• Blog Stats

    • 468,180 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

How Will Your Main Character Get from Place to Place?


black-cars morguefile

How Will Your Main Character Get from Place to Place? http://www.morguefile.com

“How Will Your Main Character Get from Place to Place?” by Joan Y. Edwards

This is the third in the series with pictures to help you visualize your character and his personality better. 1 shoes, 2 houses, and today’s is transportation. All the pictures come from www.morgue.file.com

Will your main character ride a motorcycle? Or ride behind holding the driver around the waist?

file000336557343 motorcycle morguefile

Will he drive or be driven in a limousine to a grand opening of a big store, play, or movie or movie?file000575015145 limousine morguefile

 

Will she save the town’s oldest citizen in a fire truck?file000902155104 Fire truck morgue file

 

Will she drive or be transported in a special needs school bus?file2371283419067 bus morguefile

 

Will she deliver small parts in a truck? Can she change its tire?file4221296915901 truck morgue file

Would he drive or be driven in a convertible during a parade? Or across a sandy beach?

IMG_0941 morguefile.com

 

Would he be rich enough to prefer driving a Lamborghini Sports Car?lamborghini-red-car morguefile

 

Would he drive or be driven in a taxi cab?new-york-taxi morgue file

Would he skateboard to a friend’s house?

file8181245785200skateboard morguefile

Would she drive or be driven in a police car?

Would his travels in a jeep today remind him of war times long ago?

 

Would your main character fall asleep at the wheel of a tractor trailer container truck? Or would he own a whole fleet of them and schedule routes so that no driver gets too tired?

Container Truck www.morguefile.com

Tractor Trailer Container Truck
http://www.morguefile.com

Would your main character be an artist who decorates her small car with a big mouth? Or would she need a larger car so she won’t be claustrophobic?

Would your main character be delighted to go to work on a bicycle?

z2GVFWQQ bicyle morguefile

 

I hope that traveling through these pictures has given you an idea of a different way for your main character to get from place to place in your manuscript. Choose one that he’s comfortable with and then snatch it away and give him a mode of transportation he’d have trouble maneuvering to reach his goal.

THANK YOU. THANK YOU. THANK YOU.

I am very thankful for you, my readers. Some of you have been with me since 2009. Others joined me at other times. Sunday, November 16, 2014, I surpassed 180,000 views.  Since July, I’ve received 10,000 views a month. Thank you to God for giving me the guts and the words you need to hear and pictures you’d like to see to inspire you. I am blessed by you.

Today I am giving a special logo to the six people who  commented the most out of the last 1,000 comments out of 4, 573 total comments on my blog according to the WordPress statistics. Each logo says: “My Comments Add Value to Our World.” I emailed it to you. You should have received it by now. Read it out loud when you get it about yourself.

  • Linda Andersen           92 comments
  • Mona Pease                  28 comments
  • Janis Silverman           25 comments
  • Kathleen Burkinshaw 24 comments
  • Dr. Bob Rich                 24 comments
  • Sandra Warren             21 comments

Celebrate you.
Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2014 Joan Y. Edwards

Main Character Series with Pictures and Questions to Inspire Your Writing:

  1. What Shoes Would Your Main Character Wear?
  2. In What House Would Your Main Character Reside?
  3. How Will Your Main Character Get from Place to Place?
  4. What Will Your Main Character Drink?
  5. What Will Your Main Character Eat?

******************************
243 Subscribers (Thank you.)
Please subscribe to Joan’s Never Give Up blog by email from the left-hand column. You’ll receive new blog posts filled with inspiration and information in your inbox as soon as she uploads them. Thanks.
PLUS 2 FREE GIFTS:
Never Give Up image
12 Affirmations for Writers.

101 Subscribers to Comments (Thank you.)
Joan is lucky to have commenters like you who share great information. When you leave a comment, please consider subscribing to the comments by putting a check in the box below the comment box. Thanks.

*************************************

 

14 Responses

  1. Joan,

    I loved choosing between the different modes of transportation, but I didn’t anticipate the twist. After choosing just the right transportation, it is snatched away. Oh my! Definitely adds tension. I see me stepping out the door of my house to drive my car, the one with the smile, only to find a tractor trailer sitting there instead and Scotty’s pickup truck is being repaired. What will I do?

    Thanks for the logo. It’s terrific and reminds me that my comments are valuable. Appreciate the gift!

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      I’m glad you loved choosing between the different modes of transportation! I’m glad that my twist at the end added tension and then you found yourself with a tractor trailer to drive instead of a pickup truck! Now there’s a challenge! Fun, fun, fun!

      You’re welcome for the logo. I’m glad you think it’s terrific and reminds you that your comments are valuable. That was my hope.

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  2. My main character uses cross country skis, snow shoes, hiking boots and downhill skis. She occasionally uses a car. I try an only put the trip in if something exciting happens on the journey. Thanks for all the ideas.

    Like

    • Dear Kristina,
      Thanks for writing. How awesome that your main character uses cross country skis, snow shoes, hiking boots and downhill skis. You are wise and a talented writer to remember not to put the journey unless it is significant to the story! You’re welcome for the ideas. It helped me brainstorm for my characters, too.

      Celebrate today.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Since I write fantasy, cars, trucks, anything motor-powered is out. My characters sail or occasionally travel by coach when they are in formal gowns, but the usual mode are horses, special breeds with their own magical abilities of course.

    Like

    • Dear Helen,
      Thanks for writing. Aha, fantasy modes of transportation would include coach and horseback. A few dinosaurs or magical cars like in back to the future might be suitable. Seems you’ve got your characters mode of transportation picked out for them. You are very creative. Have fun with your writing.

      Celebrate You
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  4. Thank you for the special logo. Ooohhhh, what if?????? my Subaru that is just the right size for hauling my kayak, turned into a skateboard hauling a trailer!!! Picture this….oh never mind, I’m on the ground already!!! What fun, Joan, thank.

    Like

  5. Dear Mona,
    Thank you for writing. You are welcome for the logo made special to recognize you for making a valuable addition to my blog. I loved imagining you with your Subaru packed with your Kayak, when all of a sudden your Subaru turned into a skateboard strong enough to haul a trailer. Now that’s one fantastic skateboard. What an adventure!

    Love, Joan

    Like

  6. Joan, It made me so happy to see how you value your readers and commenters 🙂 Again, transportation -what a great way to mold your character–if they were claustrophobic –what if they had to rent a car but only a compact one left–you sparked some really clever character building exercises! Thank you 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Kathleen,
      Thank you for writing. I’m glad you rolled over to see this post about transportation. Without you and the others who read my blog and leave comments, I would have no reason to blog. You give me purpose and focus. I get excited when I see that someone left a comment on my blog. I get excited when I see that someone read my blog post. You bring me joy. Thank you.

      I like the idea of a person who is claustrophobic renting a car but only a compact one is left. Thanks for the compliment saying that I sparked some really clever character building exercises! They were fun to create, too. It’s great that http://www.morguefile.com lets people use their pictures freely. What a wonderful gift!

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Liked by 1 person

  7. What thoughtful gift for your “constant commenters”. Delightful pictures and article. Wishing you continued success!

    Like

    • Dear J. Q. Rose,
      Thank you for writing. Thanks for the compliment about my gift for my constant commenters being thoughtful. I’m glad you thought the pictures and article were delightful. I had fun writing it and collecting the pictures. I hope you’ll come back and read more of my posts. I enjoyed hearing from you. I wish you success in all of your endeavors.

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  8. such a fun blog, Joan. Love the pictures. I have actually thought about this a bit…My white character goes for a joy ride in a 1940’s sedan. And my black character’s father drives a ambulance/hearse–they doubled for both in the 50’s. Going to go check out the houses blog!

    Like

    • Dear Carol,
      Thanks for writing. What cool means of transportation made to order to fit with the characters and personalities in the time and setting for each. Awesome! I’m glad the post was fun for you. It was fun for me, too.

      Good luck with your writing.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

