• Blog Stats

    • 467,575 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

When You Speak, People Listen


When you speak, people listen

“When You Speak, People Listen” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is Day 8 of Say Good Things February.

Say Good Things150 pixels

 

 

 

When you speak, do people listen?

When you speak, people listen. You are an eloquent speaker. You talk fluently. You are very persuasive. You talk using words that are easy to understand. You talk to people on their level and treat them with respect. You speak clearly. The words that come from your mouth are powerful. You explain things well. You pack the words you say with meaning. You are articulate, expressive, and silver-tongued. You tell facts in an interesting manner. You motivate and inspire others with your words.

Repeat these statements with “I” rather than “You” to make them true affirmations for you.

When I speak, people listen. I am an eloquent speaker. I talk fluently. I am very persuasive. I talk using words that are easy to understand. I talk to people on their level and treat them with respect. I speak clearly. The words that come from my mouth are powerful. I explain things well. I pack the words I say with meaning. I am articulate, expressive, and silver-tongued. I tell facts in an interesting manner. I motivate and inspire others with my words.

Your subconscious mind will lead you to make it true. Believe it’s possible. You have to believe it’s possible. You have to believe it’s true. Believe in you. Love yourself. Love your speaking and talking skills.

I haven’t perfected these items either but I enjoy being able to break things down into simple steps that make it easy for others to understand. 

I hated it when I was growing up when teachers, preachers, or anyone talking to me and others talked to you like “You are a nobody.” So I have tried during my life to speak to everyone with respect. 

At one time in my life, I thought no one was listening to me. Therefore, I used this affirmation consistently for over a year: “When I talk, people listen.” It’s interesting how things changed. When I changed my belief, I changed my circumstances and experiences. 

If there’s a skill you’d like for me to write affirmation statements to help you integrate them into your life, let me know in the comment area or send me an email…joanyedwards1@gmail.com. 

I hope that using these affirmations or others you create to help you have a stronger belief in your skills, abilities, and positive experiences. Thanks for reading my blog. I hope you’ll share the post with others. Please ask questions and tell me your ideas in the comment area. I’d love to hear from you! 

To leave a comment, click here and scroll down.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)

****************************
[blog_subscription_form]

Join over 340 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

Save

7 Responses

  1. Public speaking is a fear held by many. One of the most honoring moments of my career was when a principal asked me and a fellow counselor to join her in a workshop presentation at a national conference. I was very nervous, but I presented. I was so happy that I did. I realize this post is also about speaking to one individual or a few others. It hurts when we feel we’re not heard. Telling ourselves positive affirmations can help us rise above any hurt we have felt by looking at things differently. Hopefully, next time we will feel heard.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lately, the words don’t always come out as easily, especially when I’m most relaxed among family. But your message about public speaking hits home for me as I anticipate teaching an adult course this March on Women’s Journey to Retirement. I will print and repeat this message before each class session. Fortunately, it is only two sessions. Here are two ideas for say something positive: you move with grace and poise, and you honor your body. Another is, you are a great mentor and role model for the younger generation. Just some thoughts. As always, Joan Edwards, enjoyed your post today!
      joan.reid@yahoo.com

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dear Joan Reid,
        Thanks for writing. Sometimes our emotions make it difficult to speak clearly. Being able to relax about the situation, may help you find the right words. Or waiting and rehearsing your words before a mirror may help, too.

        I am proud of you for teaching an adult course in March on Women’s Journey to Retirement. I’m honored that you’re going to print out this message and repeat it to yourself before each class session.

        Thanks for sharing your topics for “Say Something Good February.” They are excellent affirmations. I may use one or more of them.

        Celebrate you and your willingness to teach others,
        Never Give Up
        Joan

        Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thank you for writing. Yes, you’re right that public speaking is a fear held by many. I’m so proud that your principal asked you and a fellow counselor to join her in giving a workshop presentation at a national conference. You’re right these affirmations are also about talking to people individually. Saying affirmations may help you realize that what others think is their opinion, not a fact.

      Celebrate you and your willingness to speak up for others,
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  2. Love your work, don’t always comment, but thank you.

    Like

    • Dear Sherry,
      Thank you for writing. It’s so good to hear from you. I love hearing from you, one of my readers. I’m glad you love my work and that you read my blog. I love encouraging others.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  3. Dear Joan,
    Talking slowly and softly is something I’m working on. People are not going to understand me any more if my words are all jumbled up.
    Your blogs are a great way to start my day.
    June

    Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

