• Blog Stats

    • 467,855 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

22 Literary Agents Who Are Looking for You


Image Copyright © 2013 Joan Y. Edwards

Image Copyright © 2013-2017 Joan Y. Edwards

“22 Literary Agents Who Are Looking for You” by Joan Y. Edwards

I am not a publisher or an agent. I am a writer. It’s frustrating when you find a publisher you like and in their guidelines they state:

“We are no longer accepting unsolicited manuscripts. We only accept from an agent.”

Horror of all horrors. That’s not what we writers or illustrators want to read or hear.

After I wrote my first wrote a blog about publishers who accept unsolicited manuscripts 32 Publishers Who Accept Unsolicited Manuscripts, I thought I would research agents. Oh my goodness. I thought finding the publishers for my list was difficult. Finding agents that accept unsolicited queries or manuscripts was a big task.

Remember that many agents will accept your query (a letter explaining your project and asking if they are interested in seeing your manuscript) but not a manuscript unless they ask for it.

I hereby give my personal thanks to all publishers and agents who accept unsolicited queries and manuscripts from writers. Hurray for you. May God bless you with many best-selling books.

When I checked the websites of the literary agencies listed below, they stated in the guidelines that they were accepting submissions. If you know others who are accepting unsolicited submissions, let me know.  If you get accepted by one of these, I’d like to know that, too. If you know of a reason why writers should use them, please let me know.

Read the guidelines carefully to make sure they are still accepting unsolicited submissions – queries and manuscripts. Check out your prospective agent on these lists:

Follow the guidelines.

Follow the guidelines.

Follow the guidelines.

Updated these January 3, 2017. I took off one and added one. I updated several agency sites. Please let me know any links that do not work or agencies that are not accepting new clients.

 

Agent for Authors Who Are Already Published – Adult 

1. Dystel, Goderich & Bourret, LLC  Submission FAQs and Guidelines

Agents for Screenplay Writers (one accepts books, too)

  1. Cedar Grove Agency Entertainment
    http://www.angelfire.com/movies/cedargrove/writers.html
    Email: cedargroveagency@msn.com
  2. Evatopia Entertainment Screenwriters http://evatopiaentertainment.com/submissions. Specializes in movie scripts, but also actively seeking: juvenile literature _ middle grade, YA and some nonfiction (mostly biographies).Release agreement – Good to read it. http://evatopiaentertainment.com/release-agreement
  3. Gallagher Literary They use a submission form. http://www.gallagherliterary.com/pitch.html

Agents for Adults Only

  1. Daniel Literary Group accepts non-fiction for adults only. http://danielliterarygroup.com/Submissions_Guidelines.html
  2. Irene Goodman Literary Agency http://www.irenegoodman.com/submission.php This agency is always looking for the finest in commercial and literary fiction and non-fiction, including mysteries, romance, women’s fiction, thrillers, and suspense. Some agents represent young adult. They do not represent poetry, inspirational fiction, screenplays, or children’s picture books.

Adult and Children’s Books

  1. Books and Such Literary Agency. “Submissions:” http://www.booksandsuch.biz/submissions/
  2. Curtis Brown LTD, Adult and Children’s books http://www.curtisbrown.com/submissions.php
  3. Donald Maass Literary Agency. “Submissions:” http://maassagency.com/submissions/
  4. Ethan Ellenberg Literary Agency. “Submission Guidelines:” http://ethanellenberg.com/submission-guidelines/
  5. Greenburger Associates Check each agent for what they want and the agent’s email for submissions. http://greenburger.com/submissions/
  6. The Knight Agency The Knight Agency .
  7. Martin Literary Management http://www.martinlit.com/#!submission-policy/c2052. One agent accepts only adult non-fiction. The other agent accepts children’s books fiction and non-fiction.
  8. McIntosh and Otis, Inc. “Submissions:” http://mcintoshandotis.com/submissions/ 
  9. Writers House Adult and Children’s Books. Check submission guidelines: http://www.writershouse.com/submissions/

Literary Agents for Children’s Books Only

  1. Adams Literary Agency. “Submit Now:” http://www.adamsliterary.com/submissions/ 
  2. Andrea Brown Literary Agency. “How to Submit:” http://www.andreabrownlit.com/how-to-submit.html
  3. Folio Literary Management. “Staff:”  How to Submit – FictionHow to Submit – Non-Fiction
  4. Sheldon Fogelman Agency. “Submissions:” http://www.sheldonfogelmanagency.com/submissions.htm
  5. Stimola Literary Studio, Inc. “Submission Guidelines:” http://stimolaliterarystudio.com/submission-guidelines/
  6. Trident Media Group. “Submissions/Contact Us:” http://www.tridentmediagroup.com/contact-us
  7. Wernick & Pratt Agency. “Submissions Policy:” http://www.wernickpratt.com/submissions-policy/

Lists of Agents Are Below

If you check the lists below, you may find other agents that meet your personal needs.

Lists of Agents for all books

Lists for Screenwriters

 Lists for Agents for Children’s Books

Lists of Agents for Adult Books

How to Find an Agent

Ginny Wiehardt. About.com. “Research Agents:” http://fictionwriting.about.com/od/thebusinessofwriting/tp/researchagents.htm

Joan Y. Edwards. “Take These Steps before You Sign with an Agent:” https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2015/07/28/take-these-steps-before-you-sign-with-an-agent/ 

******************************

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Please join 373 Subscribers as of January 3, 2017. When you subscribe you’ll receive new blog posts filled with inspiration and information as soon as Joan uploads them PLUS 3 free gifts: 12 Affirmations for Writers and a Never Give Up image. Thank you.

Thank you for being here.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2013-2017 Joan Y. Edwards

Save

62 Responses

  1. Joan,
    I admire your willingness to research for literary agents and share your findings. What a great gift–the gift of time. And in this case, lots of time. I hope you found at least one golden nugget that you will contact personally.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. Thanks for the compliment. I did find a few that I might meet be a good match for me and my writing. I hope there’s one for you, too.
      Celebrate you today.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. thanks for this list. I’ll save it in my “agents” folder for when it’s time for me to look for one!

    Like

    • Dear Carol,
      Thanks for writing. You’re welcome for the list of agents. I do hope you find one when it’s time to head in an agent’s direction. Remember an agent is looking for you when you are looking for him.
      Celebrate your writing.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  3. Such a timely topic for me, Joan, since I am searching for one. Children’s Writers Market book is a great resource too, as is SCBWI if you write for kids. Can a non-member see the SCBWI list ?

    Like

    • I’ll answer my own question about the SCBWI list: a non-member can read it, but it’s several years old. I’m not sure how it’s been updated since then.

      I’ve just started reading through all your links. This will keep me busy all weekend. Thanks again, Joan– You rock!

      Like

      • Dear Juliana, I’m glad that you wrote again to clarify your question about the SCBWI list. SCBWI Members can see the current list.

        I’m glad that you’re looking forward to going through the links in this blog post. Thanks for saying that I rock. What a nice compliment.

        Never Give Up
        Joan Y. Edwards

        Like

    • Dear Juliana,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you are searching for an agent. To see the current list you probably have to be a member of SCBWI. Even on current lists, it’s a good plan to check their website for guidelines. The submission guidelines may change from the time they are posted to the time you read them.
      Good luck with your pursuit of an agent. Remember the right agent is looking for you, too.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  4. Another winner! I’ll catalog and file the list for future use. VERY HELPFUL! Thanks once again.

    Like

    • Dear Sandra,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you’re going to catalog an save the list for when you might need it in the future.

      Good luck with your new launch of Arlie, the Alligator.

      Thanks for the compliment about the list being very helpful.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  5. A very helpful post, Joan. Sure to be appreciated!
    Maureen

    Like

    • Dear Maureen,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad that you think this post is helpful. I appreciate the compliment.

      Have fun traveling around. Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  6. Thanks Joan, this is a very helpful blog entry. Sarah

    Like

    • Dear Sarah,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you found this post to be very helpful. Enjoy your writing. Remember to submit your manuscripts.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  7. You are a superb teacher and a tireless researcher!! This is another one of your most valuable posts. Thanks for all you do, Joan! Have a blessed day, my friend.

    Like

  8. Dear Ann,
    Thank you for reading my blog and for writing. I appreciate your vote of confidence in me, as a teacher. Saying I am a tireless researcher is a great compliment. Thank you. I hope your sequel to Hiding Carly sells oodles and oodles.

    Never Give Up
    Joan Y. Edwards

    Like

  9. Wow. What a great post. I tweeted and face booked it. I would add to your websites Literary Rambles http://www.literaryrambles.com
    They do agent posts which highlight the agent’s preferences. On the left hand side of the blog there is a list of agents by genres they accept.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Susan,
      Thanks for reading my post and writing me a note. I am glad you liked this 18 Literary Agents article. Thank you for letting me know another website to add to the resources in it. You are a jewel to share your information with me. Thanks for tweeting and facebooking a reference to it.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  10. […] 18 Literary Agents Who Are Looking for You (joanyedwards.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    • Thank you Young Adult Fiction blog for referring your readers to my blog post.

      Never Give UP
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  11. […] 18 Literary Agents Who Are Looking for You (joanyedwards.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    • Dear Dynamo Di,
      Thank you for putting a link to my blog. I appreciate it very much.

      Celebrate you and your love of writing
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  12. It’s so wonderful you took the time to research this out and put it together. It seems these days you need a magic wand to get anywhere in anything but indie publishing so every time I see a post like this I think, wow, someone understands and cares.

    Like

    • Dear Cimon,
      Thank you for writing. You are welcome. I hope the list of Literary Agents helps you hook an agent.

      Celebrate you and your love of writing.

      Like

  13. Joan, what a lovely person you are, to share something that has required your time and effort. Such a selfless act, knowing that one of the people reading your list may potentially take your ‘chance’ with the agent or publisher – yet you choose to disseminate rather than hoard the information. Even if I never submit another thing, I will appreciate the effort you have made on the part of all aspiring writers.
    I wish you luck and joy.
    Lee

    Like

    • Dear Lee,
      Thank you for writing. What a wonderful compliment you gave me! I appreciate it very much. There is room for all of us to be published. I got frustrated at trying to find publishers and agents who were willing to accept unsolicited manuscripts. I started making a list. Then I decided that my information was much more a treasure if I shared it with others. Perhaps we could get to the publishing place together.

      Please do submit your writing. The world is waiting for it. I am thankful for the honor you bestowed upon me with your wishes for good luck and joy!

      May you always have the courage to take action toward your goals.

      I hope you’ll visit my website often. If there’s something you would like for me to write about, let me know.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  14. Joan, you’ve done it again. A GREAT list! Thanks for sharing once again.

    One question though: do you ever sleep?

    Like

  15. Dear Sandra,
    Thanks for writing. I am honored that you believe this is a great list. You are welcome for the list.

    You made me laugh with your question, “Do you ever sleep?”
    Yes, I do sleep. If I get restless and can’t sleep, then I go to the computer and write. I’m glad you read my blog and find it helpful.
    Thanks for your gift of humor.

    Never Give Up
    Joan Y. Edwards

    Like

  16. Pamela June Cohen

    Thanks, Joan, for compiling this list.

    Like

    • Dear Pamela,
      Thank you for writing. You are very welcome for my compiling this list. I hope you will visit my blog again!

      Go through the day and celebrate you!
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  17. Don’t even bother with Diana Finch, people. You apparently have to have a membership in order to submit a query through her website (https://dianafinchliteraryagency.submittable.com/submit/1681), and her submission guidelines aren’t even consistent throughout each website that lists her contact information for hopeful writers. Seriously, just search for her name in AgentQuery.com’s database, Chuck Sambuchino’s blog at WritersDigest.com, and MarketList.com’s database. Her submission guidelines aren’t consistently similar on each of these sites OR on her own website.

    Thank you anyway for compiling this list, Joan, but Diana Finch is NOT someone whom I’d recommend to up-and-coming authors to contact in terms of having her represent their work.

    Like

    • Dear Chad,
      Thanks for writing and telling me about your bad experience. I’ll remove her name from my list. I appreciate you taking the time to write and let me know.

      I wish you good luck in finding an agent you can rely on and can communicate with in a proper manner.

      Celebrate you and your concern for all writers,
      Joan

      Like

  18. Wonderful information and dedication to aspiring authors! Thank you so much for all of the information you posted and shared. Internet Communities are just awesome and I love to get instant results when researching. Again, great job!

    Like

    • Dear Renee,
      Thank you very much for leaving a comment here and on my Facebook Author page. You are very thoughtful. I appreciate it very much. I hope the 18 Literary Agents leads you to the agent who is looking for your work.

      Celebrate you and your thoughtful ways,
      Joan

      Like

  19. Awsome and wonderful is the to describe your website. It is a blessing for new authors like me as well as experience authors. Patrick

    Like

    • Dear Patrick,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you like my blog. I hope you’ll subscribe (left-hand column on blog). Good luck to you in finding the publisher you want!
      Let me know if there’s a subject you’d like for me to write about.

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  20. […] Critique, Live, Educate, Motivate, and Celebrate 18 Publishers Who Accept Unsolicited Manuscripts 18 Literary Agents Who Are Looking for You PubSub3rdFri on my website Certificates and Rain-Checks Pub Subbers: More posts from my blog about […]

    Like

    • Dear Dr. Bob,
      Thanks for interviewing me and putting a link to 18 Literary Agents.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  21. Great information here, thanks for sharing this info. I’ve recently published two Kindle books and putting the final touches on my three children’s book series. Happy reading and may your words led you to where you need to be!

    http://www.libraryromp.com/

    • Caroline R.

    Like

    • Dear Caroline,
      Thank you for writing. I’m glad you believe the information I put about publishers is great information. Thanks for your good wishes for my publication, too.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  22. Reblogged this on April Margeson and commented:
    Great Info….

    Like

    • Dear April,
      Thank you for writing. I’m glad that you thought the 18 Agents information was helpful. You honor me by reblogging it.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

      • I love reblogging great information. Thank you for posting it.

        Like

        • Dear April,
          You are welcome.

          Never Give Up
          Joan

          Like

  23. This is exactly what I have being looking for, an agents list, it is even more difficult than the writing itself. Hope it will work for me. You’ve done a wonderful job that requires great appreciation. Thank you

    Like

  24. Dear Alliyu Baba,
    Thank you for writing. I am excited that this is exactly what you have been looking for. Finding the right agent does take time and skill. Remember that the right agent is also looking for you.

    I hope you subscribe to my blog.

    Celebrate you and your writing.
    Never Give Up
    Joan

    Like

  25. […] 18 Literary Agents Who Are Looking for You […]

    Like

  26. Hi Joan:
    Thanks for your excellent research! I am a screenwriter seeking an agency that reps screenplays. Most of your research seems to be focused on literary. Can you direct me to other resources? Thanks.
    Ed Munter

    Like

    • Dear Ed,
      Thank you for writing.http://www.hollywoodscriptexpress.com/literary-agents.html

      After I complete the editing of my elder care guide, I’ll check them out and see if they all accept unsolicited screenplays. I have two screenplays to submit myself. Good luck with yours!

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  27. Hi Joan, I am a Service Coordinator (similar to a Case Manager) and I work with individuals with Intellectual Disabilities. There is one particular young lady that I work with that is 25 yrs old and has Down Syndrome. She is extremely talented with her illustrating and story telling. She has a very creative and vivid imagination. She has written a number of books with illustrations that her mother would love to have published. Would you be able to offer me any advice?
    Thank you,
    Karin

    Like

    • Dear Karen,
      You are a blessing to many. Thank you for helping those with disabilities. Other than submitting them to one or two of publishers on my post 33 Publishers Who Accept Unsolicited Manuscripts or have them self-published through CreateSpace.

      I’m sorry I don’t have more information to share with you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

      • Karin should direct them to Amazon.KindleKids, a platform for self-publishing picture books as an ebook. Amazon has CLASSES that teach you how to set it up yourself.

        Gretchen Griffith just did with with her wonderful little book, Hoop Hike, http://tinyurl.com/pfpnxd9 I believe the setup is FREE and books are sold on Amazon….THIS IS FOR EBOOKS ONLY. You will not get a physical book from it but your story and book and illustrations will be out there and for sale.

        Good Luck!

        Like

      • Karin, Check out Sandra Warren’s comment after yours. She suggests using Amazon’s Kindle Kids. They have classes, too.

        Sincerely,
        Joan

        Like

  28. MEANING OF THE
    BOOK OF REVELATION I AM TO
    REVIEWED
    In this one world, there is two world
    inside it: one world of
    different evil spirit and the world of
    human being, which
    co-exist as the same one world we
    are living. still our one
    world, Just one is spiritual, after I
    became born again God
    redeemed me have been living in
    the two worlds at the
    same timei.e. Living in flesh in
    human world and in spirit in
    the spiritual world, the world of all
    the evil spirit is also
    where all the spirit in humans is
    also open to and our own
    world where we see where human
    flesh is living, I live in
    the both world simultaneously, in
    flash and in spirit, how
    God has redeemed me after I
    became born again, how
    have been living my own personal
    life every single day
    seeing all that has been happening
    to human spirit in the
    spiritual world as I like as a spirit
    and as human in human
    world, when the gift was given to
    me, I first run crazy,
    month after month I got use to it, I
    got more stronger,
    more stronger and have lived like
    every other humans
    without been noticed that I live in
    two world, each and
    every months, the gift became more
    powerful, God blessed
    me more gifts, spiritual wisdom,
    discerning of spirit, gift of
    knowledge and allot of messages
    what I must do with all
    the gifts I was bless, I am to review
    the meaning of Book
    of Revelation, for everyone to know
    the true meaning, and
    everything it says, to write and
    report all that is happening
    presently in the two world to the
    people of the world, this
    book must be the book of truth,
    everything I must write
    must be the truth.
    have reviewed the meaning of book
    of Revelation as my duty requested with my gifts… it been so difficult to
    publish it due to my financial
    statues,have kept my gift secret till the right time to tell.. if any publisher want to
    help you can contact me on
    adebanjobiyi@gmail.com.

    Like

    • Dear Abebanjo,
      I am not an agent. I list names and addresses of agents so you can send them a letter personally.

      Good luck with your writing and find an agent.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  29. I contacted (via email) Charlotte Gusay a few days ago. She was rather rude, emailed me back and told me NOT to send her anything, and if I wanted her to read my screenplay it would cost $500 and she still probably wouldn’t pass it on to anyone. Most people I’ve contacted were friendly. Not her.

    Like

    • Dear Melody,
      I’ll remove Charlotte Gusay’s name and contact information from my list. I apologize. I didn’t know. Sometimes the information they put on their sites is not the full story.

      Thanks for reading my blog. I’ll look and see if I can find one to replace this one.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  30. Looking to share my ideas on my scripts and my life

    Like

    • Dear Latoya,
      Thanks for writing. I wish you good luck in finding an agent for your scripts. I hope you find a friend to share your life with.

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

  31. […] Joan Y. Edwards. “22 Literary Agents Who Are Looking for You: https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2013/09/06/22-literary-agents-who-are-looking-for-you/ […]

    Like

  32. Hi Joany, Thank for all this valuable information, Three days ago I wrote a Query letter ti Chuck Sambuchino & his Literary agents. I received confirmation that they received my pitch.
    Again thanks,
    Lady-in-waiting,
    Violette

    Like

    • Dear Violette,
      You are welcome. I’m glad that the list of literary agents helped you. I hope that Chuck Sambuchino & his agents say, “YES.”

      Thanks for writing!

      Never Give Up
      Joan

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

