• Blog Stats

    • 479,471 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

You Are a Good Money Manager


You are a good money manager“You Are a Good Money Manager” by Joan Y. Edwards

Day 1 of “Say Good Things February.”

Say Good Things - February

You are a good money manager. You have an abundance of money. You use your money wisely. You are thankful for your money because it helps you get the things you need to survive. If you use credit cards, you pay them off in full each month. You save money for emergencies. With the money you have left over after you pay all your bills, you give money to help others.

Repeat these statements with “I” rather than “You” to make them true affirmations for you.

I am a good money manager. I have an abundance of money. I use my money wisely. I am thankful for my money because it helps me get the things I need to survive. If I use credit cards, I pay them off in full each month. I save money for emergencies. With the money I have left over after I pay all my bills, I give money to help others.

I discovered after I kept saying these things over and over again for days, weeks, and months, they became true because of actions I took.

Your subsconscious mind will lead you to make it true. You have to believe it’s possible. Believe in you. Love yourself. Love your finances.

There was a time in my life where my bills were more than the money supply coming in. This was a frustrating time for me. Credit cards were part of my problem. I charged more than I could pay off at the end of the month. Interest accumulated making my debt higher. It was not good. I didn’t know that a money supply would stop and make it where I couldn’t pay these bills at all. If you use credit cards, you pay them off in full each month.

Another problem I had was I got a second mortgage on our home. I thought the interest rate was going to be low like the first time.  I didn’t know that interest rates could be as low as 3% and go higher than 15%. I signed the papers without asking or looking to see what the interest rate would be. Ouch! With a high interest rate and not able to make your payments, you could lose your house. Luckily, I didn’t. Read the fine lines. Ask what the interest rate will be and what your payments will be each month before you sign the papers.

I have several friends who got into financial trouble because they gave money to their children or friends which left them without enough money to pay their bills. They gave it without expecting any money in return. Which is kind, but they weren’t helping the others to grow stronger. Make those you lend money to accountable. Share with others from your abundance. Consider it a loan; but, be not spiteful if your friend or family member is human, and is unable to repay you. The church I attended gave me money to help pay my mortgage and second mortgage three times. Then they said that they were enabling me to stay as I was. They said I had to figure out a better way to manage my finances. I had to find a way to pay off these debts. Which was difficult, but I did it and I’m glad that I did.

Book Resources:

Robert Schuller. Tough Times Never Last, but Tough People Do. Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Tough-Times-Never-Last-People/dp/0553273329

Terry Cole Whitaker. What You Think of Me Is None of My Business Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/What-You-Think-None-Business/dp/051509479X/ref

Scriptural Resources:

Romans 13:8-10 NIV

8 Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another, for whoever loves others has fulfilled the law.

Deuteronomy 28:12

The LORD will open the heavens, the storehouse of his bounty, to send rain on your land in season and to bless all the work of your hands. You will lend to many nations but will borrow from none.

Titus:7-9 NIV

Since an overseer manages God’s household, he must be blameless—not overbearing, not quick-tempered, not given to drunkenness, not violent, not pursuing dishonest gain. Rather, he must be hospitable, one who loves what is good, who is self-controlled, upright, holy and disciplined. He must hold firmly to the trustworthy message as it has been taught, so that he can encourage others by sound doctrine and refute those who oppose it.

Thanks for reading my blog. Feel free to ask questions and share your ideas in the comment area. I’d love to hear from you!

To leave a comment, click here.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)

****************************
[
blog_subscription_form]

Join over 340 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

Save

10 Responses

  1. I can say, One reason I am a good money manager is because others were generous and believed in my future. My parents, plus a small scholarship, provided the money for my college education, which gave me an opportunity to make a good living without having to repay college loans. I am very thankful to my parents for giving me a head start in my adult years. I used my own resources to pay for my master’s degree, but I couldn’t have done that as easily without my parents’ support earlier. I’m very thankful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing.
      That is so cool that your parents and a small scholarship provided money for your college education which gave you the opportunity to make a good living without having to repay a college loan. You are blessed to have this solid financial gift to give you a feeling of abundance for your college education. I am thankful you had that great financial support.

      You are a good steward of all the gifts God and others have bestowed on you.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

      • Thanks, Joan.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Dear Linda,
          You’re very welcome. 🙂

          Like

  2. It’s true that we have to be careful how we give. Not withholding from a true need, but being careful not to enable poor stewardship. It’s a tough call sometimes. Thought provoking blog, Joan.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Carol,
      Thanks for writing and sharing your opinion. You’re right, we do have to be careful not to enable poor stewardship. And it is a tough call at times.

      I’m glad my blog made you ponder a few things.

      Sincerely,
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  3. Dear Joan,
    I’m bit behind in your blogs for February so you will here from me often. When I was younger I kept a note book with a list of all my bills. Each month I would pay a little on each one. That is, until my sister is a bookkeeper took over a couple of years later Now, my bills are payed in full every month.. I never charge anything I know can’t be paid for at the end of the month.
    Thank you for writing this blog.
    June

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear June,
    Thanks for writing. It’s good to hear from you. There are a lot of February posts…29 of them with affirmations to help you believe better things about you. I am glad that you’re doing better with managing your money. I believe God rewards us when we are good stewards of our money. He gives us more money!

    Never Give Up
    Joan

    Like

  5. Dear Joan,

    I agree with you.Thank you again for writing this blog.
    June

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear June,
      Thanks for writing. You are welcome. God is very pleased with you!

      …Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

