• Blog Stats

    • 479,471 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

“Say Good Things February”


Say Good Things

“Say Good Things February” by Joan Y. Edwards

During February I plan to write a post every day that is a compliment for you. A statement of affirmation about who you are and what you can do. A positive statement to lift your spirits. By doing this I hope it’ll make you feel good and that you might share a good things message with your family, friends, acquaintances, and strangers either by phone, by email, by card, by letter, in person, in a post, on Facebook, Twitter, or Google Plus. When someone gives you a compliment, let the words soak into your heart and fill you with delight. Enjoy that moment. Smile and say, “Thank you very much.”

What you say affects other people in ways you might never guess.

When I was in Harris Teeter in October 2015, I saw a young man around thirty years old wearing a red plaid shirt walking towards me with his buggy. We made eye contact. I said, “I like your shirt.”

He said, “Thank you.”

He touched the sleeve of his shirt and told me, “I’ve been thinking about my grandpappy a lot lately. He died a few years ago. He used to wear a shirt like this all the time.”

I said, “That’s good that you have that shirt to remind you of your grandfather. You must really miss him. What do you remember about him?”

He said, “He was a farmer. He’d sit on his tractor plowing the fields in his red plaid shirt. He was as mean as a snake.”

That sort of shocked me. I giggled a little. He smiled.

He said, “But he would do anything for you. If you needed him, he was there for you. He helped his neighbors. He helped me.”

I thanked him for sharing the story about his grandpappy and the red plaid shirt. He said, “You’re welcome. I enjoyed talking with you.”

And we went on with our buggies buying groceries.

I think about that young man often and how great it was that his grandfather was there for him. I was glad to be there to help that young man grieve for his grandpappy.

So be thinking of good things you can say to yourself and to others. I hope you’ll join me. You can use the image I created on your blog if you decide to join me in posting “Say Good Things.”

Thanks for reading my blog. Feel free to ask questions and share your ideas in the comment area. I’d love to hear from you!

Here are the posts so far for my “Say Good Things February:”

 

 

To leave a comment, click here.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2016 Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related puzzles and skits)


[blog_subscription_form]

Join over 340 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that will entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

Save

12 Responses

  1. What a great idea, Joan. We all like compliments and passing them on feels great too. Happy “Say Good Things February.” I hope it is a big hit and uplifts many!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. You’re right. We all like compliments and passing them on feels great, too. Thanks for wishing “Say Good Things-February” is a bit hit and uplifts many.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

        • 🙂

          Like

  2. Love the idea for February. I’m reading a book entitled Broadcasting Happiness by Michelle Gielan. It has been a real eye opener on how powerful our words are. Looking forward, as usual, to your words.

    Like

    • Dear Sharon,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you love the idea for February. Thanks for sharing how “Broadcasting Happiness” by Michelle Gielan has been a real eye opener for you on how powerful our words are. I’m going to Amazon to check it out now.

      You’re right. Our words and thoughts define us which is scary at times and simply wonderful at other times. That’s the human factor, right? You honor be by saying you look forward to my words. That is a nice compliment. Thank you.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello Joan — wonderful sentiments and reminder that expressing kind thoughts and love are not just a one-day affair on February 14th! Our words indeed can leave an indelible positive impression. Thank you! joan.reid@yahoo.com

    Like

    • Dear Joan Reid,
      Thank you for writing. You’re right. Kind thoughts and love are not just a one-day affair on February 14th. It’s amazing how long a compliment lingers in your mind. You play it over and over again. It builds confidence and well-being.

      I appreciate you taking the time to write and let me know you liked my blog post. You are very thoughtful.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  4. Yes, what you send out to the universe, the universe sends back to you. The more you give, the more you get.
    🙂
    Bob

    Like

    • Dear Dr. Bob,
      Thank you for writing. It’s good to hear from you. You are right. What you send out to the universe, it sends it back to you.
      I hope you’re doing well over there in the good land of Australia.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  5. Broadcasting Happiness sounds like a wonderful read. We all need kind, compassionate words on our journey and need to remember to give them and give them generously

    Liked by 2 people

    • Dear Judy,
      Thank you for writing. You’re right. We all need to receive and give kind, compassionate words on our journey. I hope you’ll come back and read the series and I hope it helps you feel good about the great person you are.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

