• Blog Stats

    • 479,471 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Surprise Celebration of My Birthday in 2013


Savvy Wordsmiths Gave Me a Surprise Birthday Party. Thank you.

Savvy Wordsmiths Gave Me a Surprise Birthday Party. Thank you.

“A Great Time to Celebrate” by Joan Y. Edwards

Last Friday, January 11th, was my birthday. I thought it was going to be an ordinary birthday. However, it wasn’t. It was a great time to celebrate. First, my friend, Linda Andersen, wrote a blog post in my honor because I love ducks and wrote Flip Flap Floodle. Thank you, Linda: http://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/a-duck-is-a-duck-is-a-duck-the-duck-test/

At 10:00 a.m. I went to our Savvy Wordsmiths Writing Group meeting at the Fort Mill, SC library. I am co-facilitator. My plan was to present a mini-workshop, “Power Up the Positive and Kick Out the Negative Beliefs to Reach Your Goals.” When I got there, there were 7 balloons towering over my chair.  About 4 people trickled in. I asked Becky Shillington, the other Co-Facilitator, if I should begin because it was 5 minutes after ten. She said, “Wait a few more minutes. I think I saw a few others coming.”

What I didn’t know was that when I went into the library to ask if the door upstairs was open, their were about 7 Savvy members in there signing my card. They had to duck down quickly below the desk area so I wouldn’t see them. They told me afterwards.

I had no idea that there were more surprises. I thought the balloons was the surprise. They gave me a real surprise party. Oh my goodness! Not only were there balloons galore. There were cupcakes and water with designer labels on them. Plus there were cards and presents. I love butterflies. Most of the gifts had to do with butterflies.  Butterfly feeders, Butterfly shaped containers with little notes saying how I inspire them and encourage them. Laura Colvin, even painted a picture for me that she named “Hope.”

"Hope" painted by Laura Colvin. Thank you, Laura.

“Hope” painted by Laura Colvin. Thank you, Laura.

The people in the Savvy Wordsmiths group have touched my heart since its beginning on April 30, 2010. We started with about 6 members. We now have 20. They like my writing. They believe in my work. They like for me to teach them lessons. They listen to me. They give advice.  They encourage me. They teach me mini-lessons, too. That was gift enough for me. Yet they went even farther for my birthday. They even lit a cupcake and sang “Happy Birthday.”

After the meeting, we went to Six Pence Pub and they treated me to lunch and a dessert with a candle, too. Thank you, Savvy Wordsmiths for the Surprise Birthday Party filled with love and friendship.

When I got back home, I took pictures of all the gifts from the Savvy Wordsmiths and wrote down who gave them to me so I could write thank you notes. I opened a present Linda Andersen sent me little duckies to put in my bath water and a net loofah with a ducky implanted in it.

Even you, my blog readers celebrated with me. When I checked the computer, I discovered that my blog hit 40,000 readers around noon on January 11th. Hip Hip Hooray for you and me. Thank you for the nice birthday present. You give a great gift every day that you visit my website, blog, phone, or email me.

My Granddaughter, Kirstyn with Me under the Sombrero

My Granddaughter, Kirstyn with Me under the Sombrero

Around 5:00 p.m. I left to go eat supper with my daughter, Lorrie, and her family at Monterrey’s Mexican Restaurant in Matthews, NC. The people at the restaurant brought me a big sombrero to wear while they sang, “Happy Birthday.” It’s very shady under a sombrero. My younger daughter, Mollie, had to work late, so she and her family came in as we were leaving. Lorrie bought tickets for both of us to go to see the musical “Sister Act” at Oven’s Auditorium for my birthday. That was fun, fun, fun. After the play, we sat in my car in her driveway talking away.

I got home after midnight. It was a fantastic day. My celebration wasn’t over. I celebrated on Saturday and Sunday, too.
My husband, Carl and I went to the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, NC. On Sunday, my daughter, Mollie invited us over for a special Ohana, Hawaiian grilled chicken, to celebrate my birthday and my granddaughter, Kylie’s birthday, too.

That was indeed a great time to celebrate. Thank you to each of you who made my 73rd birthday a wonderful day to remember. You warm my heart and fill me with joy! My cup is filled with happiness.

Celebrate you.
Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2013 Joan Y. Edwards

14 Responses

  1. Joan,
    Because you give so much, others want to do for you! I’m so glad it was a great birthday celebration for several days and now it picks right back up again!

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. Thanks for the compliment of saying that people want to do for me because I do so much for others. I do love helping others. It’s what God would want me to do. I did have fun. I also enjoyed doing a calm activity like putting together a jigsaw puzzle Lorrie gave me for Christmas. I finished it today. I started it last week.

      Enjoy your day. Celebrate you whenever you can.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. Happy Birth Day, Joan!!! .. I love celebrations that last longer than 24 hours!

    Like

    • Dear Widdershins,
      Thank you for stopping by to say, Happy Birth Day to me. You are so sweet. I’m glad you love celebrations that last longer than 24 hours, too. Oh Happy Day! To celebrate with others is wonderful.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  3. It was a great celebration for a wonderful friend and inspiring group leader! I am glad you were surprised! And yes, we had to duck (no flip-flap fooling) very quickly to hide from you! Hope you have many more, my friend!

    Like

    • Dear Ann,
      Thank you for writing. Thank you and the other people in the Savvy Wordsmiths group, too. It was indeed a great surprise. I’d love to have seen pictures of you sweet people hiding from me! Thanks for wishing me many more birthdays! I hope so, too.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  4. Oh Joan, what wonderful friends you have. I enjoyed the photos and reading all about your birthday celebrations. You appear to have thoroughly enjoyed your day. You deserved it! 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Tracy,
      Thanks for writing. You are so sweet. You are right, I do have wonderful friends. I am very blessed. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos and reading all about my birthday celebrations. I enjoyed every minute of it.
      Your artwork is similar to Mary Engelbreit! I love it.
      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

      • You are blessed to have such wonderful friends and family
        Thanks for the amazing compliment. Mary is a favorite artist of mine!

        Like

        • Dear Tracy,
          You are a blessing. You’re welcome. Enjoy your day!

          Like

  5. I’m so glad you had such a wonderful birthday!

    Like

    • Dear Laura,
      Thanks for writing and for being happy that I had such a wonderful birthday. May your birthday be exciting and fun, too. Celebrate you all year long.
      Never Give UP
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  6. Hey Joan!!!
    wonderful, you deserved this fab celebration! glad to be there 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Roxie,
      Thank you so much for the fun celebration of my birthday. You are such a jewel. Celebrate you and your lovely ways. I’m looking forward to hearing all about your new publishing company. I wish you great success with it. Thanks for always encouraging me.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

