• Blog Stats

    • 462,586 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Register Now – Free Muse Online Writers Conference, Oct 7-13, 2013


“Register Now – Free Muse Online Writers Conference, Oct. 7-13, 2013” by Joan Y. Edwards

Free Muse Online Writers Conference Deadline for registration: Tuesday, October 1, 2013. Register now.

October 7-13, 2013: For writers of all genres. Pitch Sessions with Publishers and Agents. Oodles of workshops. Last year there were over 50 to choose from. I’ll present 3 workshops this year. Each has a chat session to accompany it. Registration details follow the workshop descriptions.

Please let me know if you registered so I can look forward to seeing you there.

Workshop 1 – 33 Ways to Correct, Trim and Enhance Your Manuscript 

This workshop explains the 7 items below plus 26 other ideas to make your manuscript shine.

  1. Replace telling words with vivid words that show emotions and the action responses.
  2. Cut words that do not carry the plot, character, and/or emotional theme forward.
  3. Make certain that every word in your backstory is crucial information.
  4. Delete or replace over-used words.
  5. Get rid of passive voice.
  6. Cut the adverbs.
  7. Use the word “said” in dialogue tags.

Workshop 2 – Be a Pub Subber – Submit Your Manuscript

Step-by-Step plan to submit your manuscript(s) on a regular basis.

Week 1 Find 3 possible publishers, agents, or contests for your manuscript.

Week 2 Write pitch, query letter, cover letter, proposal, resume, and or biography

Week 3 Revise, print, proof and submit per guidelines

Week 4 Live, study, read, write, celebrate, improve your writing “mojo”

Workshop 3 – How to Write a Pitch That Sells 

Share your present pitch. What is a pitch? How many words should a pitch be? Why does a writer need a pitch for his book? Study pitches of the pros. Write a pitch for a favorite book. There are exercises to get you going. Create an effective pitch for your story that no editor, agent, or reader will be able to turn down.

I’d love to have you join me and the other presenters and participants at the Muse Online Writers Conference, October 7-13:

Here’s the link with the schedule and names of people doing pitches and directions to ask to pitch:

http://themuseonlinewritersconference.com/muse_front/index.php/2013presentations

2 STEP Registration details follow:

  1. First, you register for the forum: Register as a member of MUSE forum. Make note of the user name and password you choose.
  2. Now log in on this same page. Answer the poll with Register me for the 2013 Muse Online Writers Conference:   Then you’ll be registered for the 2013 Conference.

PLEASE DOUBLE CHECK to make sure you’re registered for the 2013 conference: The screen should look like this (4 notes):

 

Copyright  2013 Muse Online Writer's Conference

Copyright 2013 Muse Online Writer’s Conference

CLICK THE LINK BELOW: After you log in, If you can see a message from me in the conference, you are duly registered.  http://themuseonlinewritersconference.com/forum_new/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6

If you have any trouble, email me at the email address in the left hand column and I’ll help you or forward your letter to someone who can help.

19 Responses

  1. Joan,
    I just registered. I’m looking forward to it. I’ll see you there.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you got registered. I look forward to seeing you there.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. Thank you very much for letting me know about this. I just joined!

    Like

    • Dear Joy,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you got signed up. I look forward to seeing you there.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  3. I had to reregister this year. It’s a great conference, and free! Thanks Joan for being here.

    Like

    • Dear Mona,
      I’m glad you got registered. I look forward to seeing you there.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  4. Hi Joan,
    This sounds interesting. If one registers, what are the hours for each day.

    Like

    • Dear Tracy,
      Thanks for writing. The only things that have a certain time are the chat sessions and if you sign up for a pitch with a publisher or agent. . The information is put out there in the forums each day. You can take it and respond…do the lessons, or you can print them out or use the handouts on the go.

      The workshops are in forum format: Instructor posts a lesson email; you respond.

      Does this help?

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

      • Yes, thanks Joan. 🙂

        Like

        • Dear Tracy,
          Thanks for writing. I’m glad my info helped you. I hope to see you there.

          Never Give Up
          Joan Y. Edwards

          Like

          • I’m registered. See you there. 🙂

            Like

  5. Excellent site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find excellent writing like yours these days. I really appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

    Like

    • Dear Jerold,
      Thank you for writing. I appreciate your compliment. I hope you find information to help you.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  6. Dear Tracy,
    I am glad you got registered for both the forum and the conference. I look forward to seeing you there.

    Like

    • Hi Joan,
      When you have time, can you email me as I have some questions about the conference? Thanks 🙂

      Like

      • I will be glad to do that.

        Never Give Up
        Joan

        Like

  7. […] Register Now – Free Muse Online Writers Conference, Oct 7-13, 2013 (joanyedwards.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  8. Its not my first time to pay a visit this website, i am browsing this web page dailly and obtain pleasant facts from here daily.

    Like

    • Dear Haley,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad that you find pleasant facts from my blog daily. I hope you will continue to find information you like on my blog.

      Celebrate you and your thirst for knowledge
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

