t perky again!

      Thank you for believing in me and believe I am perky.

      You are perky, compassionate, understanding, and a good friend.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just read this entry aloud to my husband, and he said it sounds like me! : ) Your essays during this month continue to be impressive. Thank you for all the positive messages! joan.reid@yahoo.com

    Liked by 2 people

    • Dear Joan Reid,
      Thanks for writing. I’m honored that you read this essay to your hubby and he thought it sounded like you. There’s something about a person named “JOAN.”

      I think perkiness is a universal trait. I don’t believe people are perky all the time. But when you set out to be perky, you’ll hit it more times than anyone would believe is possible even in circumstances beyond your control.

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Joan,
    I agree with Linda-can’t imagine someone saying that about you! But you rallied back AND helped others in the process 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Dear Kathleen,
      Thanks for taking the time to write. Thanks for saying you can’t imagine anyone saying I’m not perky. There are moments when I’m not perky, but usually I am perky. Thanks for saying I helped others in the process of being able to show my inner perkiness on the outside.

      Celebrate your way of making other feel good about themselves.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I NEED perky! Thank you.

    Love,

    Janis

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Janis,
      Thank you for stopping by to replenish your wonderful perkiness! Have a great day. Thanks for writing.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  5. Dear Joan,
    No matter how I feel, I can always change my day.If I want to act like a “clown” do it! laughter is the best cure for a bad day. Would you mind if I put your definition of Perky in my email signature?
    June

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear June,
      You are right. Clowning around changes your focus. Laughter is healing. You may use my definition of PERKY in your signature. I am honored that you want to use it.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  6. Dear Joan
    Thank you for letting me use your definition of Perky in my email signature.
    June

    Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

