• Blog Stats

    • 462,645 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

You Are a Writer; You Are a Quarterback


“You Are a Writer; You are a Quarterback” by Joan Y. Edwards

You are a writer. You are a quarterback who needs a team of people to help him get published. Perhaps what I wrote below will speak to you. I get a thrill when a quarterback throws the ball way down the field and a receiver catches it. It is even more exciting when the receiver is in the end zone when he catches it…publication! I hope you enjoy reading this. Read it aloud and see if it’s calling your name.

Shea Smith, the former quarterback of the Air ...

Shea Smith, the former quarterback of the Air Force Falcons, looks to pass during the 2007 Armed Forces Bowl.  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Offensive Line

You are a quarterback. You put my great ideas inside a manuscript shaped like a football.  Your dreams are inside with it. You hand off your football to the running back editor or pass it to the tight end agent. You want them to stick to my manuscript and do everything in the world to keep from losing it. You want them to run effectively and efficiently and carry my manuscript football down to the publication goal line. You want them to stretch their arms across that goal line to teach me how to give it the extra zing my writing needs for readers to fill the stadium to watch a replay of your story and the six points you got for touchdown publication. The place kicker marketer on your special team comes in and kicks your manuscript up higher over bars of expectation and gains an extra point for great release day activities. The balloons rise to the skies. The bells ring. The people in the stadium cheer so loud no one can hear you thank them.

Writing Offense: Query

Quarterback: Idea Man, Goals, Writer, Illustrator

Sweep Play is when the book hits the New York Best Seller’s List.

The End Zone is only an end zone when you give up and don’t come to play the next game.

Referees are your mentors who teach you and help you learn the ways that work and the ones that don’t work to get to publication. They may be the people who reject you and say” no.” But these people fuel you with more enthusiasm and determination to get that goal.

If you don’t make the goal the first time, you need a Defensive Line

After you receive a rejection or decide you need to revise your plan, you need a Defensive Line. Your defensive line includes people to support, encourage, teach, inspire, train, and promote me. These are family, friends, critique partners, and professionals who introduce you to new possibilities and ways to build your strengths.

Linemen come to help. Left tackle protects your confidence. Left guard keeps your chin up in the face of fear.

The God  you believe in, is your center who helps keep your mind, body, spirit, life, and writing goals in balance.

Right guard protects your body from overwork and exertion. Right tackle gives you the people and resources you need to find a publisher for your writing.

The coach, your subconscious mind, your  innermost thoughts and wishes, your heart and soul, tells you where the game is going to be played and makes sure you  have the right equipment and materials to safely get you where you want to go.

Yes, you are a writer. You are a quarterback.”

Thank you for reading my blog. I am so happy that you’re here. Please leave a comment.

We have 90 subscribers now. When we reach 100 subscribers, ten lucky subscribers will win a free pitch and 1000 word manuscript critiques. We need only ten more to reach that goal. I’ll choose one winner from first ten subscribers, second ten, etc. One lucky person will win a free pitch and 5000 word manuscript critique. Would you like to win? Get your name in the hat, now.  Subscribe now by email from the left hand column.

Do 3 fun things today.
Believe in you!
Never Give Up

Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2012 Joan Y. Edwards

14 Responses

  1. What a nice analogy! May yoiu have nothing but touchdowns, Joan.

    Like

    • Dear Maureen,
      Thank you. I’m glad you liked the analogy. Have fun this evening.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. Joan,

    You carried this one all the way down the line! Publication success!

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for saying I carried this one all the way down the line for a touchdown. Publication success. Sometimes a quarterback does carry the ball by himself, but the others have to pave the way for him to block the obstacles from stopping him.
      Thanks for writing.
      You are the quarterback of your dreams.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  3. Joan, great analogy! And, it does take help from others (team) to create a publishable story.

    Like

    • Dear Karen,
      Thanks for the compliment. You are right, it does take help from others to learn to create a publishable story.
      Celebrate you and your helpfulness,
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  4. I love this analogy–please count me in your defensive line!

    Like

    • Dear Kathleen,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you liked my analogy. I’m even more delighted that you want me to count you in my defensive line. You’re so much fun. Thanks for being you.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  5. Hi Joan, I’m not a football fan, but great analogy! It does take a team. I’d like to find a partner who can do some of the computer techno stuff and illustrate. That would be a team for me. You have a wonderful blog, and wonderful spirit. Write on!.

    Like

    • Dear Susan, Thank you for writing. I’m glad you liked the analogy, even thought you are not a football fan. You’re right. It does take a team. Thanks for the compliment about my blog and my spirit.

      Never Give Up
      Keep Your Winning Spirit
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  6. That was superb. So clever. I love how you talked about God. So many people are reluctant to mention God. I appreciate your talent keep up the good work. I’m officially hooked.

    Like

    • Dear Angela,
      I’m glad you thought “I am a writer; I am a quarterback” was clever. I had fun writing it. I collected all kinds of information about football. I debated about writing it as “You are a writer; You are a Quarterback.” Do you think it would have been more meaningful to readers that way? Everyone has to honor their own feelings. God keeps me going. God is very important to me. He deserves my love, praise, and thanksgiving. I’m proud to mention him. Thanks for writing. I’m glad you are officially hooked on my blog. Another friend, Karen Tomas, told me my blog was addictive. Isn’t she funny?
      Celebrate you today.
      God made you beautiful inside and out.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  7. A quarterback may be the star, but it takes a team to back him up. Same with a writer. Love the post.

    Like

    • Dear Janet,
      Thank you for writing. You are right. A quarterback may be the star, but it takes a team to back him up. It definitely is the same with a writer. How many people can you name who help a writer, who stand behind every book? Oh goodness! Way more than the number 11 on a football team.
      Celebrate you.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

