• Blog Stats

    • 474,379 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

LARRY, THE TERRIFYING TURKEY


“LARRY, THE TERRIFYING TURKEY” by Joan Y. Edwards

On February 11, 2015  I signed a contract with Ravenswood Publishing, LLC to publish a three-book series of Chapter Books, the first one is “Larry, the Terrifying Turkey.” The second one is “Larry, the Terrifying Turkey Tames Billy the Bull.” I haven’t written the third one yet.

February 2016 The publisher cancelled my contract.

My plan now is to self-publish with one color illustration for each chapter.

Selling Pitch/Blurb for Book Cover:  Larry, the Terrifying Turkey, Chapter Book, Ages 6-8, Grades 1-3

Scarred by her mother’s pet turkey and taunted by her third grade classmates, Sara Brown searches for a way to get back at him. Will she face the turkey square in the gobbler or will her parents ground her until she is twenty-one after she wrecks her mother’s new car?

When I was five years old, Mother had a pet turkey that flogged me badly. My sister, Judith, helped us escape from him. In March 2010, my younger sister, Janet and I went to a writing workshop near Charleston and I wrote this story. It’s kind of ironical that it was a short story workshop. I told the instructor I didn’t know if I could write a story for adults. I wanted it for children. The main character in the story has no sister, so she has to trouble learning to fend for herself.

My granddaughters, Kylie and Kirstyn Hackett loved to hear me tell about my adventures with the turkey. My grandsons, Luke and Wyatt Chewning love the story, too. Wyatt wants a copy of the book to share with his classmates when Ravenswood releases it! Isn’t that sweet? I’m dedicating the book to them because they listen and laugh at my stories.

 

A special thank you to my husband, Carl Lansdale Edwards for always believing in me, even when I haven’t been able to believe in myself.

Thank you to Pub Subbers group and all of you who read my blog and encourage me to submit my work.
Thank you to my sisters, Janet Meyer and Judith Carolyn Thomson.
Thank you to the Savvy Wordsmiths and Illustrators critique group in Fort Mill, SC

This FREE GIVEAWAY contest for this blog post is over. Kathleen Burkinshaw and Michelle Karene Won a Free Critique. Congratulations to them.

Celebrate you.
Never Give Up

Pub Sub Today

Copyright © 2013 Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2015 Joan Y. Edwards

 

51 Responses

  1. THAT”S AWESOME!!!!! I knew this book could be a series!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!

    Like

    • Dear Karen,
      Thanks for your congratulations! You are a fortune teller! Thank you for your enthusiasm and for believing in me!

      Never Give Up
      Love, Joan

      Like

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! Joan I am over the moon happy for you!!! I can’t wait to buy it and have you autograph a copy 🙂 I learned something new too–you had a menacing turkey in youe childhood-wow. A success well deserved!!

    Like

    • Dear Kathleen,
      Thank you for your congratulations! I’m glad you are over the moon happy for me. I bought a shirt the other day after Donna Earnhardt said she bet I was over the moon happy. It has a star over a sliver of a curved moon. So cool. I’ll have to take a picture and share with you.

      Yes, I did have a menacing turkey in my childhood. After ithe book comes out, I’ll tell you what happened and the rest is creative fiction

      Never Give Up
      Love, Joan.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations!! What great news!

    Like

    • Dear Michelle,
      Thank you very much for writing. I appreciate your congratulations. Good luck with your writing, too.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  4. Congratulations Joan! How wonderful. You are on a role with publishing your books.

    Like

    • Dear Susanne Kessaris,
      Thank you for writing. Your congratulations set me into dancing again! It does seem like I am on a roll and I like it.
      Good luck with your writing and may all of it be published.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  5. Joan, Congratulations!!! Best wishes for its success!

    Like

    • Dear Karen,
      Thank you for writing. Your congratulations put a big smile on my face that reaches from North Carolina to where you are now.
      I appreciate your wishes for Larry, the Terrifying Turkey’s success. May all of your writing be successful and prosperous!

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  6. Congratulations! That is wonderful!

    Like

    • Dear Kara,
      Thank you for your congratulations! You’ve got me with my chin up and wearing a thankful smile.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  7. Hip hip hooray for Joan! I’m sure it’ll be a great success! Please tell us about the publisher. I’m proud of you Joan. Sarah

    Like

    • Dear Sarah,
      Thank you for celebrating with me and cheering me on. I appreciate you saying it will be a great success! I’ll interview the owner/editor of Ravenswood Publishing in the next couple of months. Thank you for being proud of me.

      Thanks for believing in me and being a Pub Subber.

      Celebrate.you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  8. Congrats, Joan, I loved the picture of you! HAPPY DANCE TIME!

    Like

    • Dear Carol,
      Thank you for your congratulations! I’m glad you liked my happy dance picture!

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  9. Congratulations, Joan, I’m dancing the turkey trot for you! What thrilling news.

    Like

    • Dear Gretchen,
      Thank you for writing and for doing the Turkey Trot Congratulations Dance. A most suitable dance for this occasion. I love your sense of humor. I wish you success with all of your books and prosperity, too.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  10. EMEGHERD!!!!!!!

    Yaaaaay!! ** waves arms like Kermit **

    Like

    • Dear Widdershins,,
      Thank you for waving your arms like Kermit the frog. I am imagining a pond with frogs and turtles and fish celebrating with us. I wish you great things.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  11. Go Joan!!!! Wishing you all the best!

    Like

    • Dear Susan,
      Thank you for cheering me on and sending me good wishes.
      I wish you great success in your writing career.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  12. Joan,
    Such great news! So happy for you. You look happy as can be in your photo! Your enthusiasm is contagious!

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thank you for being happy about my signing a contract with Ravenswood Publishing.

      I am doing the happy dance! Twirl in belief. Twirl in writing. Do-si-do submitting. Twirl in belief. Surprise! My dream came true.

      Thank you for sharing my writing journey and my life’s journey.

      Thank you for being my friend.
      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  13. Congratulations. I am terrified.
    🙂
    Bob

    Like

    • Dear Dr. Bob,
      Thank you for your congratulations! Thanks for being terrified! I love your sense of humor.

      Thank you for believing in me
      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  14. Yay, Joan!!!! I am so excited for you!!!!! Way to go!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Samantha,
      Thank you very much for being excited for me. Please celebrate with me.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  15. Congratulations Joan!!!

    Like

    • Dear Mona,
      Thank you very much.

      Celebrate with me.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  16. Congrats Joan on this monumental accomplishment!! You give hope and inspiration to many, and for that I thank you!

    Like

    • Dear Brenda,
      Thank you very much for your congratulations. I am glad that I give you hope and inspiration to many. That’s what I love to do.

      Celebrate with me
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  17. Congratulations! Sounds like a great fiasco of a story. Very exciting!

    Like

    • Dear Laura,
      Thank you for your congratulations. I am glad you like the great fiasco!
      Please celebrate with me.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  18. Congratulations, Joan! I can’t wait to read the book with my boys.

    Like

    • Dear J. Doherty,

      Thank you for your congratulations! I am glad you’re going to read Larry, the Terrifying Turkey, to your boys.
      Are you perhaps, Jennifer Doherty from SCBWI-Carolinas? Just wondered your first name?

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  19. Congratulations!

    Like

    • Dear A.J.
      Thank you for your congratulations. I appreciate you very much.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  20. You must be over the moon! Way to go!

    Like

    • Dear Donna,
      I am over the moon. The stars look beautiful from here. I hope you’ll come up here with em.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  21. Congrats on signing the contract for your series! Bet you’re doing a happy dance!! My husband grew up on a turkey farm. Needless to say he never eats turkey because whenever one got zapped by the electric fence, they ate it. So he had his fill of turkey!

    Like

    • Dear Janet,
      Thank you for your congratulations and for sharing your husband’s story about living on a Turkey Farm. Does he have any old pictures of him or his family with the turkeys of varying sizes? Zap! Oh a whole new dimension of feelings about a turkey. I can understand why he’s had his fill of them.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

      • No, I haven’t seen any pics of him with the turkeys. That would’ve been a l-o-n-g time ago! He does a great impression though of the flock of turkeys all turning at the same time to watch an airplane fly over. LOL I hope your turkey isn’t as dumb as the ones he grew up with!

        Like

        • Dear Janet,
          Thanks for writing me back. Larry is a smart turkey. I’d love to see your hubby’s impression of the flock of turkeys turning to watch an airplane fly over. Funny!

          Sincerely,
          Joan

          Like

  22. Joan, I’m always late to a party but delighted to hear this news and the stories behind it! Such fun. This will be a great treasure for the whole family and for many other kids too.

    Like

    • Dear Vijaya,
      You are not late to the party at all. Thank you for being delighted to hear my contract news and the story behind it. I do hope this book will be a treasure for my family and for thousands of other families, too.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  23. WHA-HOO! CONGRATULATIONS, JOAN!!!!~!! I recall you writing about the turkey. This is absolutely fantastic! YOU are on a roll!!!!
    I am thrilled for you!

    Just as you have the never give up theme, I look forward to the connections you will make for children with these three books. Maybe a theme about surviving fear?Whatever you write will be part of your great legacy.

    Can’t wait to see these stories in print!

    Love,
    Janis

    Like

    • Dear Janis,
      Thanks for your congratulations! I’m glad you remembered my story about how the turkey attacked me when I was little. Thank you for calling me today, too. That was so sweet of you. I appreciate you being on my writing journey with me since 2002. You helped me bunches with Flip Flap Floodle. You have been there with me through thick and thin supporting me with your encouraging words! Thank you.

      You are right. It does sort of relate to my “Never Give Up” theme. Funny how that goes with me wherever I go and it influences everything I do. Which is a good thing! I try to inspire people to look for ways to reach their goals. There is a way.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  24. So, so excited for you!!! I just showed my kids this post and told them my 4th grade teacher is publishing a children’s book!!! So great – can’t wait to read it!!!!! 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Wendy,
      I’m glad you shared my post with your kids! Do you remember any funny experiences when I taught you in 4th grade? If so please share them (email: joanyedwards1@gmail.com). How old are your children? I’d love to see you and your children.

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  25. Dear Readers,
    There were 25 people who left comments on this blog post. I am so lucky to have you as readers who make my life fun because you leave me comments and cheer me on.

    I asked Random.org to choose a number between 1 and 25.
    It first chose number 2. Then I asked it to choose another number so I could award a bonus prize of another 1,000 word critique, and it chose number 3.

    1. Karen Tomas
    2. Kathleen Burkinshaw
    3. Michelle Karene
    4. Susanne Kessaris
    5. Kaen Cioffi
    6. Kara Stewart
    7. Sarah’s Book Reflections
    8. Carol Federlin Baldwin
    9. Gretchen
    10. Widdershins
    11. Susan Hornbach
    12. lindamartinandersen
    13. Dr Bob Rich
    14. Samantha
    15. mona861
    16. Brenda Madole
    17. lauraboffa
    18. sjdoherty1
    19. ajschildrensbooks
    20. Donna Earnhardt
    21. J.Q. Rose
    22. Cynthia
    23. Vijaya
    24. Janis Silverman
    25. Wendy Lane

    Therefore, Kathleen Burkinshaw and Michelle Karene won a free 1000 word manuscript critique. Congratulations! Kathleen and Michelle. Please send me your 1000 word manuscript to joanyedwards1@gmail.com. I will give you my “Blue Ribbon” critique. Along with points for improvement, it will contain 3 Blue Ribbon passages that I believe are your best writing.

    I’ve made a separate post announcing the winners. Please respond there.

    I hope you’ll visit my blog again soon and I hope you win next time.

    Celebrate you.
    Never Give Up
    Joan

    Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

