• Blog Stats

    • 479,766 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Pub Subbing Leads the Way to Publication!


Pub Sub 2015a
“Pub Subbing Leads the Way to Publication!” by Joan Y. Edwards
In 2009 I started Pub Sub. At that time, I called it PubSub3rdFri to designate the third week of the month as a great time to send out a manuscript. I said to myself, “It would be more fun to have people to submit with me.”

Having a group of people with like desires and goals has a way of making each member accountable for submitting. It makes you put your action where your mouth is. It makes you do what you say you’re going to do. It has been proven, that when people say things out loud or write them down, they are more likely to do them.

Another thing I wanted to do, of course, was to encourage others to submit so they wouldn’t give up along the road.

After I started the group, I realized I and other writers and illustrators need a plan of action…a detailed plan of action. After all, if your goal is to be a published writer and all of your manuscripts stay under your pillow, in a drawer, or in a virtual file on the computer, you won’t get closer to publication. Why? Because you have to do certain things in a special order to get published. I can tell you that pub subbing beats hands down in comparison with not submitting. It’s 100% more successful than not submitting.

In 2004 I self-published Flip Flap Floodle forty-nine years after I made up the story at five years old. When I was twenty-eight and expecting my first daughter, Lorrie, I started submitting to publishers. After I retired from teaching, I set a goal to submit 5 more years. If no positive responses, I would show my belief in my writing by self-publishing it. Everyone I submitted to said, “No, No. No.” So I self-published in 2004.

In 2011, two years after I formed Pub Sub, I got a contract with 4RV Publishing by submitting my pitch and book proposal for Joan’s Elder Care Guide. (It was released on April 15, 2016.)

Here are four writers who’ve told me how Pub Subbing helped them:

“Your encouragement to be a Pub Subber has led to my signing a contract.”
…Joy Moore

“Pub Sub posts are full of helpful writing tips and lists of publishers who accept unsolicited manuscripts. Group members provide encouragement for each other, which keeps us going. Recently, I won a contest here which granted a critique of pitch and cover letter. After making changes, I submitted. Thank you Pub Sub and Joan Edwards.  This blog and group is a gift to writers!”
Linda Andersen, http://www.lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/

“I write, but I need to be primed and probed to stay accountable. Your constant reminders help keep me on track-even when I don’t respond. Thank you.”
…Mona Pease, http://monapease.blogspot.com/

“I echo Mona’s comments. Plus I enjoy the camaraderie of the group. Thanks for running it, Joan.”
Sarah Maury Swan, Terror’s Identity, http://www.sablebooks.org

Believe in you and your talents. If you drop your belief and doubt, things get a little shaky. Keep filling your mind with practical possibility thinking.

If I can do it, you can do it. If you have a goal in your heart, I believe God put it there and will help you get there. However, you have to keep on going. You have to take action to get there. God won’t do it all for you. He wants you to believe in the talents and abilities he has given you. He wants you to take them out of the hole where you hid them. First thing you have to do is set faith statements in your head. Without these, you’ll get tripped up along the way or be running in place.

“I am a great writer.”
“I am a great illustrator.”
“I am published by a traditional publisher.”

Now, you’re ready for the next 10 Pub Sub steps to publication:

  1. Write a pitch/logline/summary
  2. Write a manuscript. (Don’t get it critiqued until it’s finished and you’ve done at least one revision. Why? Because you may listen to too many other voices and not your inner gut voice. Finish it. You can do it.)
  3. Get your manuscript critiqued by a critique partner or a critique group, chapter by chapter, or the chapters you believe you need the most help.
  4. When it’s the best you can do at this particular time with knowledge and skills you have, send it to one or more Beta Readers.
  5. If you have the funds, pay a professional editor. Ask for titles of books he has edited in your manuscript’s genre.  Make sure you like what they’ve done.  Someone who does an outstanding job of editing picture books might not do as well with Romance novels.
  6. Find a publisher or agent who accepts unsolicited manuscripts.
  7. Write a query or cover letter, if non-fiction, write a proposal, too.
  8. Submit your cover letter and manuscript or submit a query letter.
  9. Celebrate.
  10. Live.
    11. Start the process over again. Don’t wait until you get a reply to start a new project. Write a pitch/logline/summary.

If you’d like to join our Pub Subbers group, send me an email to joanyedwards1@gmail.com and tell me about your writing and why you’d like to join. I’ll send you an invitation from Yahoo groups.

You can Pub Sub on your own. Many people set up their own schedule and go to the links below to help them where they are on the path to publication!  Good luck in meeting your publication goals. The following links will help you!

Pub Subbers

Week 1 Find a publisher. Get one last critique of your manuscript and pitch.
Week 2 Write your cover letter, query letter, and/or proposal
Week 3 Make revisions on manuscript, letters, proposal. Print out. Check over. Correct errors. Follow publisher or agent guidelines. Submit.
Week 4 Celebrate your courage in submitting. Live. Write another story.

On Friday, December 18, 2015, my Never Give Up blog passed 300,000 views!

Oh my goodness! Can you believe it! Six years! It started out small and got bigger each year.

To celebrate you and me and how pleased and honored I am that you read my blog, I gave all eleven people who left a comment between December 20, 2015 and midnight December 31, 2015, a choice of a free critique of 1000 words or a logo design with their name and blog or website on it. Their names are in the comment area and in a new post.

Believe in you!
Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2015 Joan Y. Edwards

****************************
[
blog_subscription_form]

Join over 330 Valued Subscribers! You’ll be glad you did.
Subscribe now to receive Joan’s blog posts that entertain, encourage, inspire you to never give up, PLUS 3 free gifts:

1. Never Give Up image
2. 20 Affirmations for Writers
3. Ten Time Savers for Writers and Illustrators

 

Save

27 Responses

  1. Congratulations! Happy to celebrate with you! Thanks for this generous offer, Joan.

    In November I submitted to a publisher and in December to an agent. Even if they say “No,” I’m saying “Yes” to my writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing! I am so glad you’re here to celebrate with me. I’m very proud of you and your writing and that you’ve submitted your manuscript to a publisher and to an agent! I love your statement: -Even if they say, “No,” I’m saying “Yes” to my writing.- Keep that spirit high! You’re almost there!

      Love, Joan

      Like

  2. Joan, you are such an inspiration! Getting ready in the new year to pull out some of those old stories, revise, and send them out!

    Like

    • Dear Samantha,
      Thank you for writing. Aw shuckins! Your compliment made me smile, but what made me smile even wider was that you’re going to pull out some of those old stories, revise them, and send them out! Hip Hip Hooray for you! You’ve done an outstanding job of writing and illustrating books and getting them published. I’m glad you’re going to pull out the stories that came from your incredible heart and bring them to life!

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  3. What a wonderful idea, Joan. You are a great motivator. I enjoy reading your posts and your positive thoughts! I wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas and have a fabulous New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Sheri,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you like the Pub Sub idea! I’m glad you think I am a great motivator! What a wonder-filled compliment! Thank you for your warm wishes for a Merry Christmas and a fabulous New Year!

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  4. Joan, your posts are always so encouraging! Congrats on over 300,000 viewers. You rock! 👏

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Tracy,
      Thank you for writing and saying that my posts are always encouraging! You made me smile. Thanks for joining me in celebrating over 300,000 views!

      Celebrate you today!
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  5. Wonderful to read a little history of Pub-subbers!As always Joan you give me positive food for thought. Last Month I self published two books on Amazon “A Little Birdie Told Me” by Mimi Milford and “21C The Lynn Tower” by Rose Radcliffe (my pen name). I am working on the sequel to 21C …about twenty thousand words in. I hope your Holidays are Merry and Bright. Mimi

    Liked by 2 people

    • Dear Mimi,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you enjoyed learning a little history of Pub Subbers. We are so lucky and happy to have you in Pub Subbers!

      Celebrate you and your belief in yourself!
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  6. It is because of faithful “cheerleaders” like you that discouraged writers get fresh wind in their sails. Thanks again for another timely and inspiring post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Brenda,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad my cheering for you has given you fresh wind in your sails! That’s my goal to encourage you along the road to your publication!

      Go, Brenda, go.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  7. What an accomplishment! Congratulations and what a great giveaway

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Judy,
      Thank you for writing. I appreciate the compliment and the congratulations. I’m glad you consider my prizes a great giveaway!

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  8. I have submitted something for the last four months. Still waiting for replies from one in Sept. It maybe too soon. some say wait six months.

    Some wont’ reply at all. Sad business, this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Clarike,
      I am very proud of you for believing in you and submitting your writing. Yes, sometimes it may be 6 months before we hear from publishers. Other times we might not receive a reply. However, they are doing the best they can. I hope you get a positive response. If you don’t, recharge your system and submit to another publisher. There is a publisher out there for you!

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  9. Dear Joan,
    I am blessed to have known you and to receive your constant enthusiasm, even though I don’t comment much. BTW, I did mention you and the old Wordmuncher group in my forward of my book. You are a great writing friend.
    Megan V.

    Like

    • Dear Megan,
      Thank you for writing. God has blessed me with knowing you. I’m glad you believe I have constant enthusiasm! Sometimes, it wanes. I didn’t know that you mentioned me and the Wordmuncher Critique group in the forward to your book! I am honored. I hope you have many more books published! Thank you for reading my posts!

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  10. I’m not a part of your group, but have been doing those 10 steps faithfully! Rebecca Petruck has been an invaluable editor/mentor. I’d highly recommend her to anyone. Sometimes I think she knows my book better than I do! She finally “approved” my latest outline of Half-Truths. Now I get to write it!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Dear Carol,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you’ve been doing those 10 steps to publication faithfully! It’s wonderful that you’ve found Rebecca Petruck as a wonderful editor/mentor to help you along the way to publication! Hurray for your approved outline of Half-Truths, your fiction story! Congratulations!

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  11. What great and helpful advice! You are so encouraging!

    Like

    • Dear Sheri,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you found my advice helpful and encouraging!

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  12. I’m late coming to the party but I’d like to say 300,000 views? WOW! Congratulations! That is incredible, just like you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Sandra,
      Thanks for writing! Thank you for saying that having 300,000 views is incredible, just like me! I bow humbly. You, my readers are the reason that I blog!

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  13. Wow! Thank you to the following readers who left a comment. I am giving each of you a choice of a critique of 1000 word manuscript or a personalized image for your website, blog, or email!

    Linda Andersen
    Samantha Bell
    Sheri Levy
    Tracy Campbell
    Mimi Milford
    Brenda Madole
    Judy Pierce
    Clarike Bowman
    Megan Vance
    Carol Baldwin
    Sandra Warren

    Email me your choice:
    1000 words of one of your manuscripts
    Or the phrase you want, and a picture of you, if you want me to use you in the logo image.

    I am creating a new blog post to announce this. Put your responses there, please.

    Never Give Up
    Joan Y. Edwards

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Joan,

    You are an inspiration and an example to all writers. Your diligence and positive thinking are paying off for you. This all rubs off on me. I need prodding often and your PubSub is a wonderful way to give me a push in the right direction.

    Thanks, Joan, and congratulations on your success.

    Love,

    Janis

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Janis,
      Thank you for writing and congratulating me on my success! It hasn’t been all at one time. Just little by little. Celebrate something each day and you’ll get there! You have a number of books published now. More than me.

      Thanks for traveling with me on my journey.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

