Submit the Very Best Quality Manuscript You Can, But Submit


Pub Sub

“Submit the Best Quality Manuscript You Can, But Submit” by Joan Y. Edwards

I know. You are wondering when is the best time to submit your manuscript. You want to submit this month.

You’ve gone through 7 revisions. Your critique group/partner has critiqued it. You’ve made more revisions. Is your manuscript ready?

If you can say, the following words in all honesty, submit your manuscript:

“This is the best I can do with this manuscript with the knowledge and skills I have right now,”

If not, do what you know needs to be done. Then submit it.

Have you lost your passion for your story?

Have one of your main characters write a letter to you, the author, telling why he wants you to finish the story. Let him tell you what he believes the story needs. The character can ask you questions, too.

Cover these areas in the letter from a character in your manuscript:

1. Story Concept: Logline: Short selling pitch of one or two sentences
2. Short Selling Pitch Summary: 25-60 words
3. Plot

  • Ordinary Day
  • Inciting incident with new goal to solve a really big problem
  • First failure
  • Second failure
  • Third failure
  • Fight
  • Win/Lose
  • What’s it like on the new ordinary day

4. Characters

  • Tell what he wants to do, what he wants to happen
  • Does he want to add new characters?
  • Does he want to take out characters that don’t help or hinder the reaching of the goal.

5. Is the formatting, grammar, punctuation, and sentence structure good?

Now write the character back answering his questions and tell him when you will have the manuscript ready to submit. Do your best to keep your word.

Take a chance on you.
Believe in you.
Submit that manuscript.

If you get your manuscript to the quality/best you can do stage, then you are ready to start Week 1 of Pub Subbers. Do all the Steps for Week 1, Week 2, and Week 3. They take you to getting your manuscript submitted.

Learn more about Pub Subbers: https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/pubsubbers/

Has using the Pub Subbers plan helped you?

Please let me know.

Celebrate you.
Write. Write. Write.
Never Give Up

Copyright © 2013 Joan Y. Edwards

**********

157 Subscribers

Sign up for an email subscription from the left-hand column for a free Never Give Up logo image. When I reach 200 subscribers, I’ll give a free MP3 recording of positive affirmation statements to all who subscribe to my blog.

17 Responses

  1. Joan, I love your idea about having your character write you a letter about what he/she thinks about where the story should go. I am trying to work on a new manuscript idea and I will use this to help me organize some ideas for my plot and subplots. Thank you!

    Like

    • Dear Kathleen,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you like my idea of having your character write you a letter. I’m going to try it myself. I did it a long time ago for one manuscript. Thought it was time to do it again with another manuscript. Let me know how it works for you.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  2. It helps me to have another person read my work. Problem is, it has to be someone in or related to the writing business. If I didn’t have a critique group, I’d pay an editor before sending it in.

    Like

    • I’m assuming that you’ve done all that before it’s at its best…I’ll add that to my blog post. I didn’t mean to insinuate to submit it without getting feedback from others. Although, I am sure many have. Paying someone to edit a manuscript is a great idea.

      Celebrate.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

      • Oh, I’m sorry. See what I mean, I should have had someone read that before I pushed ‘post comment’. Joan, you write great blog articles and help tons of people every week and I thank you.

        Like

        • Dear Sharon,
          Thank you for writing. You made a valid point. It’s okay. What you wrote was a good point. Don’t feel badly about what you wrote. It’s hard to communicate what is going through our minds at 1000 revolutions per minute. You are one OK fine person. You are one of the people who has followed my blog since 2009. You are good. It was good that you wrote what you did. I was able to make my blog have a clearer meaning because of your input.

          Celebrate you.
          You have great ideas.
          Thanks for sharing them with me.

          Never Give Up
          Joan Y. Edwards

          Like

          • Dear Sharon,
            Isn’t it great when we continue talking so we can understand what we are both saying? I believe what you were saying was if you didn’t feel right about submitting at this time, you would probably send it to someone else for their opinion. You are right on target. A great suggestion.
            Celebrate you
            Be of light heart.
            Never Give Up
            Joan Y. Edwards

            Like

  3. Thanks, Joan. Will share this on my writing wiki!

    Like

    • Dear Carol,
      Thank for writing. I’m glad you like my post enough to share on your writing wiki. How do people get to your writing wiki?

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  4. Yeah! This is an idea I can use and I think will work for my WIP! Yeah!

    Like

    • Dear Joy,
      Thanks for writing. I am so glad that you believe this idea will work for your work in progress. Let me know how it goes.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  5. Joan,
    How creative to have a character from the manuscript help edit the author’s story.

    Pub Sub all the way!

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you liked the idea of having a character from the manuscript help edit the author’s story. You are so sweet to keep following my blog since 2009. Thank you.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

      • Joan,
        I am thankful for all the research and tips you pass along! It’s a blessing to know you and your blog.

        Like

        • Dear Linda,
          Thanks a bunch for writing. I am honored. You and all my readers and commenters are blessings to me, too.

          Like

  6. Thanks, Joan. I submitted the lyrics for two songs to my critique groups, plus having them sung at a singer/songwriter workshop my husband I went to at the end of October. Hope that counts. Good luck to all of us struggling writers. Sarah

    Like

    • Dear Sarah,
      Thanks for writing. I am glad that you submitted lyrics for two songs to your critique groups. How wonderful that they sung them at the singer-songwriter workshop you and your hubby attended. What a great tribute to you and your talent.

      Thanks for the good luck message to all writers who struggle.

      Celebrate you and your creativity.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

