You Honor Your Body


You honor your body Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards“You Honor Your Body” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is Day 11 of “Say Good Things February.”

Say Good Things February-Copyright 2016 Joan Y. Edwards

 

 

 

Do you honor your body? My answer for you follows:

You honor your body. You protect your body by keeping it in safe and healthy environments. You exercise regularly. You eat healthy foods. You drink plenty of water. You are healthy. Everything in your body works as it is supposed to work. You go to the doctor for physical checkups at least once a year. You exercise your brain. You have a sense of well-being about your body. You are thankful for your body. You protect your body.

Repeat these statements with “I” rather than “You” to make them true affirmations for you.

You honor your body. You protect your body by keeping it in safe and healthy environments. You exercise regularly. You eat healthy foods. You drink plenty of water. You are healthy. Everything in your body works as it is supposed to work. You go to the doctor for physical checkups at least once a year. You exercise your brain. You have a sense of well-being about your body. You are thankful for your body. 

I discovered after I kept saying these things over and over again for days, weeks, and months, they became true because of actions I took.

Your subconscious mind will lead you to make it true. Believe it’s possible. You have to believe it’s possible. You have to believe it’s true. Believe in you. Love yourself. Love your body.

Thank you, Joan Reid for suggesting that I write affirmations for “You honor your body.” 

In my experience, I found it easier to go for a physical exam when my doctor didn’t retire or move to another area. I am thankful that I am blessed with good health. 

When I do get sick, it irks me. I have to remember how lucky and healthy I am to only get sick every three years, when others battle illness 24 hours a day, 365 1/4 days a year.  Loving myself when I’m sick sometimes needs a booster. If you’re like me you say to yourself, “If I had done this, it wouldn’t have happened this way. If I had done that, it wouldn’t have happened that way.”

I really admire the people who’ve gone on from an illness or a disability and succeed in meeting their goals in spite of them. Wilma Rudolph and Ray Charles.

Azeem Shaukat. “Great and Inspiring People with Disabilities:” http://inspirich.com/great-inspiring-disabled-people/

Kevin Forde. “Top Ten Blind Male Musicians:” http://www.toptenz.net/top-10-blind-male-musicians.php

Patti Wood. “List of 50 Credible Women to Admire:” http://www.pattiwood.net/article.asp?PageID=10451

These people didn’t let their weaknesses define who they were or who they could be. They believed in themselves. They believed they could be more than doctors, family, friends, or strangers said they could be. If their beliefs did this for them, I figure our beliefs can do it for us, too.

People told the Wright Brothers their plane would never fly. What did the Wright Brothers believe? They believed it would fly and didn’t change their minds even though time after time of trying were failures. They continued to make things better and brainstorm new ideas each time they failed. They kept their belief that their airplane would fly.

Whatever it is that little voice inside you keeps saying, “You can’t do that. What’s wrong with you?”

Here’s what to say to that little voice, “Get out of my head. I’m going to do it no matter what you say. I believe I have the power to figure this out. I’m going to do it. Then set your affirmation: I invent ______________. I am a _______________. I have a ________________.

Listen to that gut feeling that says to you, “You can do it.” I believe that gut feeling is God talking to you.

Remember these words from the Bible: “Ask and you shall receive. (Matthew 7:7) Believe and it will be given to you.” Matthew 21:22

I hope that you find that using affirmations gives you a stronger belief in you, your skills, abilities, and positive experiences. Thanks for reading my blog. I hope you’ll share this post with others. Please ask questions and tell me your experience with honoring and respecting your body in the comment area. I’d love to hear from you!

To leave a comment, click here and scroll down.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)

****************************
[blog_subscription_form]

Join over 347 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

Save

8 Responses

  1. Joan,
    I remember once that a podiatrist told me that people often ignore their feet. Isn’t that odd, since they are our primary means of transportation?

    I especially liked your statement encouraging people not to let their weaknesses define who they are. Reflecting on the people you selected and countless other examples was inspirational. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. Yes, you’re right. People may ignore taking care of their feet until there is pain. Thanks for agreeing that we should encourage everyone to let their strengths define who they are, not their weaknesses.

      Yes, you are right. There are many great examples of people who are inspirational in this way…family, friends, acquaintances, and famous people.

      Celebrate and be thankful for your excellent communication skills,
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  2. You must be clairvoyant, Joan!  I just went to the doctor’s yesterday for some annual blood work. The doctor reported that things look good.   Be well,Joan Reid

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Joan Reid,
      Thank you for writing. I’m glad that you went for your annual blood work and received a good report! Hip Hip Hooray for your good health and for your doctor and lab technicians! May your good health continue!

      Celebrate your respect for your body and your health!

      Sincerely,
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you!

        Like

      • Dear Joan Reid,
        You’re very welcome.

        …Joan

        Like

  3. Wonderful as usual Joan.
    Happy February.
    Mimi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Mimi,
      Thanks for writing and cheering me on by telling me you like what I write. I appreciate your kind words. They inspire me to keep on writing more posts.

      Celebrate you and your gift of encouraging others
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

