• Blog Stats

    • 478,710 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

I Was Tagged in a Writer’s Game of Tag


“I Was Tagged in a Writer’s Game of Tag” by Joan Y. Edwards

http://www.freestockphotos.biz/stockphoto/16869

by Tjoepoe freestockphotos.biz
You’re It. I tagged you for a fun, inspirational, and enlightening blog.

On September 13, 2012, Linda Andersen, writer of “A Writer’s Playground” blog: http://www.lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com tagged me and asked me to play. The way the game is played, I tag four bloggers and ask that they share comments about what they’re writing on their blog and tag four other blogs.

I found this clever looking robot created by Tjoepoe on http://www.freestockphotos.biz. I thought he looked like he might play tag with us.

Here are four blogs to which I subscribe that are fun, inspirational, and enlightening.  I believe you would enjoy them, too.

My picks are:

1. Kena Paranjape In Life and in Fashion  She has really good advice about life and about fashion. She started her own business so she hasn’t been blogging as much. But the blog posts that are there are wonderful.

2. Daniel Postlethwaite’s blog Fresh Ink.  He showcases new writers. He has guest bloggers present their work or hints about writing.  You could post your work or critique work. Submit your work or guest blog to FreshInk@wordsformwindows.com

3.Suzie Townsend Confessions from Suite 500  Suzie is an agent with New Leaf Literary. She takes Middle Grade, Young Adult, and Adult queries in this blog and evaluates them. Follow her guidelines for the different blogposts and queries to her as an agent.

4 Tracy Marchini Tracy Marchini. Tracy writes Middle Grade and also is a freelance editor.

Here are my responses to the questions about my work in progress that accompanied this Tag game:

1. What is the working title of your book? Follow Your Immigrant Heart (by Joan Y. Edwards)

2. Where did the idea come from the book? In 2001, my husband, Carl and I were in a museum in Pueblo, Colorado that showed how Italian and other immigrants were mistreated at Ellis Island. How if they were lame, they marked an “L” on their shoulder and sent them back home. I thought of what it would be like to even think of having to separate from the ones you love so much. Would you go back, too? Or would you stay? Difficult choices: a dilemma because neither one is what the person wanted. I wrote a beginning called, “The Separation.” I only wrote a little about a young woman with a child and her grandfather, but it got really complicated with the baby and I only wrote a few pages. I later decided I wanted it for Young Adults and would leave the baby out.

3. What genre is your book? Historical Fiction, Mystery

4. Which actors would you choose to play the characters in a movie? Young Italian girl, aged 16. Old Italian Man in 70’s. Middle Aged Italian Man 30’s.

5. What is a one sentence synopsis of your book? In 1902, a young Italian girl’s dreams of high fashions and acceptance by her father are shattered when she arrives at Ellis Island and authorities mark an “L” for lame on her grandfather that might send them both back to Italy and she finds out that her father may have been killed in a train wreck.

6. Will your book be self-published, represented by an agency, or published by a traditional publisher? My goal is to have it published by a traditional publisher and to be on the New York Best Seller list.

7. How long did it take you to finish your first draft? 30 days in November during 2007 NaNoWriMo.

8. What other books would you compare yours to in this genre? Janna Mysteries by Felicity Ann Pulman. There are six of these. Rosemary for Remembrance is Book 1.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book? See number 2.

10. What else about your book might pique a reader’s interest? The female protagonist is witty, smart, and will do anything to protect her family.

Linda, thanks again for inviting me to play tag with you and other bloggers. It was fun.

Read exciting interviews and activities for each month to inspire you on Linda’s blog at http://www.lindamartinandersen.wordpress.com.

We have 93 subscribers now. Thanks. Only 7 subscribers away from our big celebration. When we reach 100 subscribers, ten lucky subscribers will win a free pitch and 1000 word manuscript critiques. I’ll choose one winner from first ten subscribers, second ten, etc. One lucky person will win a free pitch and 5000 word manuscript critique. Would you like to win? Get your name in the hat, now.  Subscribe now by email from the left hand column.

Thank you for reading my blog. I hope you will come back often. It’s great to see you whenever you come.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2012 Joan Y. Edwards

6 Responses

  1. Joan,

    Thanks for taking time to play tag! I find it interesting that a story about people entering America at Ellis Island was inspired by a museum visit in Colorado, not NY. I always enjoy reading your posts and seeing what you’re up to with your writing and all about your backstory too. Best wishes with all your projects!

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      You are welcome for my playing tag. I’ve been really busy lately, but I love to take time out to play. It’s a vital part of life. I’m glad you were intrigued because I got inspired way out in Colorado to write about Ellis Island. Thanks for wishing me luck with all my projects. You are a good friend.

      Celebrate you sense of fun!
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. OH,my goodness. Tagging. Joan, I am getting a technical headache! Just yesterday my grand daughters loaded games on my new tablet and taught me to play. And now, tag…? May I please crawl back into my cave dwelling? 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Maureen,
      You are so cute and lovable…a technical headache. Games to play on your tablet. How awesome! And now I ask you to play “tag.” You can watch. See us running here and there. I always enjoy hearing from you. You are a blessing. You can go back in your cave, if you want.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  3. Thanks for sharing your wip Joan. It sounds engaging. Great tag post. I too just finished a tag post last week. I’d like to say to Maureen, I know how you feel. i too want to sit in my cave and write.

    Like

    • Dear Susan, Thanks for writing. You’re welcome for sharing my work in progress. I am glad it sounds engaging. Congratulations on your tag post. You and Maureen are enticing me to go back into the cave and write. Awesome idea. Slates ready, girls. Go for it.

      Never Give Up Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

