• Blog Stats

    • 485,072 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Happy New Year!


 

 

May 2015 be filled with wondrous things for you including great health, wealth, and a wonderful sense of well-being.

I’d like to tell you a little about me today. Giveaway: Free critique for one lucky commenter. Details below this article.

 

 

 

I love Tweety Bird! He makes me laugh.

I love Woody from Toy Story. He makes me laugh. I have a Woody doll and a guitar for him to play, too.

I love cartoons that make me laugh…Dennis the Menace, Zits, Charlie Brown & Snoopy. You can sign up free to receive comics on a daily basis: http://www.arcamax.com, and Web Donut cartoons by Gruhn: http://www.webdonuts.com/

I like it when I can laugh at my mistakes.

I’ve discovered that I need a lot of prayers for healing and general well-being. 2014 taught me that I am indeed human. That even with a positive attitude, people get sick and have to have things fixed in their bodies. At the same time, it is extremely important to keep positive thoughts permeating your whole being. I need extra Vitamin B complex (for my nerves), Vitamin D3(for sunshine), Fish Oil with Omega Fatty Acids(to keep out bad cholesterol and oil my body on the inside).  I am blessed with wonderful doctors, dentists, and surgeons. I appreciate your prayers and good wishes for me. I pray for all readers of my blog and for those who leave me comments. I truly want to help each of you to reach your goals and fulfill your dreams as I reach mine, too. So that we all get to the finish line of one of our dreams at the same time, and plan new places to go and new dreams to achieve.  Just remember to live, truly live and celebrate God, you, your family, your friends, your community, and those you meet during your lifetime.

After "Get Your Blog Going" workshop at 2014  SCWW  Conference

After “Get Your Blog Going” workshop at 2014 SCWW Conference

In October 2014, I presented three workshops, two on blogging and one on ways to revise your manuscript for the South Carolina Writers Workshop Conference in Myrtle Beach. Doing this fulfilled a dream of mine which was to be a paid presenter for a writers conference. Now, my new dream is to be the Keynote Speaker for a conference. According to Mike Hourigan, a keynote speaker may use humor, audience participation, show funny clips, or even sing. A keynote speaker’s job is to weave your main conference message into their program in a memorable and fun way. That’s what I’d like to do. It would be an honor and a privilege to do that for an organization.

7 Questions to Make Sure Your Plot Has Believable Consequences Copyright © 2014 Joan Y. Edwards

7 Questions to Make Sure Your Plot Has Believable Consequences
Copyright © 2014 Joan Y. Edwards

The busiest day of the year on my blog was September 30th with 960 views. The most popular post that day was 7 Questions to Make Sure Your Plot Has Believable Consequences. Wow! Thank you.

 

Joan Y. Edwards and Her Mother, Ethel Darnell Meyer

Joan Y. Edwards and Her Mother, Ethel Darnell Meyer

I am still working on editing Joan’s Elder Care Guide. The editor from 4RV Publishing wanted me to have more than the ten chapters I wrote at the beginning. So I now have 22 chapters. I’m working on finalizing them and the more than 60 handouts in the Appendix area (fill-in charts and information) and more than 450 references. It has taken me more than a year to make these changes and revisions. I believe it will be even more help for those who read it and make it more useful in making the lives of caregivers and elders across the world. It will be released in 2015. Please pray that I am able to complete this.

Pushed by my own Pub Subbers idea that it is extremely important to keep sending your work out, I submitted a manuscript at the end of September 2014. If I didn’t submit, I was going to have to give two critiques, instead of one, to my Pub Subbers group members who submitted manuscripts in September. Two weeks later, I received a contract from GMTA Publishing, Ravenswood Publishing Imprint to publish my chapter book  “Larry, the Terrifying Turkey.” If everything goes as planned, it will be released in 2015.

It’s based on a true experience I had when I was five-years old with my Mother’s pet turkey who flogged me. We’re still negotiating the contract, making changes good for both sides. But it’s great to have a contract in the works. There will be 3 books in this series. Here’s the pitch: Scarred by her mother’s pet turkey and taunted by her third grade classmates, Sara Brown searches for a way to get back at him. Will she face the turkey square in the gobbler or will her parents ground her until she is twenty-one when she wrecks her mother’s new car?

Flip Flap Floodle cover 300 res 300x420 pixelsThank you to everyone who bought a copy of Flip Flap Floodle since April 2004. When I self-published Flip Flap Floodle the color picture books were very expensive $16.95. Times were difficult. Many people couldn’t afford to pay that much. I wasn’t able to get out and market it as much because I was caring for my Mother. I never regretted that. Substitute caregivers enabled me to give presentations for schools and organizations. I was virtually unknown.

Amazon bought BookSurge. In 2010, they decided to use CreateSpace to do the printing of their books, not BookSurge. When they did that, they placed the price at $10.00 for the paperback copies of Flip Flap Floodle. I also created an eBook for Kindle and Nook. I’ve sold more than 400 copies. I’ve given away 300 copies as Dan Poynter, self-publishing guru  advised self-publishers to do to help spread the word about you and your book. Since I did the blog post, 7 Reasons Why Flip Flap Floodle Is a Good Picture Book to Read to Your Child, I’ve sold 5 copies. A special thank you to those 5 people. So there are more than 700 copies of Flip Flap Floodle roaming the world cheering children and adults to Never Give Up and reminding them to keep a song in their hearts. It’s only $9.00 now on Amazon…a one dollar savings. Flip Flap Floodle, a little duck whose song saves him from the belly of mean ole Mr. Fox Paperback, Kindle and Nook I hope to reach 1,000 books sold in 2015. If any of you have seen the American Pickers, they do what they call a bundle. So I’m dreaming up a bundle to combine buying Flip Flap Floodle and getting something else with it…an ebook on blogging or an ebook on characterization helps.

A friend of mine says that when she reads Flip Flap Floodle to children, they sit on the edges of their chairs listening and singing the song with her, waiting for the ending and hoping it’s going to turn out okay. Which it does! It has a very satisfying ending!

GIVEAWAY FREE CRITIQUE TO ONE LUCKY COMMENTER:

To thank God for being alive and well in 2015, I am offering a free critique of the first 1,000 words of a manuscript and story’s pitch summary to one lucky person who leaves a comment between now and Friday, January 9, 2015 at midnight. Random.org will choose the winner. I’ll announce the winner in a new post on Saturday, January 10, 2015.

 

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2015 Joan Y. Edwards
******************************
252 Subscribers (Thank you.)
Please subscribe to Joan’s Never Give Up blog by email from the left-hand column. You’ll receive new blog posts filled with inspiration and information in your inbox as soon as she uploads them. Thanks.
PLUS 2 FREE GIFTS:
Never Give Up image
12 Affirmations for Writers.

102 Subscribers to Comments (Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.)
Joan is lucky to have commenters like you who share great information. When you leave a comment, please consider subscribing to the comments by putting a check in the box below the comment box. Thanks.

******************************

25 Responses

  1. BACK AT YA! Karen  Karen Cioffi The Article Writing Doctor Your Content Marketing Prescription Content writing services and training

    Like

    • Dear Karen,
      Thank you for writing. It’s good to hear from you. I hope your New Year is filled with fun, good health, and love.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  2. Hi Joan, I’m a new writer and don’t really know were to begin I have written two books which I’ve not submitted to anywhere I’ve just got friends and family to read them and they loved them. I’m hoping 2015 will be my year to get my writing off to a running start x Happy New Year and I always love reading your posts. Sharon x x

    Like

    • Dear Sharon,
      Thank you very much for writing. It’s a joy to hear from you. Good luck with your writing. I’m proud of you for writing. See if you can join a writers critique group. Having other writers read your work will be very helpful. Read books on the craft of writing. “Wired for Story” is a good one. I’m glad you like my blog posts. I hope you have subscribed to my blog.
      Consider joining Pub Subbers to encourage you to get those manuscripts ready to submit to a publisher.

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  3. Joan,
    It’s great to hear more about you. It’s my pleasure to know you better and better. May all your goals be reached in 2015. And in an effort to add to that, I’m going to suggest another way to get you to laugh as you create books two and three featuring Larry, the Terrifying Turkey. Maybe you can include a section about a sheep. After all, 2015 is the year of the sheep. Just thought you’d enjoy thinking of some baaa-d jokes or puns. 😉

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. It’s good to hear from you. Thanks for enjoying hearing more about me. I appreciate your good wishes for all my goals to be reached in 2015. Hmm! Including a sheep in the Larry, the Terrifying Turkey series might be interesting. I’ve got book two written, “Larry, the Terrifying Turkey Tames Billy, the Bull.” A sheep could add fun to the mixture. Thanks for your ideas to think of baaa-d jokes or puns. Fun, fun, fun! Thanks.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  4. CONGRATULATIONS on your contract with GMTA Publishing, Ravenswood Publishing Imprint! That is awesome!

    Like

    • Dear Sandra,
      Thanks for writing. It’s so good to hear from you. Thanks for your congratulations for my contract with GMTA Publishing’s Ravenswood Publishing Imprint. You are right. It truly is awesome. It’s a fairly new publishing company. I am excited about it. It’ll be fun to see Larry, the Terrifying Turkey in print!

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  5. Joan, I wish you a preposterous new year.
    I need to warn you about all that laughter. It is dangerous. You may think you are standing on solid earth, but actually it’s a balloon, and if you jiggle too much, laughing at things like Tweety, you could puncture it. Where will we be then?

    🙂
    Bob

    Like

    • Dear Dr. Bob,
      Thanks for writing. It’s good to hear from you. Thanks for your wishes for me to have a wonderful New Year. I wish you an abundance of all that you want and need in 2015. BEing in a balloon that pops from jiggling so much from laughter would be fine. I’ll hang on and float down to earth or inflate a spare balloon. Laughter is healing. Thanks for reminding me I need to have Plan B!

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  6. Dear Joan,
    Thank you,Joan you are an inspiration to all of us.

    Like

    • Dear June,
      Thank you for writing. It is so good to hear from you. You are an inspiration to me, too.

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  7. Happy New Year, Joan! I hope that 2015 is even more amazing than 2014 for you, and pray for health and healing in the days and months ahead. You are such an inspiration, my friend!

    Like

    • Dear Becky,
      Thanks for writing. It is so good to hear from you. I appreciate your Happy New Year and good health and healing wishes for me. I pray that 2015 is one of good health and achieved writing goals for you!
      You inspire me with your enthusiasm and love of living.

      Celebrate you!
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  8. Thanks for the update Joan. I hope you are feeling better with this new year. Prayers to you for all of your new endeavors. I too love that little Tweety Bird. Congrats on presenting in the South Carolina Writer’s Conference. I know you can do anything you set your mind to. Joan’s Elder Care Guide sounds wonderful for those needing help. Warm wishes to you Joan. Happy Writing!

    Like

    • Dear Susan, Thank you for writing. It is great to hear from you. I hope your writing is going well. I am glad you like Tweety Bird, too. He makes me laugh. I have a soft Tweety Bird Pillow that Carl bought me, thank you for your prayers and good wishes for healing. Thanks for congratulating me on presenting at the SCWW conference. It was fun. I appreciate your saying that my elder care guide sounds wonderful for those who need it.
      I am glad you are a Pub Subber with me helping encourage writers to submit their manuscripts.

      Enjoy your writing. Do something fun.
      Never Give Up.
      Joan

      Like

  9. Dear Joan,

    Your post today is indeed timely for me personally. You see my digestive organs have turned on me. Even with my gall bladder gone since Dec. 5, they stubbornly refuse to settle down and simply operate . Ho-hum…
    They’re to be tested this Wed. and are in a fret over that! I did warn them you know. Thanks for the reminder that we’re all simply human with frailties. God bless you dear heart for caring! Long live Tweety Bird!

    Sincere regards,
    Sharon Full

    Like

    • Dear Sharon,
      Thank you for writing. I’m glad that my New Year’s post was timely for you. Sometimes we have h difficult time accepting things as they are. We keep saying, No, No, No. Accepting it as it is and believing that God is healing you will lead you to the right information to heal your body and your mind. There are Vitmain B complex vitamins and Acidolphus helps my stomach.Ask your health care professional. Love yourself. Say: I am healed. My body and soul are well. All is well with my body and my soul. There’s a song that gives me peace: “It Is Well with My Soul<" I change the words to "All is well with my body and my soul." http://www.godtube.com/watch/?v=FCM21CNU. I hope you’ll subscribe to my blog.

      Love Yourself.
      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  10. Joan, a BIG Congratulatory hug to you on the publishing contract for LARRY THE TERRIFYING TURKEY!!!!! I am so happy for you! You are very talented and so inspirational! I am so glad we met and became friends through SCBWI Carolinas! 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Kathleen,
      Thank you for writing. I appreciate your BIG Congratulations! It warmed my heart. Soon Larry the Terrifying Turkey will be making thousands of people laugh and laugh and laugh. Thanks for being happy for me. God is good to me. He gave me you as a friend.

      I love you..
      Love yourself for you do so much for so many
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Joan,
    You are so supportive of those around you and give lots of encouragement- something I will always remember. I’m excited for you about Flip Flap Floodle- I will most definitely purchase one. I can relate to your self-publishing experience, as I self-published my first picture book too. Good luck with your new venture!
    Lots of love,
    Jennifer

    Like

    • Dear Jennifer,
      Thank you for writing. I’m glad that I am able to support and encourage you and others. Each of us needs a little help once in a while. Thank you for saying you were going to buy Flip Flap Floodle. Flip learned that lesson, too. I look forward to our next SCBWI conference so I can see you again. You are delightful. If you let me know if you want your name or someone else’s name, I will do a Never Give Up logo gift and send it to you by email. Please let me know what you think of the book when you get it.: joanyedwards1@gmail.com

      Never Give Up
      Celebrate you now.
      Joan

      Like

  12. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you to the many people who commented on my Happy New Year post!

    1. Karen Cioffi
    2. Sharon Hope
    3. Linda Martin Andersen
    4. Sandra Warren
    5. Dr. Bob Rich
    6. June Phyllis Baker
    7. Becky Shillington
    8. Susan Hornbach
    9. Sharon Full
    10. Kathleen Burkinshaw
    11. Jennifer Larson

    I used Random.org. I asked it to choose a number between 1 and 11. It chose number 2. Therefore, Hip Hip Hooray! Sharon Hope won a free critique of 1000 words of a manuscript and its summary pitch. Sharon, please send it to me at joanyedwards1@gmail.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

    I have asked God to bless each of you in a special way today so that you know that He loves you and that you are important to our world.

    I will put this in a brand new post. I hope you will come back and read my blog again! Good luck with all of your writing endeavors.

    Celebrate you.
    Never Give Up
    Joan

    Like

  13. Congratulations to Sharon Hope. You’ll love your gift of a critique from Joan.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thank you for writing and congratulating Sharon. That was so sweet of you.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

