You Are an Effective Teacher


effective teachercopyright 2016

“You Are an Effective Teacher” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is Day 10 of Say Good Things February.

Say Good Things150 pixels

 

 

 

Are you an effective teacher? My answer for you follows:

You are an effective teacher. You are a successful teacher. You are a great teacher. You use your own personalized plan to teach students in ways they understand. You teach others using methods and resources that meet their needs. You show others how to do things in simple, easy to follow steps. You amaze, engage, and astound your students. You explain and demonstrate skills to others in effective ways that empower them to learn. You are a great mentor and role model. What you teach and how you teach helps your peers and younger generations. What you teach leaves a lasting impact and helps improve the world where you live now and the world of future generations.

Repeat these statements with “I” rather than “You” to make them true affirmations for you.

I am an effective teacher. I am a successful teacher. I am a great teacher. I use my own personalized plan to teach students in ways they understand. I teach others using methods and resources that meet their needs. I show others how to do things in simple, easy to follow steps. I amaze, engage, and astound my students. I explain and demonstrate skills to others in effective ways that empower them to learn. I am a great mentor and role model. What I teach and how I teach helps my peers and younger generations. What I teach leaves a lasting impact and helps improve the world where I live now and the world of future generations.

Thank you, Joan Reid, for writing to suggest that a topic for Say Good Things February might be: You are a great mentor and role model for the younger generation. I incorporated this idea into the affirmations above. 

I discovered after I kept saying these things over and over again for days, weeks, and months, they became true because of actions I took.

Your subconscious mind will lead you to make it true. Believe it’s possible. You have to believe it’s possible. You have to believe it’s true. Believe in you. Love yourself. Love your teaching skills.

When I was in sixth grade, a woman hired me to plan a party for her niece. I loved teaching them games to play. I still love to do that.  I loved to show children younger than me how to do things I knew how to do…build things with Tinkertoys, Lincoln Logs, or change the size of a roller skate. I knew when I was in high school that I wanted to teach school. I actually thought I’d like to run a day care center. I loved doing fun things with others.

After I taught school a couple of years, I nixed the idea of a day care center. I loved to see the look in someone’s eyes and their body language when they understood something or learned something they never knew or understood before. You know what it feels like to experience an “aha” moment. I loved seeing that realization in the eyes and bodies of students that I taught.

An effective teacher knows how a particular student learns. Some learn by listening. Some by reading it. Others learn by feeling it. She teaches them in their learning mode. I discovered that many times when a student doesn’t understand the concept I was teaching that one of his peers could explain it to him in the lingo of the current generation. Each teacher has to find her own style and way to teach her subject. 

I still love to teach. I taught online workshops with Muse Conference 2012 and 2013.and the Catholic Writers Conference Online in 2012. I taught 3 workshops at the South Carolina Writers Workshop Conference in 2014. I also teach mini-lessons for our critique group. Sometimes my blog posts intention is to teach. Education is a way to amaze, engage, and astound students with knowledge, skills, materials, and inventions.

I like to share funny stories. Here’s a story of when I was teaching third grade. In those days you taught the students by drawing an illustration on the board and numbering vocabulary words from the lesson beside it. That particular day’s lesson was on Insects…one particular insect that I drew was an ant. I meticulously drew its parts on the board. Labeled the parts. I was ready for teaching my absolutely wonderful lesson.

“Boys and girls, today we’re going to learn about insects. An ant is an insect. How many legs does an insect have?”

I called on students who raised their hands. One student answered, “Twelve.” Another student answered, “Twelve.” I called on a boy at the back of the room and his answer was “Twelve.” 

A little frustrated that I wasn’t getting the response I expected, I turned and pointed to the chalkboard and asked, “How many legs does the ant on the board have?” 

When I looked at the board, my eyes got as big as the moon. I suddenly realized why I got the answer, “Twelve.”

“Oopsy, boys and girls. It looks like I drew too many legs on our ant.”

The children watched as I erased three legs on one side and three legs on the other side. Then I asked, “How many legs does this ant have now?”

Of course, they all answered, “Six.” 

How many legs does an insect have? “Six.”

And the rest of the lesson continued without any erroneous information about ants and insects. I’m sure those students never forgot how many legs an ant has nor my lesson.

Am I a perfect teacher? “No.”

Am I an effective teacher. “Yes.”

I hope that you find that using affirmations gives you a stronger belief in you, your skills, abilities, and positive experiences. Thanks for reading my blog. I hope you’ll share with others. Please share your experiences with teaching in the comment area. I’d love to hear from you!

To leave a comment, click here and scroll down.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)

****************************
[blog_subscription_form]

Join over 347 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

Save

2 Responses

  1. You are a great teacher who also has a great sense of humor. Your example reflects that. You love teaching and your students love you. You are also effective. Thanks for the many things you have taught me.

    I am fortunate to have a teaching background also. Today, I volunteer with a program for homeless who want to improve their computer skills. I love being a part of this.

    I am thankful for the teacher training and experiences I have had and continue to have.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thank you for writing. Thanks also for saying I am a great teacher with a great sense of humor. I appreciate those good words. You are a great, effective teacher with a sense of humor, too. Your blog shows your keen, fun sense of humor.

      Enjoy your day!

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

