When You Reach One Dream, Set a New One!


” When You Reach One Dream, Set a New One!” by Joan Y. Edwards

Image Copyright © 2014 Joan Y. Edwards

Image Copyright © 2014 Joan Y. Edwards

I had a very exciting weekend at the SCWW Conference in Myrtle Beach, SC. I reached a goal I set about 5 years ago to be asked to be a paid presenter at a writing conference! Linda Cookingham, conference chair for this year’s conference, invited me in March 2014 to be a paid presenter from Dr. Bob Rich’s recommendation. Thank you, Dr. Bob and Linda.

This past weekend, I achieved my dream. I gave three workshops during the SCWW conference:

  1. “Get Your Blog Going and Make It Stand Out.” Thank you to the 12-19 people who came.
After "Get Your Blog Going" workshop at 2014 SCWW Conference

After “Get Your Blog Going” workshop at 2014 SCWW Conference

Dot Hochstrasser honored me by purchasing a copy of Flip Flap Floodle and the Silent Auction critique and books. Thank you, Dot.

Dot Hochstrasser honored me by attending the Get Your Blog Going Workshop, purchasing a copy of Flip Flap Floodle and the Silent Auction critique and books. Thank you, Dot.

  1. “33 Ways to Correct, Trim, and Enhance Your Manuscript.” Thank you to the two people who came.
  2. “Add Pizzazz to Your Blog.” Thank you to the 17 people who came.

Half of participants at "Add Pizzazz to Your Blog" workshop at 2014 SCWW Conference.

Half of participants at “Add Pizzazz to Your Blog” workshop at 2014 SCWW Conference. Thank you for participating.

Regina Smeltzer and Joan Y. Edwards after "Add Pizzazz to Your Blog" workshop!

Regina Smeltzer and Joan Y. Edwards after “Add Pizzazz to Your Blog” workshop! Thank you, Regina, for being there for me.”

Barbara Lunow and Anne Hicks Kaylor at supper on Saturday night. We had fun. Thank you for sitting with me.

Barbara Lunow and Anne Hicks Kaylor at supper on Saturday night. We had fun. Thank you for sitting with me, Barbara and Anne..

 

Now that I achieved this dream, I am setting my sight on a new one:
My new dream is to be a paid keynote speaker for a conference to inspire and motivate people to believe in themselves and their dreams!

It’s important when you reach one dream to set a new one. It gives you a reason to live. Something to look forward to. Please share a dream you reached. Did you set another goal when you reached it? What is one of your present goals? I would love to hear all about it.

When you finish one project, set up a new one.
When you retire, set up a new goal to help others.
When you learn how to bat a ball, learn how to improve another skill in baseball.
When you learn how to create good characters, set a goal to improve a different writing skill.
Celebrate each step you take.
Celebrate each new thing you learn.
Celebrate when you have a plan to keep unpleasant things from happening again.
Celebrate when you have a plan that works to keep you rejuvenated and full of life.
Believe in You!

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2014 Joan Y. Edwards

******************************

240 Subscribers (Thank you.)

Please subscribe to Joan’s Never Give Up blog by email from the left-hand column. You’ll receive new blog posts filled with inspiration and information in your inbox as soon as she uploads them.

PLUS 2 FREE GIFTS:
Never Give Up image
12 Affirmations for Writers.

 *************************************

 

22 Responses

  1. Congrats on your accomplishment Joan!

    Like

    • Dear Erin,
      Thank you. I appreciate that you are on the journey with me. I wouldn’t have been able to do it without you and my other readers.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  2. Congratulations on fulfilling a dream,my dear friend. I can already imagine you on that keynote speaker platform. You will wow and entertain, motivate and encourage. Keep dreaming and achieving!

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thank you for writing and congratulating me on fulfilling one of my dreams. Thank you for envisioning me at a keynote speaker platform entertaining and motivating and encouraging the audience. You are such a good friend to dream along with me. Thank you.

      Celebrate you.
      Dream big dreams.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  3. Congratulations, Joan!

    Like

    • Dear Mona, Thank you for writing and for your congratulations. You are a good friend to cheer me on.

      Celebrate you.
      Dream big dreams.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  4. Joan, how great it feels to reach a longtime goal. And your faculty introd. at the conf. mentioned your natural encouragements to the chairperson. A motivational speaker, yes, I can see that in future. Why not, you are always postive in your responses to me and to us in Savvywordsmiths! How many times have I heard and read “Never give up?” That’s you.

    Like

    • Dear Barbara,
      Thank you for writing and encouraging me to go for my new dream, that I’ve got the qualities, that I just need the opportunity to show up. I appreciate your vote of confidence in me. You are a good friend.

      Celebrate you.
      Dream big dreams.
      Never Give UP
      Joan

      Like

  5. How wonderful Joan! I wish I had been there to hear your presentations and support you. You have so much to offer.

    Like

    • Dear Gretchen,
      Thank you for writing to give me support and confidence. I wish you had been there, too. You are always very encouraging and helping me realize how much my information helps you. Thank you for being a good friend. Perhaps you can come to the next conference workshop or another workshop I give. It is always a pleasure to see you in person.

      Celebrate you.
      Dream big dreams.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  6. Joan, Congratulations on one of your dreams coming true! You are so encouraging to us about our dreams, I so enjoy celebrating yours!! I am sure the SCWW participants learned so much from you!!

    Like

    • Dear Kathleen,
      Thank you for writing and congratulating me on one of my dreams coming true. Thank you for celebrating with me. That is so much fun having you here with me cheering me on. Thanks for saying you’re sure that the SCWW participants learned a bunch from me. You are so sweet! Those I talked to did say they learned information they would be able to use. That was great.

      Celebrate you.
      Dream big dreams
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  7. Joan – CONGRATULATIONS! I’m happy to know you. You are so deserving of this accomplishment, and I know that you’ll accomplish the other – it’s a given!!
    Sorry I was not there to enjoy participating in your workshop.
    Love you!
    xoxo

    Like

    • Dear Claire,
      Thank you for writing and congratulating me for reaching one dream and setting a goal to reach another one. You have helped me all along the way! You were there with me in spirit, I know. Thank you for that. I hope I get to see you, soon.

      Love,
      Celebrate you now.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  8. Congratulations, Joan! Celebrate and Dream on, my friend! 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Ann,
      Thanks for writing and congratulating me. You are so sweet. Dream on with me!

      Have a fun day.
      Celebrate you right now.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  9. So happy for you! 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Jennifer,
      Thank you for writing! It is a wonderful having you by my side feeling happy for me.
      How are things going for your book, “Lost Soles?”

      Celebrate you right now.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  10. Joan ~ After attending both of your blogging sessions at SCWW conference last month (your clock person), I’ve got my new blog up and running and I’m getting subscribers and likes after only two posts! Thank you for sharing your insights with us. 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Julie,
      Thank you for writing. Thank you for attending both of my blogging sessions at the SCWW conference. I’m glad that you were able to use my handouts and information and begin your blogging journey. You have a great sense of humor. People will come by the dozens. People gravitate to humor.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

      • Thank you! I enjoy making people laugh.

        Like

        • You’re welcome. Enjoy being your sweet self!

          Never Give Up
          Joan

          Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

