You Are a Good Listener


“You Are a Good Listener” by Joan Y. Edwards

You are a good listener

 

This is Day 2 of Say Good Things February.

Say Good Things150 pixels

Say Good Things – February

You are a good listener. You hear and understand what others tell you. You remember what others tell you. If you have questions, you ask them to clarify information. You learn a lot by listening to others. You are an empathetic listener. Your ears work great. You hear clearly.

Repeat these statements with “I” rather than “You” to make them true affirmations for you.

I am a good listener. I hear and understand what others tell me. I remember what others tell me. If I have questions, I ask them to clarify information. I learn a lot by listening to others. I am an empathetic listener. My ears work great. I hear clearly.

I discovered after I kept saying these things over and over again for days, weeks, and months, they became true because of actions I took.

Your subsconscious mind will lead you to make it true. You have to believe it’s possible. Believe in you. Love yourself. Love your listening skills.

My grandfather, John F. Meyer was a very quiet man. He seldom started conversations with others.

I asked him one day, why he didn’t talk much. He said, “When I listen to others, I am twice as smart. I know what I know and I learn what they know.”

Sometimes I find when I’m listening to others, my brain goes off into wondering what they’re thinking of me, or daydreaming about something they mentioned.

For instance, I ask someone his name. When I’m supposed to be really listening, I sometimes go inside myself. I think it’s one of many human factors.

Reflective listening means that you repeat what you heard to the person who told you something to make sure you have the facts straight.

Empathetic listening. You listen first and acknowledge what you hear including any emotions you detect from the person talking, even if you don’t agree with it, before expressing your experience or point of view. Empathetic listening makes connections with others.

When watching the little video, Brené Brown on Empathy, I learned what sympathy listening and responses are.

Sympathy listening and responses don’t make connections. When you watch the “Brené Brown on Empathy” video you’ll understand why. I’ll try to explain.

I think I’ve run into this in times of grief. When someone dies, it’s hard to say the right thing, especially when people are giving sympathetic responses instead of empathetic responses.

Sympathy says, “I’m sorry your Mother died.”
Grieving One, “Thank you. I miss her.”
Sympathy says (without acknowledging that the grieving one misses her Mother, she skips to her own opinion), “But just think she’s in heaven.”

An empathetic listener says, “I’m sorry your Mother died.”
Grieving One, “Thank you. I miss her.”
Empathetic listener says, “I know you do.”

Brené Brown. “Brené Brown on Empathy:” http://www.newconversations.net/communication-skills-workbook/listening/

Empathy means you acknowledge that the person talking has the right to feel as he does. Accept that you may not be able to change the way a person feels. When they are open to it, many times we are able to help them see things in a different perspective. Many times by just having someone listen to them, people come up with solutions all on their own. Somehow by your accepting others as they are, it gives them the power to change.

Thanks for reading my blog. I hope you’ll share with others. Free to ask questions and tell me your ideas in the comment area. I’d love to hear from you!

To leave a comment, click here.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)

****************************
[
blog_subscription_form]

Join over 340 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

Save

8 Responses

  1. Joan,
    I just said today that you’re a good listener. I meant it. This post shares lots of important information. We all can improve our listening skills. Thanks for showing how.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thank you for the compliment. I’m glad you think I’m a good listener. 🙂
      You’re a good listener, too. Great counselors have a good way of listening and understanding what’s troubling people.

      Celebrate you and your many gifts.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with Linda! Thank you Joan for sharing this ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • Dear Kathleen,
      Thank you for writing. Thank you for believing I’m a good listener. You are a good listener, too. You’re welcome for my sharing this post. Enjoy your day. Thanks for being a loyal commenter!

      Love you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

      • Love you too!

        Liked by 1 person

        • :):):)

          Like

  3. Dear Joan,
    Thank you for sharing this with us. I’ve copied and pasted what you said about listening and I’m going to read it everyday.
    . I’ve put the video in my favorites to listen to when my ears are better. My ears are blocked at the moment.
    Love, June

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear June,
      It’s a pleasure to hear from you. I believe you are a very good listener. Celebrate you!

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

