• Blog Stats

    • 462,592 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

9 Reasons to Use Google Plus+


Google Plus+

Google Plus+

“9 Reasons to Use Google Plus+” by Joan Y. Edwards

Here are 9 reasons to use Google Plus+. It has many ways to help you with marketing.

1. Google plus has circles. You decide what the name of your circles are. Here are the names of circles I chose to have on Google Plus. You will communicate with the people in these groups.

  • Family
  • Friends
  • Writers
  • Illustrators
  • Marketing
  • Publishers
  • Agents

You can name the circles whatever you wish. Just click, add circle and give it the name you like. No one but you knows the name of your circles and who is in them. You can put people in more than one circle. You choose which circle(s) receive your shared post.

On Facebook, I have to share on my friends page, on my author page, and on the PubSubber Page, separately. On Google, I could do all three, if I had all those connections in a circle.

2. People do not know which circle you put them in. You can put people in as many circles as you want. For instance, some people might be friends and writers. If your product is for men, you could make a circle consisting only of men. Then you could target this particular circle of men with posts about how every man needs “YOUR PRODUCT.”

3. The Google Plus Profile Page has a place to broadcast your blog(s) or website(s). Put a place on your blog(s) and your website(s) for people to follow you on Google Plus.

4. You can gain new connections. Perhaps new customers for your product or service. And as marketing consultant, Linda Sherman, wrote in a recent blog post, “GooglePlus can give you access to influencers who might not notice you elsewhere.”

5. You can make a page for a business, blog, book, product, or service. I made a simple one for Flip Flap Floodle and for Joan’s Elder Care Guide. I may add one for this blog. It’ll all be in one place.

6. You can add people to a circle using their email address. If you have a Gmail account, it’ll use your contacts, if you want to ask if you wish to add them to a circle. Then it sends an email asking them if they’d like to join Google Plus and add you to their circles.

7. You can add your location, remember special events, post pictures, videos, and links.

8. Having more information on Google Plus may give you more hits on your blogs or websites which will help you statistics, gain your audience, and hopefully increase your sales.

9. Google Plus has Hangouts. A hangout is similar to Skype or FaceTime, but you can have up to ten people from 10 different webcams hanging out with you at the same time. Now listen to this: It sends you a video of your whole hangout to your YouTube account. Each time a different person talks, it switches their webcam picture on the screen. If you don’t have a webcam, if you give me your phone number, I can invite you by phone. Phoning from United States and Canada is free. Here is a link to my blog post about Google+ Hangouts: How to Use and Why Use Hangouts on Google Plus+

I hope this article has shown you 9 reasons to use Google Plus+. Always remember it’s a choice.

If you don’t feel 100% percent comfortable in doing it yet, there are 15 resources listed below to help you decide if it’s for you or to help you get started.

As a way to celebrate my 50,000 reads (only 1,323 more to go), I’ll do a Hangout to “How to Make Your Blog Zing” and field questions from participants. As I understand it, we can only have 10 people in a Hangout at a time. But it’s free. I hope you’ll join me. Leave a comment below if you’d like to come. It’ll be on the first Monday after I reach 50,000 from 7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. It’ll either be in May or June. Connect with me on Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/108439424078672286967. I’ll send you an invitation. If it works out, we can do one every month about varying topics. We’ll see how it works.

When I reach 50,000 views, I’m also going to have a Give-Away to a lucky winner — a 1/2 hour personal consultation/critique on Making Your Blog Zing. I’ll do this by telephone or via computer (winner’s choice). I’ll analyze the lucky winner’s blog and make suggestions on how to improve what he’s already doing;  give tips on how to organize his time; and most importantly, answer questions he has about his blog.

Do you have any suggestions for fun and exciting ways to celebrate 50,000 views? Let me know.

Join the 126 subscribers to my blog. To receive an email when I post my next article, click “Sign Me Up” in the left hand column. You’ll receive a link and password to download a free logo that says: Never Give Up Build It One Block at a Time. It’s my free gift to you for subscribing to my blog. Thank you.

Would you write a review of my picture book Flip Flap Floodle? Click here to Hear Flip’s Song. I have 14 reviews. I need 15 to meet my goal for 2013. 48,677

Joan’s Website: http://www.joanyedwards.com (Gospel-related devotionals, puzzles, and skits)

Connect with me. I’d be honored.
 facebook  imagetwitter  Linked-In-icon50 pixels  

Celebrate you today.
Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2013 Joan Y. Edwards

Resources

  1. Chris Brogan. “Getting Started with Google Plus+” (privacy settings)
    http://www.chrisbrogan.com/startgoogleplus/#
  2. Digital Unite. “How to join Google Plus:” http://digitalunite.com/guides/social-networking-blogs/google-plus/how-join-google-plus
  3. Dorie Clark. “Why You Should Be On Google Plus (Even Though No One Else Is):” http://www.forbes.com/sites/dorieclark/2013/01/04/why-you-should-be-on-google-plus-even-though-no-one-else-is/
  4. Fraser Cain. “Tips and Tricks for Hangouts on Air:”
    https://plus.google.com/+FraserCain/posts/PaeeynDx34L
  5. Google. “Invite People to Hangout.” https://support.google.com/plus/answer/1215839?hl=en
  6. Google Plus Daily. “How to’s for Google Plus:” http://www.googleplusdaily.com/search/label/how-to
  7. Lee Jarrett. Google Plus Daily. “How to Get around Google+:” http://www.googleplusdaily.com/2013/01/how-to-getting-around-google.html#.UYFsgsr95VI
  8. Mark Traphagen. “Your Google Plus Network is More Powerful Than You Know”  http://windmillnetworking.com/2013/01/30/your-google-plus-network-is-more-powerful-than-you-know/
  9. Martin Shervington. “Complete User Guide: Google Plus Pages for Business and Brands:” http://www.martinshervington.com/google-plus-pages-for-business-and-brands/
  10. Michael Carney. “How to Use Google Plus for Business.com Smart Video Chat Marketing with Google Plus  Hangouts.” http://howtousegoogleplusforbusiness.com/2012/01/smart-video-chat-marketing-with-google-plus-hangouts/
  11. Neal Schaffer. “How to Use Google Plus for Personal Branding and Establishing Author Rank:” http://windmillnetworking.com/2012/11/29/6-ways-to-leverage-google-plus-for-personal-branding-and-author-rank/
  12. Paul Maplesden. Google Plus Daily. “10 Things to Do after Joining Google+:” http://www.googleplusdaily.com/2013/03/10-things-to-do-after-joining-google.html#.UYFsCLUT-sj
  13. Paul Maplesden. “Differences between Facebook and Google Plus:” http://www.googleplusdaily.com/2013/02/differences-google-plus-facebook.html#.UYFzErUT-sg
  14. Ronnie Bincer “Learn How YouTube Connects YOU with Google Plus:” https://plus.google.com/u/0/108210288375340023376/posts/YBiofdrkb3T
  15. Roshan Khan. “How to Use Google Plus” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r-nIcIzCq5
24 Responses

  1. This is a great post, Joan! You are so generous with your knowledge–thank you for sharing all of this!

    Like

    • Dear Becky,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you liked the post. It is my pleasure to share with you. It helps me learn, too.

      Celebrate you and your the joy you give to others
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. I signed up with G+ last year and have done very little with it … it’s on my ‘to do’ list, but keeps slipping off to the side of the page 😀 Thanks for the timely reminder.

    * copies and pastes the list of resources to forehead!*

    Like

    • Dear Widdershins,
      Thanks for writing, I love the humor you share with me. I’ve had quite a few things that keep slipping off to the side of the page for me, too. I haven’t tried copying and pasting resources to my forehead, yet. But, maybe they’ll get through to our brains through osmosis, that way.

      Celebrate you and your gift of laughter,
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  3. Joan,
    You’re amazing. How do you keep all this stuff straight? My eyes glaze over just reading it. 😉 Thanks so much for the information. Have you ever considered offering marketing strategy workshops, like your basic blog workshops? You’d be terrific!

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. Thank you for the compliment. I don’t do it all at one time. Inch by inch I’ve gotten into the social media. First, it was Facebook and Twitter. Then I did Linked-In. Some I learn about but they don’t call me. We don’t have to use them all, just use one or two that seem to call you. What works for one person, might not work as well for another person. It’s fun to have different choices. Sometimes there are so many choices, it’s overwhelming. Then in that case, choose the one that seems the simplest to do. And it’s possible that doing your blog is marketing enough. Enjoy being wherever you are!

      I’ve never considered doing a marketing strategy workshop. I am honored that you believe I could offer people help in this area.

      Celebrate you and your blog.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  4. I am soooooo grateful for this post. I have been trying to figure out Google Plus without success. It does not seem intuitive to me, but after reading your post, I think I can do it. Thank you! Thank you!

    Like

    • Dear Katherine,
      Thank you for writing. It’s good to hear from you. I’m glad that you my post helped you figure out a way to use Google Plus+. This is awesome news.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  5. I appreciate your information, Joan. I signed up a couple months ago, but really haven’t done much with it. I especially like the looks of the hangout feature. I’ve tried using another program for a meeting with several women and it was not very successful. Perhaps Google+ would work better?

    Like

    • Dear Juliana,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad my information helped you. The Hangout feature does sound promising. Thousands of people have used it. We just have to take a chance on it. Nothing ventured, nothing gained. I like that it records the whole meeting – what you say and what others say, what’s on your screen and what’s on other’s screens. You can also edit the video, if you choose to do so. Let me know how it goes.

      Celebrate your gift of communication
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  6. Joan, thank you for another excellent, interesting, and informative post! You are a powerhouse of knowledge. And so very generous in your willingness to share and help us grow.

    Like

    • Dear Ann,
      You’re very welcome. Thank you for the compliment. I’m glad that you found my post interesting and informative. It’s fun to share with enthusiastic people who appreciate it.

      Celebrate you and your gift of writing great dialogue.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  7. Another fabulous list of resources, Joan.
    I can’t tackle another social site at the moment, but I’m filing this one in my marketing folder.
    And thank you so much for the endorsements on LinkedIn. 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Tracy,
      Thanks for writing. You’re right. You have to pick and choose which social sites work for you. I’m honored that you’re saving it in your marketing folder.
      You’re very welcome for the Linked-In Endorsements.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  8. please tell me i didn’t miss this hangout of yours!

    Like

    • Dear Angela,
      I haven’t had the Hangout, yet. I am excited that you would like to join me. You are the first one who said they were interested! You made my day. I need 1000 more views before I have the hangout. It will probably be in two or three weeks. I will let you know when you will know.

      Celebrate you.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  9. I’m on google plus. Can we connect there too?

    Like

    • Dear Kristina,
      Thanks for writing. Thanks for wanting to connect with me on Google Plus, too. I put you in my circles. Yee Haw for us being connected in another way. I love it.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  10. Thanks for sharing this good info. Joan. I’ve bookmarked it for the time I am ready to go google plus. Right now I’m stifled in social media and feel like I need to spend more time on my writing.

    So I’m saving this for later. 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Clarike,
      Thanks for writing. You’re welcome for the information. I’m glad you bookmarked it for the time when you’re ready to go Google Plus. It’s okay to let the social media alone for awhile and focus on your writing. Follow your gut feelings. They won’t lead you astray.
      Celebrate you and your gift of writing.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  11. […] Reblogged from Never Give Up by Joan Y. Edwards: […]

    Like

    • Dear Angela, Thanks for reblogging part of my post and leading them to my blog for the finish. I appreciate it very much. Thank you for your kind words about me. You’re a jewel.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  12. Reblogged this on Angie and the Cool Network and commented:
    One of my blog friends writes to help and inform others. https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/9-reasons-to-use-google-plus/

    Like

  13. […] e) Create a Google Plus profile. 9 Reasons to Use Google Plus+ […]

    Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

