• Blog Stats

    • 485,606 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

You Are Courageous


You are courageous Copright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards“You Are Courageous” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is Day 13 of “Say Good Things February.”

Say Good Things February-Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

 

 

 

 

Are you courageous? My answer for you follows:

You are courageous. You take chances with legal opportunities to realize your dreams, advance your profession, improve your financial situation, extend your longevity, and keep you safe. You are brave. You take risks. You sacrifice yourself for the good of your family, friends, community, and world. You feel fear, but choose to act to conquer it. You follow your heart. You persevere. You keep on going even when the going is difficult for you. You are confident. You accept and confront reality. You say what needs to be said. You do what needs to be done. You give credit to those who deserve it. You accept the consequences of your behavior. You are honest. You are trustworthy.

Repeat these statements with “I” rather than “You” to make them true affirmations for you.

I am courageous. I take chances with legal opportunities to realize my dreams, advance my profession, improve my longevity, and keep me safe. I am brave. You take risks. I sacrifice myself for the good of my family, friends, community, and world. I feel fear, but choose to act to conquer it. I follow my heart. I persevere. I keep going even when the going is difficult for me. I am confident.  I accept and confront reality. I say what needs to be said.  I do what needs to be done. I give credit to those who deserve it. I accept accept the consequences of my behavior. I am honest. I am trustworthy.

I discovered after I kept saying these things over and over again for days, weeks, and months, the ones I focused on and believe in strongly became true…my thoughts became true. My words became true.

Your subconscious mind will lead you to make it true. Believe it’s possible. You must believe it’s true. Believe in you. Love yourself. Love your courage.

Here are three resources I used for some of these affirmations:

  1. Jeff Haden. “12 Qualities of Remarkably Courageous People:” http://www.inc.com/ss/jeff-haden/qualities-remarkably-courageous-people/
  2. Melanie Greenberg, PhD. “Six Attributes of Courage:” https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-mindful-self-express/201208/the-six-attributes-courage/
  3. Susan Tardanico. “10 Traits of Courageous Leaders:” http://www.forbes.com/sites/susantardanico/2013/01/15/10-traits-of-courageous-leaders/#196995605104/

I know you remember a time in your life when you were scared out of your tree, but you did something anyway.

  1. Gave a speech in school or at work
  2. Asked your parents for something you knew they might not have the money for or approve of
  3. Continued in a class that you thought at first you were destined to fail

I think it’s interesting that when I was little they said that people were brave and did courageous things. They never said they were afraid. It’s helpful to me to know that being courageous doesn’t mean you’re not afraid. Being courageous means you’re afraid, but you’re willing to take the risk for reasons known to you.

As an adult, I learned that it takes a lot of gumption to do something you’re afraid of. Calming your fear is the first step. Emergency personnel have us practice fire drills and to practice evacuations. Why? So that we can give ourselves confidence we can make it through this particular situation. I confess that when it came to my daughter’s being injured and the blood was flowing, I lost my cool. I screamed and hollered. However, I did press down on the spot to stop the bleeding after I screamed and got my emotions vented.

When I taught school, I did a better job of being calm under accidents. Luckily there weren’t many bloody ones. I did have a girl who broke one arm one week playing kickball…and 6 months later she broke the other arm…you guessed it…playing kickball. Calling the parents when a child has been injured at school takes a lot of courage.

I believe you are courageous because I do not believe you can survive many years without having courage. Even babies have courage. They get up and walk even when they keep falling down. The thing about courage is, it helps us enter an unknown area and become familiar with it. Once you’ve given a speech a few times, it’s not as frightening as the first time. You get better at it.

I hope that you find that using affirmations gives you a stronger belief in you, your skills, abilities, and positive experiences. Thanks for reading my blog. I hope you’ll share the post with others. Please feel free to ask questions and tell me stories about great leadership from your life in the comment area. I’d love to hear from you!

To leave a comment, click here and scroll down.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)

****************************
[blog_subscription_form]

Join over 347 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

 

 

Save

10 Responses

  1. I love reading these uplifting words and being reminded to stay positive. Writers need to have a store of “good dialog” in their brains to counteract all the mental torture we put ourselves through. Thanks for the inspirations.

    Like

    • Dear Maura Beth,
      Thank you for writing. It’s good to hear from you. I’m so glad that you love reading my “Say Good Things February” posts. It’s wonderful that the words uplift you and remind you that it pays to stay positive. Remember that everyone has negative thoughts during the day. Each of us has to choose what to focus our thoughts on. Thoughts bring emotions. Emotions bring action. You are right; writers need a store of “good dialog” in their brains to counteract all the mental torture we put ourselves through. May you see the good opportunities in every situation that’s bugging you! I believe in you.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. Even babies have courage…Yeah! Yes, courage (and the Lord!) enable us to face fear and the unknown.

    Like

    • Dear Carol,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad that you agree, even babies have courage. Courage is indeed a Gift from God.
      When we walk in another person’s shoes, we usually find that others have much more courage than we give them credit! May God bless you with an abundance of the courage you need to fulfill your dreams!

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  3. A very good point: courage and fear do not cancel one another. Excellent essay!

    Like

    • Dear Joan Reid,
      Thanks for writing. Isn’t it funny that when we were kids, they taught us that courageous people aren’t afraid. Of course, Jesus said, “Do not be afraid.” The trouble is fear is a human condition that takes practice, words, and ways to settle our fear into calm. I’m glad you thought this essay was excellent.

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  4. Well done, Joan. I keep working on mustering courage. It is harder sometimes than others. I’m glad my faith keeps me grounded when I start caving in.

    I loved the example of a baby’s courage too. Good one!

    Thanks for this interesting series! God has given us much that we’re good at.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thank you for writing. That’s true, each day we live we muster up more courage to keep on going. I’m glad that you have faith in God and faith in yourself. I’m glad that God sends you ways to be encouraged and helps you keep on going.

      I’m glad that you liked that I gave the example of a baby having courage. You’re welcome for the “Say Good Things February” series. I’m glad that it’s reaching your heart and those of others. If I’ve reached and helped one person, that is good. There seem to be from 15-25 people who have read them. Over the long term, perhaps more will read them.

      Celebrate you and your gift of encouragement and acknowledging what you like about what other bloggers are doing. I hope your thankfulness brings you many good things in return.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

      • You are so uplifting!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you. :):):)

          Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

