• Blog Stats

    • 473,756 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

You Are Creative.


You are creative

 

“You Are Creative” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is Day 4 of Say Good Things February

Say Good Things - February

Are you creative? My answer for you follows:

You are creative. You are innovative. You are inventive. You are ingenious. You are clever. You are inspiring. You are original. You are leading-edge. You are productive. You are gifted.

Repeat these statements with “I” rather than “You” to make them true affirmations for you.

I am creative. I am innovative. I am inventive. I am ingenious. I am clever. I am inspiring. I am original. I am leading-edge. I am productive. I am gifted.

I discovered after I kept saying these things over and over again for days, weeks, and months, they became true because of actions I took.

Your subconscious mind will lead you to make it true. You have to believe it’s possible. Believe in you. Love yourself. Love your creative skills.

One of my first years of teaching, a principal said that I wasn’t creative. I’d always felt like I was creative. Luckily, this seed of destruction didn’t stop me from believing I was creative and being creative.

Many problems in relationships come when people demand that others do things in exactly the same order and manner in which they do them.

Here’s a scenario:

Fixing a load of clothes and putting in the detergent and rinse.

Person A: demands that you put the water in, then the detergent, then put the rinse in the little opening for it , then add clothes. Person A feels, if you don’t do it this way, you’re doing it WRONG.

Person B: demands that you put in the clothes, start the water, add the detergent after it’s almost full,  and put the rinse in the container. Person B feels, if you don’t do it this way, you’re doing it WRONG.

It does seem silly to get angry because someone doesn’t follow A or B. As long as the detergent has water, it’ll spread throughout the washer. Insert the rinse before the rinse cycle and you’re good. However, sometimes we’ve never known anyone to do it in a different way. Our family’s always done it this way.

Being creative sometimes means we don’t always follow the same paths that others usually take.

As long as the job gets done, be open to letting those who are doing it, do it their way. Accept yourself as you are and accept others as they are.

If you’re working for a company who demands things be done in a certain way, be sure and ask the authorities before you change it. Like individuals, some companies reward creative thinking and others like to keep on doing it their way. It’s all a choice. There’s a saying: “When you’re in Rome, do as the Roman’s do.”

Many of our inventors believed that something different would work better. They said, “Yes, this is true. But what if…” They came up with awesome ideas and inventions that amaze the people who said, “There’s no way that’s going to work”

That’s where the creative part of you takes over and makes the world a better place.

Thanks for reading my blog. I hope you’ll share with others. Please ask questions or tell me your ideas in the comment area. I’d love to hear from you!

To leave a comment, click here.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)

****************************
[
blog_subscription_form]

Join over 340 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

Save

12 Responses

  1. Great post, Joan.

    Being creative can be so fun and bring joy to others. This reminds me of the 100 handmade Valentines that author, Deanna Klingel and her dog Buddy will deliver to people at a nursing home. I believe this was posted on Facebook.

    Another thought: Adults in authority should be careful not to stifle children’s creativity.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. You’re right, being creative is fun and brings joy to many people. How neat that Deanna Klingel and her dog, Buddy, will deliver Valentines to a nursing home. And you’re right people in authority need to be mindful not to trample out the creativity in children.

      Have a fun day!

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I LIKE your detergent/clothes washing example. How silly we can be about what is right and wrong when there are so many other things in the world to care about! (Although I have learned–through trial and error–that it does help to put soap in first!! LOL)

    Like

    • Dear Carol,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you liked my detergent/clothes washing example. We definitely can be silly about what is right and wrong when there are definitely more things in the world to worry about!

      Have a fun day!

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  3. Dear Joan,

    You are truly an inspiration and your Say Good Things February is a blessing to see each day this month. Before I even set out to write this snowy morning, I am first encouraged by your words. Thank you. And as soon as my monthly SS check arrives, I intend to purchase your “Flip Flap Floodle.”
    joan.reid@yahoo.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Joan,
      Thank you for writing. I am glad that you’re reading my “Say Good Things February” posts. I appreciate you and the fact that you follow my blog every day! Goodness! Thank you.

      I love to watch it snow. It quiets the earth with its beauty. Each little snowflake is a beautiful creation. I know that too much snow can create havoc. However, as it’s falling it is a wondrous thing.

      I am honored by each purchase of Flip Flap Floodle. He will love being with you! His song will help you remember to Never Give Up even when things don’t look good at all.

      Celebrate you.
      Believe in you and your writing.
      Never Give Up

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you Joan! I am so glad you didn’t let that principal plant that seed of destruction. You ARE creative and inspire others to be be creative 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Kathleen,
      Thank you for writing. Thank you for being glad that I didn’t let that principal plant that seed of destruction in my subconscious mind. Thank you for saying that I am creative and that I inspire you and others to be creative. How sweet!

      Celebrate you and your creativity!
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re very welcome and loved!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Dear Kathleen, Thank you. Thank you.:) 🙂 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Joan,
    Sometimes you have to make your own kind of music even if you have to stand alone. I try not to listen to that little voice in my head that tells me You can’t write that!” You know what my answer to that is?
    “You’re not the boss of me!”
    Your blog are so therapeutic for me.
    Love, June

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear June,
      Thank you for writing. I’m so very glad that you do not listen to those negative voices and that you’re listening to the positive voices and telling the negative voices, “You’re not my boss.”

      Hurray for you, June! I am very proud of you.

      You Go, girl..
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

