• Blog Stats

    • 485,606 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Blog Tour


Joan Y. Edwards and Her Mother, Ethel Darnell Meyer

Joan Y. Edwards and Her Mother, Ethel Darnell Meyer

Joan and Carl Edwards wearing hats

Copyright © 2013 Joan Y. Edwards
Joan and Her Husband, Carl Edwards

Thank you, Eyvonna Rains for asking me to take part in this Blog Tour. In her Blog Tour post, she shares a few of the wonderful illustrations for her new book, Breakfast Is for the Birdshttp://countrymisadventures.wordpress.com/2013/09/16/books-and-blog-tours/

I love to write. I write for children, young adults, and for adults. I love to learn. I love to teach. I love to incorporate humor in my writing. Laughter is healing. Here are three things you may or may not know about me and my writing:

  1. At present, I am working on revisions for Joan’s Elder Care Guide. I’m happy to say that 4RV Publishing moved the release date to June, 2014. Now it will be 2015 before it is released. Any month is a great month to launch a new book.

Joan’s Elder Care Guide is a resource for caregivers packed with practical day-to-day survival tips from fourteen years of taking care of my mother and helping my husband with two health problems. The guide has charts to assess an elder’s skills and abilities necessary for daily living. It gives questions to ask before making the commitment to care for your elder at home. It shows ways to decide if a certain elder living facility is the right place for your elder. It has resources to help make things go smoother to meet the needs of both the elder and the caregiver.

****************************************

My Family Loves Flip Flap Floodle, Your Family Will Love It, Too

My Family Loves Flip Flap Floodle, Your Family Will Love It, Too

  1. In 2004 I wrote, illustrated, and self-published the picture book, Flip Flap Floodle, the happy little duck who won’t give up: http://www.amazon.com/Flip-Flap-Floodle-Joan-Edwards/dp/1594572852/. When I read it to a group of children or adults, It amazes me how Flip keeps their attention. They love the repetition of his song and sing along with me. When he’s afraid, they’re afraid. When he’s proud, they’re proud. My family loves Flip Flap Floodle, I believe that your family will love it, too. Flip Flap Floodle keeps on playing his song even when he finds himself in the belly of Mr. Fox. I’ve seen that this little duck encourage people of all ages to face their problems with courage and determination,

Jane Henderson stated in the St. Louis Post-Dispatch on August 16, 2013: http://www.stltoday.com/entertainment/books-and-literature/book-blog/how-many-books-do-self-published-authors-sell/article_4fafc45a-e7a3-11e1-a95e-0019bb30f31a.htm that most self-published books only sell from 100-150 copies. If that is true, Flip Flap Floodle is a success. I personally sold 264 copies of it and about 36 online for a total of 300. I have 13 Five Star Reviews on Amazon. Thank you to all the people who bought Flip Flap Floodle. Thank you to everyone who took the time to write a review for me.

Dan Poynter, self-publishing guru suggested that self-publishers give away at least 200 books. He said it would help virtually unknown people and books win over the hearts of readers. So I did that. David Laughrun tells Why Giving Away Thousands Of Free Books Is A Good Thing in his blog.

In 2011, I mentioned to a motel manager at our family reunion that I was the author of Flip Flap Floodle.  He said, “Flip Flap Floodle.” I’ve heard that book. My daughters read it to me. It’s a great book. That day I felt ten feet tall. He bought a copy of it! Hip Hip Hooray! Then I felt twenty feet tall.

****************************************

  1. A new picture book I’m working on right now is: Porky Wins the Race. Here’s the pitch: Porky hates racing, but agrees to enter a race to help save Farmer Dell’s farm. He doesn’t realize that each contestant must take a bath. will Farmer Dell have to sell or can bubbles entice Porky to pull Farmer Dell passed the finish line to win $10,000 to save the farm?

Thank you for reading my blog. I appreciate you very much. You are a gift to me. Thank you for sharing your time with me.

****************************************

Please continue this Blog Tour with the following three creative and talented young adult and/or children’s authors. You will learn fascinating things about them and what they write. Enjoy!

1. Sandra Warren http://sandrawarrenwrites.blogspot.com/2013/09/blog-tour-next-stop-grateful-writer.html
2. Gretchen Griffith http://www.gretchengriffith.blogspot.com/2013/09/blog-tour-interview.html
3. Megan Vance http://www.inchristalone-byhismercy.blogspot.com/2013/09/9302013-blog-tour.html

Over 69,480 Reads

The big celebration comes when we reach 70,000 views. It may be during the next 3-4 days. I will give away three free critiques, a free copy of Flip Flap Floodle, and free copy of a writing craft book, too. Come back so you can leave a comment on the celebration blog to put your name in the hat.

152 subscribers

Sign up for an email subscription from the left-hand column for a free Never Give Up logo image. When I reach 200 subscribers, I’ll give a free MP3 recording of positive affirmation statements to all who subscribe to my blog.

Thank you for being here.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2013 Joan Y. Edwards

 

18 Responses

  1. Joan,
    Congratulations on being invited to join the blog tour and talk about your writing. It’s great to hear that you surpassed the predicted number of sales for self-published books and you continue to sell copies of Flip Flap Floodle. It is a fun book to read and to have kids join in on singing. I believe that Interactive readings are the best. I enjoyed hearing about one of your works in progress and more about your elder care guide soon to be published. I wish you much continued success in all you undertake, including your blogging.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. I appreciate your congratulations on my being invited to join the Blog Tour to talk about my writing. It is indeed great that Flip Flap Floodle continues to sell. It makes my heart sing when people like you tell me they read Flip Flap Floodle to groups and receive the same fun and attentive response as I do with the book.

      Thanks for wishing me good luck with my work, including my elder care guide and this blog. It is a fun blog to write because sweet people like you interact with me. Thanks.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards.

      Like

  2. Joan,
    You are an inspiration.
    Thank you.
    Mona

    Like

    • Dear Mona,
      Thank you for writing. It is so good to hear from you. Oh my goodness. What a sweet compliment you gave me! Saying I am an inspiration is the greatest compliment!
      May you see all the favors God has for you!
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  3. Joan, your elder care book sounds like a resource many families will use as they deal with long term situations facing them. Porky’s race is a far different genre! I know you are having fun with it. Thanks for giving us a look into your personal writing journey.

    Like

    • Dear Gretchen,
      Thanks for writing. I appreciate your compliment saying you believe that my elder care book sounds like a resource many families will use as they deal with long term care situations facing them. Porky’s race is a fun story. He makes me laugh. I put things in my elder care guide to help people laugh, too. Laughter helps heal the body, mind, and emotions!

      Thanks for joining the Blog Tour with me.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  4. Joan, I agree, your book sounds like a useful tool for those dealing with elderly family members. My sister and I cared for my quadriplegic mother and then our father who had Alzheimer’s, so I know the importance of caregivers and what they go through.

    Like

    • Dear Karen,
      Thanks for writing. I am so proud of you and your sister. What love, courage, and determination you showed by taking care of your mother and your dad! You definitely know the importance of caregivers and what they go through.

      I hope that you and your sister celebrate yourselves and the gift you gave them.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  5. Joan,
    Yeah for you! Your book sounds wonderful and congrats for being invited on the tour. Thank you also for inviting me.
    Love,
    Megan

    Like

    • Dear Megan,
      Thank you for writing. Thanks for saying my book sounds wonderful. I appreciate your congratulations for being invited to participate in the Blog Tour. It was my pleasure to invite you.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  6. Joan – How wonderful that your elder care book will be published in June, 2014 – not surprising that June is your lucky month. I greatly enjoyed your blog tour (congratulations on that) and especially loved your family photos. Not surprising that you shared those either – as you are one of the most giving persons I know.

    Like

    • Dear Claire,
      Thanks for writing. Thanks for being excited that my elder care guide will be published in June, 2013. I am glad you enjoyed my family pictures. Thank you for saying I am the one of the most giving persons you know. Whenever I give, the world gives good things back to me in return.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  7. Congrats, Joan, another milestone for your writing!! 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Roxie,
      Thank you very much for writing. I appreciate your congratulations on another milestone for my writing! I am very proud of your new publishing company, Sunscribe. May Success lead you all the way.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  8. […] Joan Edwards […]

    Like

    • Dear Eyvonna,
      Thanks for placing a link to my blog!

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  9. […] organized a blog tour that I participated in as well. (Here is Gretchen’s post from the Joan’s blog tour.) In the November/December Issue of Talking Story Carol Baldwin and Joyce Hostetter feature […]

    Like

    • Dear Gretchen,
      Thanks for mentioning me in your guest post on Learn Like a Mom. I appreciate your joining the blog tour!
      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

