• Blog Stats

    • 468,208 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Prayer Beret and Scarf from Lucille P. Robinson…Thank You.


“Prayer Beret and Scarf from Lucille P. Robinson…Thank You.”

Prayer Beret and Scarf made by Lucille P. Robinson, Christmas 2012 Thank You, Lucille.

Prayer Beret and Scarf made by Lucille P. Robinson, Christmas 2012 Thank You, Lucille.

In April of 2011 Lucille P. Robinson read my poem, “I Said a Prayer for You Today.” She liked it. She makes prayer shawls and gives them to the sick, those who need comforting, or to say “thank you.” Her ministry is so wonderful. She wrote and asked if she could use my prayer poem in a card to give along with the prayer shawls. I gave her permission and she paid me more than I asked. She prints it on the cards she gives with her prayer shawls.

In October 2012, Lucille wrote me and asked me what my favorite colors were. I told her turquoise blue and teal. She said she had found a pattern for a beret and scarf that she thought I might like. During the 2012 Christmas holidays, she sent me a beautiful turquoise prayer beret and scarf.  I know the people are healed and their burdens made lighter by the love that Lucille puts into the making of her shawls, berets, and scarfs. It makes me proud and thankful to know her and to wear the beret and scarf she made especially for me. Thank you, Lucille.

She sent the beret and scarf to me to say “Thank You” for writing the poem and for writing my blog. Isn’t that sweet?

It was an incredible unique feeling to receive a card that had my poem in it. It touched my heart that she would go to all that trouble and spend the time to make them for me. Thank you, Lucille.

Thank you, Lucille for warming the hearts of God’s people. Thank you especially for warming my heart with the prayer beret and scarf you gave me.

Here’s a link to Lucille’s website: http://www.lucilleperkinsrobinson.com/

If you would like for Lucille to make a prayer beret and scarf for you for $26.00, let me know in a comment below or email Lucille at lu_perkins @ hotmail.com (without the spaces) for details.”

There are many unsung heroes who do things behind the lines for those who need comforting and healing. On behalf of all of us who reap the benefits of their help and prayers, I say “Thank You.” If you are in need of prayer and healing, pretend you are wearing a virtual beret and scarf similar to mine in your favorite color. I said a prayer for you right now.  May God heal you!

I Said a Prayer for You Today

Listen mp3

Listen wma

by Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2002-2011 Joan Y. Edwards

I said a prayer for you today.
I know God heard it fine.

I prayed your fears disappear from view.
I prayed God’s love encompass you.
I prayed that peace be in your heart.
I prayed calm fill your day at start.

I said a prayer for you today.
I know God heard it fine.

I prayed you have the best of health.
I prayed you have abundant wealth.
I prayed love follow you near and far.
I prayed you realize the gift of God you are.

I said a prayer for you today.
I know God heard it fine.

I thanked God for sending you as my friend.
I prayed you know God loves you without end.

You saw the answer to my prayer.
I know you saw it fine.

You saw the beauty in the face of a child.
You saw the wonder of an animal in the wild.
You saw a mother protecting her young with her life.
You saw the unselfish husband providing for his wife.

You felt the answer to my prayer.
I know you felt it fine.

You felt God’s presence within you.
You felt God’s warmth in your heart and soul.
You felt God’s energy and power from above.
You felt confidence from God’s acceptance and love.

You tasted the answer to my prayer.
I know you tasted it fine.

You tasted the absence of hunger.
You tasted the hope of compassion.
You tasted the healing of forgiveness.
You tasted the guidance of wisdom.

You smelled the answer to my prayer.
I know you smelled it fine.

You smelled the scent of friendship.
You smelled the sweat of employment.
You smelled the leather of toughness.
You smelled the woods of safety.

You heard the answer to my prayer.
I know you heard it fine.

You heard the voice of the needy.
You heard the music of kindness.
You heard the cries of the lonely.
You heard the footsteps of courage.

You heard God whisper in your ear.
I know you heard him fine.
He said, “I love you, my dear child.
I’m glad that you are mine.”

Related Post

April 29, 2011 post – “I Said a Prayer for You Today:” https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2011/04/29/i-said-a-prayer-for-you-today/

Celebrate You.
Never Give Up!

Joan Y. Edwards

Blogpost Copyright © 2013 Joan Y. Edwards

12 Responses

  1. Joan, this is wonderful! Both the blog entry and the poem. Thank you for sharing this blessing with the world. Thank you to Lucille, too. It warms my heart to know people like you are sharing this world with me.

    Like

    • Dear Julia,
      Thank you for writing. I am excited and grateful that you like my blog post and poem. It is delightful and an honor to share this world with you.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. Joan,
    Such a lovely story from beginning to ever after. It’s great that you and Lucille teamed up for this mission for others. Your prayer gives comfort just like the warm handmade gifts provide for physical needs. Thanks for sharing this story and for posting the photograph.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thank you for writing. I am glad you thought the Prayer Beret and Scarf story was lovely from beginning to ever after. You are welcome for my posting it and the picture, too. It was a unique experience to receive a card with my poem on it. It touched my heart. Maybe I will add that to the post.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  3. Dear Joan,
    Your poem will give so many comfort. It touched my heart. I know the Beret and Scarf will make those need them hugged and loved.
    Thank you for being you.
    June

    Like

  4. Dear June,
    Thank you for writing. I am glad my poem touched your heart. I hope it brings comfort to those who read it. I agree that the berets, scarfs, and shawls that Lucille creates will make those who need them feel hugged and loved.

    Celebrate you
    Never Give Up
    Joan Y. Edwards

    Like

  5. Beautiful!!!!!!!!

    Like

    • Dear Susan,
      Thank you for writing. You are right. Lucille makes berets and scarves of beauty. She is an inspiration.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  6. Beautiful poem! I love it! And the scarf and beret looks wonderful on you! 😉

    Like

    • Dear Ann,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you lke my poem. Thanks for saying scarf and beret look wonderful on me. I feel wonderful when I wear them. Celebrate you today.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  7. Thank you, Joan. I have another friend, Sue Watson, who makes prayer shawls for missionaries with that note about saying a prayer for them. What a special idea. Love the poem. God bless.

    Like

  8. Dear Janet,
    Thanks for reading my blog and for writing. It is good to hear from you. Please thank your friend, Sue Watson for making prayer shawls for missionaries. Prayer does help and it also lets people know they are loved and cared for. I think that is a wonderful ministry.

    Celebrate you.
    Never Give Up
    Joan Y. Edwards

    Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

