• Blog Stats

    • 485,606 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Seven Advantages of Using Twitter


twitter-bird-white-on-blue

Follow Me on Twitter

“Seven Advantages of Using Twitter” by Joan Y. Edwards

I’m sure you’ve noticed that newscasters, sports commentators, businesses, authors, illustrators, neighbors, and friends might use Twitter to give short quick notices about what’s going on with them. Many people Tweet about things or events that interest them. You can, too.

If you have a large number of followers, it might persuade a publisher that you can help market your books.If you’d like to follow me on Twitter do so. My Twitter handle is: @joanyedwards. Also, @tomarketsuccess.

If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can sign up at: https://twitter.com/

Through Twitter I connect with

  1. Family
  2. Friends
  3. People who’ve read my blog follow me.
  4. SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators)
  5. Marketing Enthusiasts
  6. Authors
  7. Illustrators
  8. Publishers
  9. Editors
  10. Agents
  11. Reviewers

Ask them to send you an email when someone sends you a direct message.

When someone follows you, Twitter sends you an email (if you sign up for it). Instead of having them send me emails when someone follows me, I go to Twitter once a week and check the list to see who is following me, it puts a notice, following or follow beside their name. You can click on their name to see their profile and what they’re about.  This will help you decide if you want to follow them.

If you believe someone is abusing their membership, you can report them. They have companies who will follow people who follow you automatically. I tried one and I didn’t like it. I like to choose for myself.

Advantages of Using Twitter:

  1. It doesn’t take much time to write a Twitter Post – 140 letters, numbers, symbols, and spaces.
  2. It’s exciting when someone retweets your tweet.
  3. Advertise your book and link to buy it.
  4. Inform others about workshops that interest you or that you’re teaching.
  5. Let people know about online conferences that interest you or that have you as a presenter.
  6. Inform others when you update your blog or website.
  7. Give a coupon for services or purchases.

Tips

  • Check your account once a week to follow new followers.
  • If you also post things on Facebook, you can fix it where Twitter automatically posts what you put on Facebook pages.
  • Use the share links at the end of your blog or a favorite blog to post a link to Twitter about it.
  • When you find a website that tickles your fancy or inspires you, post a link to Twitter about it.

I hope this helps you decide whether you might start a Twitter account. It might also inspire you to use it more often. Thank you for reading my blog. I appreciate you very much.

Follow Me on Twitter

Follow Me on Twitter

 

Are you willing to write a review my picture book Flip Flap Floodle for me? Let me know, if you do. Hear Flip’s Song. Flip has a fun way to encourage others to Never Give Up. It now has 14 reviews…just 11 more to my goal of 25.

You are a gift to the world. Thanks.
Celebrate you.
Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2013 Joan Y. Edwards

Resources

  1. Kerianne Mellott “How to Use Twitter:” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VWV74mndNaY&feature=youtu.be
  2. Kerianne Mellott Website: http://www.MarketingMakesMeSmile.com
  3. Aaron Lee. “Ten Reasons Why Your Business Should Use Twitter:” http://askaaronlee.com/10-reasons-why-your-business-should-use-twitter/
  4. Lauren Dugan. “You Can Say a Lot in 140 Characters:” http://www.laurendugan.com/why-social-media/twitter/
  5. Lauren Dugan. “Twitter 101: Everything You Need to Know about Twitter:” http://www.ftpress.com/store/twitter-101-everything-you-need-to-know-about-twitter-9780133120950
  6. Twitter – sign up page
12 Responses

  1. Not sure how to go about using Twitter, Joan… any ideas?
    Always enjoy your posts…
    Maureen

    Like

    • Dear Maureen,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you enjoy my posts. I enjoy reading your comments. I hope I get to see you in 2013. Each time you post a new blog, then put Tweet about it. Or you could tweet about one of your books. Or you could tweet to wish everyone a great day! You could tweet to share your beautiful paintings!

      Celebrate you!
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. Impressive followings Joan! 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Kami,
      Thank you for stopping by. It’s good to see you. Thank you for the compliment. I have no idea how many followers others have. Thanks for saying they are impressive followings. It’s really cool when someone retweets me. That makes me smile. You leaving a comment here makes me smile, too. Celebrate you and all you do to spread the word about good books for children.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

      • Thanks Joan! Keep inspiring!

        Like

        • You’re welcome.
          Smile!

          Like

  3. Joan,
    Thanks to your posts on social media, I will feel more comfortable about joining in when I expand my horizons. Thank you!

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I’m glad that I’ve made you feel more comfortable about Twitter so that when you’re ready to join, it won’t be overwhelming. Celebrate you and all you do to help make things happen for those you love.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  4. Great post, Joan! Thank you for all of the wonderful, useful information. I am still “getting my feet wet” on Twitter, but am slowly getting the hang of it!

    Like

    • Dear Becky,
      Thanks for writing. You’re very welcome for the information. I’m glad you found it to be helpful. Good luck with your tweeting and twittering. Celebrate you and all the ways you communicate with others.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  5. Joan, thanks for another wonderful and informative post. I will try to follow your example (I already follow you on Twitter) and tweet and retweet more often! That sounds like a great song title: Tweet, Retweet, Tweet! Love you, my friend! 😉

    Like

    • Dear Ann,
      Thank you for writing. You’re welcome for the blog post about using Twitter. Thanks for following me on Twitter. Tweet, Retweet, Tweet does sound like a song. Thanks for loving me. Sending love back to you.

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

