Kristina Stanley Won a Free Manuscript Critique


Copyright © 2013 Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2013 Joan Y. Edwards

“Kristina Stanley Won a Free Manuscript Critique” by Joan Y. Edwards

Here are the awesome people who posted a comment on “Be Smart – Submit Your Manuscript:”
1.    Camille Ettenger
2.    Kristina Stanley
3.    Linda Martin Andersen
4.    Becky Shillington
5.    Sarah Maury Swan
6.    Widdershins
7.    Maureen Wartski
8.    Kathleen Burkinshaw

  1. I asked www.Random.org to choose a number for me between 1-8. It chose…dun ta dun…Number 7. So Maureen Wartski won a free query for one of her manuscripts. Maureen said that she’s been traveling around a lot and that she didn’t have a manuscript ready to send off. She asked me to give her prize to another writer on my list.
  2. Therefore, I asked Random.org to choose another winner for me. It chose Kathleen Burkinshaw. Kathleen said she is known as both Kathy and Kathleen and not to worry about my having her name wrong. Kathleen declined because she is having conversations with an agent about one of her manuscripts (Hip Hip Hooray for Kathleen) and didn’t need a query.  She opted to give the prize to another reader.
  3. Therefore, I went back to Random.org and asked it to choose a number between one and six. It chose number 2. The second person to put a comment on the “Be Smart – Submit Your Manuscript:” was Kristina Stanley. I contacted her by email. I decided to give a choice of a query or a 1000 word manuscript critique. She is excited to win this award. She chose to receive a 1000 word manuscript critique, instead of a query. Congratulations, Kristina. Please send me your 1000 word manuscript and I’ll be happy to critique it for you. You may send it when you are ready.

Thank you to all who entered the contest. Thank you for all who read my blog. I appreciate you very much.

Let’s celebrate together.
Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2013 Joan Y. Edwards. All rights reserved.

14 Responses

  1. Congratulations, Maureen.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing and congratulating Maureen.

      Ever onward
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. How very lovely, Joan! Alas, at the moment I have no manuscript to offer… life has kept me too much on the go! Would it be all right if I cede this honor to another writer on your list? That would remove the guilt!! And thank you again… many times!

    Like

  3. Dear Maureen,
    Certainly, you can cede your gift to another writer who commented along with you. I had Random.org choose another winner from the seven others. That winner is number seven, Kathleen Burkinshaw. I will change the post above. I appreciate you.

    Never Give Up
    Joan Y. Edwards

    Like

  4. WTG Maureen!

    Like

    • Dear Widdershins,
      Thanks for writing. You are so sweet. Maureen ceded her prize to Kathleen Burkinshaw!
      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up

      Like

  5. Congratulations, Kathy. Way to go!

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing to congratulate, Kathy. You are a jewel.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  6. Excited is an understatement. It’s hard to find readers willing to spend the time it takes to critique 1000 words, so I feel pretty lucky. I never win anything! Maybe I should buy a lottery ticket today.

    Like

    • Dear Kristina,
      Thank you for writing. I look forward to reading your manuscript and giving you my critique of the first 1000 words. I’m glad you read my blog.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  7. Joan,
    Didn’t you mean to say 1000 word critique?

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      I did mean 1000 words. Silly me. I changed it to 1000 words instead of 1000 pages. Now that’s a lot of pages! With 250 words on each double-spaced page, that would be 250,000 words. It would take a long time to read that much. As much time as it takes to read three novels, Thanks for catching that, Linda.

      Like

  8. I won! And here’s what happened. I wish I could have Joan review my entire manuscript. She sent me a covering letter describing her overall strategy and what her highlighting meant .She gave me high level comments before reviewing each line in detail. The critique included story line comments, grammar and punctuation. It’s exciting to receive professional feedback that will help me improve the quality of my story. She included areas for improvement and highlighted sentences she thought were good. Now I have to get to work and make this better. It’s amazing what a second pair of eyes can do for a manuscript. Thanks Joan. You are a star!

    Like

    • Dear Kristina,
      Thank you very much for reading my blog. Thank you, too, for saying I gave you a great critique for your manuscript. Shuckins! You say the nicest things. You make me smile.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

