• Blog Stats

    • 489,431 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

You Are a Good Friend


You are a good friend Copright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards“You Are A Good Friend” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is Day 14 of Say Good Things February.

Say Good Things - February

 

 

 

Are you a good friend? My answer for you follows:

You are a good friend. You are loyal. You are trustworthy. You are reliable. You have great ideas. You keep secrets safe, yet you alert the authorities when the safety of your friend or others is at stake. You are fun. You are creative. You are compassionate. You are a good listener. You have a good sense of humor. You are forgiving. You respect personal boundaries. You are encouraging.  You are resourceful. You are intelligent. You are wise. You give your opinion when asked. You are a peacemaker. You enable others to be independent. You help others who are unable to do things for themselves. You are a good teacher. You are there for others in good times and in bad.

Repeat these statements with “I” rather than “You” to make them true affirmations for you.

I am a good friend. I am loyal. I am trustworthy. I am reliable. I have great ideas. I keep secrets safe, yet I alert the authorities when the safety of my friend or  others is at stake. I am fun. I am creative. I am compassionate. I am a good listener. I have a good sense of humor. I am forgiving. I respect personal boundaries. I am encouraging. I am resourceful. I am intelligent. I am wise. I give my opinion when asked. I am a peacemaker. I enable others to be independent. I help others who are unable to do things for themselves. I am a good teacher. I am there for others in good times and in bad.

I discovered after I kept saying these things over and over again for days, weeks, and months, the ones I believed became true. The ones I believed and professed to myself became my reality.

Your subconscious mind will lead you to make it true. Believe it’s possible. You have to believe it’s possible. You must believe it’s true. Believe in you. Love yourself. Love your qualities as a good friend.

Here are three resources I used for some of these affirmations:

  1. AdaptiveLearnin. “Character Traits a Friend Should Have:” https://adaptivelearnin.wordpress.com/2013/04/26/five-minute-friday-character-traits-a-friend-should-have/
  2. Ellie Bean Design. “11 Characteristics of a True Friend!” http://elliebeandesign.com/11-characteristics-of-a-true-friend/
  3. Friends.com. “Friendship Qualities:” http://friends.com/friendship-qualities

There have been many times in my life when people gave me friendship that passed all my past experiences and filled me with absolute joy.

I’ll share one of them with you. In 2007, when I was caring for Mother, I decided to have a 90th birthday party for her. My friend, Linda Andersen asked me if I would like for her to drive from Fayetteville a day early and help me with the preparations! Oh my goodness! How kind of her! I had never had anyone to do that for me. It was teary but joyful situation. We had a wonderful time. She helped me organize our garage so we could get our cars in it. She helped me clean. It’s amazing how much more fun doing chores and decorating is when you have a good friend by your side. Thank you, Linda Andersen. You are a good friend.

When you’re a good friend, you’ll have good friends. I hope that you have wonderful friends who surprise you with their kindness, empathy, and compassion. A good friend is a treasure. Each friend is a blessing from God sent to help you on your journey in life. I am blessed to have great friends. I hope that you find that using affirmations gives you a stronger belief in you, your skills, abilities, and positive experiences. Thanks for reading my blog. I hope you’ll share the post with others. Please feel free to ask questions and tell me stories about the great friends in your journey here on earth in the comment area. I’d love to hear from you!

Happy Valentine’s Day! Be my Valentine!

To leave a comment, click here and scroll down.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)

****************************
[blog_subscription_form]

Join over 347 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

 

 

Save

8 Responses

  1. Joan,
    You are so sweet to mention the time I helped with party preparation. It was my pleasure. Friends help friends. I’m glad it meant so much to you. I was happy to be part of the celebration for your mom. It was a special day and a great party. You loved your mom very much and it showed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thank you for writing. Oh Goodness! Your helping me with the preparations for Mother’s birthday party was an outstanding event in my life. We had only known each other for 2 years. I had only seen you two times. We had emailed hundreds of times, but no one had ever said, “I’ll drive four hours, spend the night, and help you clean and decorate for the party.” You took time away from your family and to do lists to be here to help me. It was very kind and generous of you. Thank you again.

      Celebrate you and all the many ways you are a friend to me, Scotty, your family, and others! You are a blessing.

      Love,
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

      • You are so welcome for what I did! I did enjoy helping!

        Liked by 1 person

        • :):):)

          Like

  2. Dear Joan, I’m enjoying each one of your February Good Things to share. I learned this quote when in high school and it has remained with me all my life. May it speak to you today, because you are that kind of friend to me.”A friend is one to whom one may pour out all the contents of one’s heart, chaff and grain together, knowing that the gentlest of hands will take it, sift it, keep what is worth keeping, and with a breath of kindness blow the rest away.”
    I think it is an Arabian Proverb

    Bless you today, Barbara

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Barbara,
      Thank you for writing. I am very glad that you’re enjoying each of the “Say Good Things February” posts. Thank you for sharing the quote you learned in high School. The internet said it was George Eliot who said it. Mary Anne Evans wrote under the pen name of George Eliot. Interesting that it was a writer who said these words with great simplicity and meaning. I am honored that you believe that I am this kind of friend. Your saying that about me fills me with joy!

      I greatly admire the works that you have written and continue to write on behalf of the Soughb people in Indonesia. You are an amazing woman and very talented. I’m glad your writing is being published.

      Love,
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  3. Your blog is always so thought provoking. Always grateful for your insights.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Judy,
      Thanks for taking time to write. I appreciate you and your comments very much. I’m honored that you consider my posts, “thought provoking.” Sometimes thinking about other ways of doing things or thinking about things gives us the answers we need. May your friends stand by you and be with you!

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

