100 Subscribers – Let’s Celebrate and Have a Good Time


Fireworkd in Toronto, Ontario, Canada

100 Subscribers-Let’s Celebrate and Have a Good Time
Copyright © 2012 Joan Y. Edwards and Her Licensors

“100 Subscribers-Let’s Celebrate and Have a Good Time” by Joan Y. Edwards

Today, November 26th I received notification that Mary Livingston, otherwise known as The Backdoor Artist, subscribed to my blog. As subscriber number 100, she chose a critique. Hip Hip Hooray! Let the fireworks fill the skies. Let’s sing together. It’ll get you and me in the mood to celebrate.

Kool and The Gang Sing “Celebrate Good Times”

Lyrics to “Celebrate Good Times”

I started this blog on October 9, 2009. A few days later Linda Martin Andersen became the first person to subscribe to it.  She will receive a Flip Flap Floodle DVD.  Linda commented on almost all 290 blog posts. Thank you, Linda.

I created an Excel file with the names of subscribers, their email addresses, and websites/wordpress blogs and the dates when they subscribed. I put them in order from 1-100. I’ll keep it up to date now. It’ll make it easier to do it along the way than doing it in one day.

Out of all 100 people subscribed to my blog, I asked Random.org to choose an integer between 1 and 100. They chose #55. Therefore, the overall winner of a pitch and 5,000 word manuscript critique goes to the 55th person to subscribe: Daniel Postlethwaite. He subscribed on February 18, 2012.  I told Daniel he won in a post on his blog and I also wrote a note on his Facebook author page.

10 Winners. Is your name below?

Random.org chose the following ten subscribers to receive a pitch and 1000 word manuscript critique or a copy of Flip Flap Floodle. It chose one from every set of ten people who subscribed.

On January 29, 2013 I updated the winners list. Only two who haven’t replied:

  1. Marilyn Muniz -#5 Aug 20, 2010 Haven’t heard from Marilyn. Left message on her website.
  2. Mary Lash #13 Sep 22, 2010 Chose copy of Flip Flap Floodle.
  3. Kristi Bernard #30 Mar 29, 2011 Chose copy of Flip Flap Floodle.
  4. Nea Wiseman  #35 Aug 7, 2011 Chose copy of Flip Flap Floodle.
  5. Joy Moore #42 Oct 27, 2011 Critique.
  6. Holly Jahangiri #51 Jan 1, 2012 Critique.
  7. Carole Rummage #70 Apr 20, 2012 Chose copy of Flip Flap Floodle.
  8. NMG.C #76 May 22, 2012 Haven’t heard from NMG.C. I left a comment on their blog.
  9. Maureen Wartski Aug 24, 2012 Chose copy of Flip Flap Floodle.
  10. Angela Scott Nov 1, 2012 Chose critique.

Winners please leave a comment on this post and email your pitch and manuscript to me at the email address listed in the left-hand column.

To celebrate a little longer, here’s Party Time, Trance Music played by Clubraiders. History of “Trance Music:” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trance_music/. It’s electronic instrumental music. It sounds groovy to me: Listen: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bTn9Y0pv9f8

Thank you for reading my blog. Thank you to all 100 people who subscribed to my blog. I’m dreaming up a new prize for subscribing. I’ll also offer it to the first 100 subscribers, too. Any ideas? A special blog post for members only – I could send you a password to it. Or I could create a special Never Give Up slogan or poster that you can post on your blog or use as a screensaver. Tell me what you’d like.

Since November is Family Stories month, Linda asked me to share how I told stories to my family when I was a little girl. What a great way to celebrate 100 subscribers! I  hope you’ll stop and read about my sad hot dog story:  http://tinyurl.com/cguckle or http://lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com/2012/11/25/its-family-stories-month-meet-joan-y-edwards-an-author-who-has-been-telling-stories-since-she-was-a-child/

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2012 Joan Y. Edwards and Her Licensors

42 Responses

  1. Congratulations!

    Like

    • Dear Donna,
      Thanks for your congratulations. Thanks for being a subscriber, too.
      Do something fun for you to help me celebrate.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

    • CONGRATULATIONS!!!! Your blog is so fabulous…it was only a matter of time till you reached 100… Look out….1000!! Here comes Joan Edwards!!

      Like

      • Dear Karen,
        Thanks for writing. Thanks for your congratulations and your saying my blog is fabulous. Predicting that it won’t be long until I get 1000 subscribers is a sweet thing to say! One step at a time, I’ll get there. I’m working on 200 now. Thanks for being a loyal subscriber. You keep me going. It means a lot when you tell me you like my blog.
        Celebrate you and your writing.
        Never Give Up
        Joan Y. Edwards

        Like

  2. Congratulations Joan! The emails I get when people subscribe don’t actually tell me how many subscribers I have, or if they do I haven’t seen where they tell me that, so I now have to sheepishly admit that I didn’t notice when I reached 100 subscribers. Or 200. But now I’m paying attention so I’ll know when I hit 300!

    Like

    • Dear Dianna,
      Thanks for writing. With WordPress the number of subscribers is on the statistics page. It tells you how many people subscribe who have WordPress blogs and when you put a widget to let people subscribe by email, it keeps track of them, too. Both ways have the date they subscribed. I may have others who subscribe by RSS, but I don’t know how to tell who they are.
      You were one of my early subscribers. Thank you. Please let me know when you get 250 and 300. I’d like to celebrate with you.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  3. congratulations Joan. I’m happy for you!

    Like

    • Dear Susa,
      Thank you for being happy for me. Thank you for subscribing. I couldn’t have as much fun celebrating without you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  4. Congrats Joan!!!!!!

    Like

    • Dear Susan,
      Thank you for your congratulations. You make my heart sing!

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  5. Dear Joan,
    Congratulations on 100 subscribers! Thrilled to see my name included in the winners’ list! Thanks. I’d like to call with a few questions when it’s convenient for you.
    Angela

    Like

    • Dear Angela,

      Thanks for writing. Thanks for subscribing. Thank you for your congratulations. You may call tomorrow morning, November 27th, around 10:00 a.m. I’m glad you liked seeing your name as a winner!

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

      • Yesterday, a car emergency prohibited me from calling you. My Flip Flap Floodle is in the car I loaned to my daughter… Can we reschedule our telephone consultation?
        Best regards,
        Angela

        Like

        • Dear Angela,
          Of course, we may reschedule. How about tomorrow morning, November 29, 2012 at 10:00 AM? I hope everyone is okay and didn’t get hurt in the automobile emergency.
          I’ll say a few extra prayers for you.
          Never Give Up
          Joan Y. Edwards

          Like

          • Thanks. I’ll call you today at 10:00.
            Best regards,
            Angela

            Like

            • I look forward to hearing from you.

              Never Give Up
              Joan Y. Edwards

              Like

  6. Yay! 100 subscribers! Congratulations to all the winners. Anyone who knows Joan is a winner! Isn’t she the best? Her prizes are such a treat too.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. Thank you for being a fun supporter since the beginning of my blog and a great friend. I appreciate you inviting me to be a guest on your blog. It was a great experience sharing and interacting with your readers.
      I’m glad you like the prizes I give.

      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  7. Big Congrats go out to all of the winners! 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Kitty,
      Thanks for writing. Thanks for congratulating all the winners. I have an amazing group of subscribers! I am glad you are one of them.
      Celebrate you today and your willingness to help others.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards.

      Like

  8. Congratulations Joan! You’ve worked your tutu off with this blog and it shows! … May the next 100 come twice as fast. The snowball is now starting down the hill!

    Like

    • Dear Widdershins,
      Thanks for writing. Thanks for the congratulations! You are so funny! How did you know I used to have a tutu? I do strive to write interesting blog posts. Some take longer than others to write. It took 3 weeks to get all the research done for the cross the streets safely post. Thanks for being a loyal subscriber and for leaving comments that help me smile a little wider!
      Celebrate you and your sense of humor!
      Never Give Up!
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  9. Congratulations Joan and congratulations to your winners! I “never give up” so maybe next time for me to be on the list!!!!

    Like

    • Dear Mona,
      Thank you for writing. Thanks for subscribing. Thanks for congratulating me and all the winners. I like your never give up attitude and setting your goals to be on the list of winners of a prize on my blog next time. Sometimes what we wish for comes from places we didn’t plan for. I hope you win many prizes from different sources and from me, too.
      Celebrate your persistence and good sense of humor!
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  10. Congratulations to you and me! Woo hoo, I’m a winner! I’m #70!

    Like

    • Dear Carole,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you found out you are a winner of a free pitch and 1000 word manuscript. I look forward to reading your work.
      Celebrate you!
      Never Give Up!
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  11. Very cool. Congrats.

    Like

    • Dear Kristina,
      Thanks for writing. Thanks for subscribing, too. I love reading your blog and interacting with you! I’d love to be able to ride in boats and live near the water. I also like it when your have your dog write the blogs. That’s creative. Maybe you could write a picture book like that.
      Enjoy your day.
      Celebrate your creativity!
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  12. Way to go, Joan!

    Like

    • Dear Juliana,
      Thanks for writing. Thanks for subscribing to my blog. Thanks for your congratulations. I’m proud you have your Weebly blog up and running. You’ve done a good job with it. Thanks for being a Pubsubber.
      Celebrate your gift of writing and encouraging
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  13. Congratulations Joan! I’m a new subscriber and love seeing your “never give up” notices appear in my inbox. Your articles are wonderful. Thank you for all your hard work and determination.

    Like

    • Dear Lu,
      Thank you for writing. Thanks for subscribing to my blog. I’m glad you love seeing my “Never Give Up” notices appear in your inbox. That makes me smile. I’m honored that you believe my articles are wonderful. You’re welcome for my hard work and determination. You make me even more determined and work even harder to have a blog that keeps you coming back.
      Celebrate your gift of encouragement
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  14. HOORAY! Congratulations Joan for reaching 100 subscribers!!! Very proud of you and you inspire me!

    Like

  15. Congratulations Joan. Here’s to the next 100. Sarah

    Like

  16. Congratulations! We all appreciate your helpful posts. I hope to achieve this goal, too, one day. Thanks for your great work.

    Like

    • Dear Qathy,
      Thank you for writing. I am thankful for your congratulations and telling me you appreciate my helpful posts. I hope you achieve 100 subscribers, too. Let me know when it happens. I’d like to celebrate with you!
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  17. Thank you! I have never won anything before in my Life!

    Like

    • Dear Joy,
      I’m excited that you subscribed to my blog and that you won a free pitch and manuscript critique. I’m working on your story now. You are a great writer. Go, Joy, go.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  18. I would like to post my thanks to Joan for her excellent critique. She pointed out many problems that others have failed to notice. Given me quite a few pointers in manuscripts to come. Helped me with uncomplicating the complicated plot.

    She is a master at what she does.

    Like

    • Dear Joy,
      I bow humbly at your kind words. You are welcome for my critique. I’m glad you found my comments helpful and that you were able to see how to simplify your plot. Have fun with your writing. You are a great writer.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  19. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was seeking this certain info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

    Like

    • Dear Ervin,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you thought it was a nice post with useful information and that you’re impressed.
      Celebrate you and your curious nature.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

