Pitch Exercise #2 Romance – Would You Accept or Reject These Pitches?


“Pitch Exercise #2  Romance  – Would You Accept or Reject These Pitches?” by Joan Y. Edwards

Try this new Pitch Exercise #2 Romance in Monkey Survey form:

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/GJ9WRB5

When you click on the link, the questions show up and you put in your answers. There are 10 pitches and 10 choices for each one.

Is this a pitch that you don’t like?
Reject it and tell the reasons why. There are 7 possibilities listed. Check the appropriate answers.

Is this a pitch that sells you on the manuscript?
Accept it by asking for 3 chapters and a summary.

If it’s an already published book or movie, choose that option and make note of the title of the book.

Here are the statements that accompany each pitch:

Pitch  
1.  Reject it.
2. This pitch is missing main character.
3. This pitch doesn’t tell what main character wants or needs.
4. This pitch doesn’t tell why main character can’t get what he wants or needs.
5. This pitch is missing emotional hook.
6. This pitch is missing conflict.
7. This pitch is missing change in character.
8. This pitch is missing universal theme.
9. Accept it. Ask for first 3 chapters and a summary. Why? (Put answer in box below)
10. This is a pitch from an already published book or movie. (Put title in box below)

As of December 24, 2012 we have 6 responders. When 10-15 people respond, I’ll share the results.

When you’ve done the survey, please leave a comment below:

1. How could I improve the exercise?
2. What did you learn from doing this exercise?
3. Did Pitch Exercise #2 Romance help you discover a better way to write your pitch? How?

Please tell me your three favorite children’s books: picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, and/or young adult novels. In January I’ll do an exercise on pitches for Children’s books.

In January or February,  I’ll do a chat or webinar. I’ll announce the dates later.

Thank you very much for reading my blog. You light up my life.

November 9, 2012 Wow! We have 104 subscribers.

Subscribe by email now from near the top of the left hand column.

I’m designing a Never Give Up badge for subscribers. Hopefully, I’ll have it done by Christmas.

Writing this blog post was my reward for revising and submitting “The Golden Arm” to a http://spinetinglers.co.uk/ contest on December 3.  I pubsubbed. Hurray. I love writing blogs for you. I love pubsubbing, too.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards, Pitch Corner USA
Copyright © 2012 Joan Y. Edwards

5 Responses

  1. Joan,
    This is a valuable exercise. I do believe so. Is there a mini version for those of us who want to try just one or maybe two?

    Like

  2. Dear Linda,
    Thanks for writing. I’m glad you believe the exercise is valuable. I could do a smaller exercise – maybe 5. Would that help?
    Celebrate you.
    Never Give Up
    Joan Y. Edwards

    Like

    • Joan,
      Less would help those of us who don’t want to tackle quite so many. Maybe next go round.

      Like

      • I can try 3. Three is a magic number. Thanks for the great ideas you continuously share.

        Never Give Up
        Pitch Corner USA
        Joan Y. Edwards

        Like

  3. Thanks for being willing to try less. You’re a gem. I think ten pitches works for a good number of your followers. I’ll learn from the posted answers for a while and then consider jumping in. Thanks for being willing to accomodate.

    Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

