• Blog Stats

    • 461,559 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Top Ten Reasons I Love Being a Part of PubSub3rdFriday! by Juliana Jones


Today I am honored to have as a guest blogger, Juliana Jones. I am equally honored to have her as a member of Pubsubbers and a believer in the PubSub3rdFri philosophy. Welcome, Juliana. I love the picture of you and your rescue dog, Lily. Thanks for coming  and sharing with us today.

Juliana Jones and Lily, her rescue dog - September 2012

Juliana Jones and Lily, her rescue dog September 2012
Copyright © 2012 Juliana Jones

Top Ten Reasons I Love Being a Part of PubSub3rdFriday!

By Juliana M. Jones

I came across Joan Edwards and her PubSub3rdFriday when I attended the online Catholic Writer’s Guild conference in March 2012. I liked Joan’s philosophy to continually revise pieces and get them out at least once a month by following a set plan. I already knew the more articles and stories I submitted, the better my chances of publication. But I felt I needed more discipline and support. So with this is mind, I decided to give the group a try. Over the last six months, I’ve found many benefits from being a Pubsubber, both personally and professionally.

Friendships

1. I reach out to many people around me in my daily life, but there is something missing; none of them are writers. As a creative type, it’s nice to fit in with those who share my artistic talent. I know with this group of fellow writers I also share a goal of publication—that validation for all those hours of hard work. A supportive internet group like Pubsubbers is just what I need.

2. I have a sense of solidarity in my struggles as part of Pubsubbers. I quit my job a year ago to become a full-time writer and I love my new life. But it’s not easy, to be honest, sitting in the same chair, staring at the same home décor while I continually learn the craft and bash out publishable articles. Loneliness can easily set in for me. I’m no psychological expert, but I feel isolation is a reason I’ve waited this long to devote myself to the craft. Knowing the Pubsubbers group is there to commiserate keeps me from letting the solitude interrupt my creative flow.

3. The group helps me stay positive! All the kind words spoken by the members to help each other give me the courage to continue writing. Who doesn’t need a cheerleader?

4. I’m in an environment I can trust — my feelings won’t be hurt. I know I should have a tougher skin in this business of creating stories, but who wants to have their ideas ridiculed? I’ve come across this in other groups, but it won’t happen at Pubsubbers. I’ve found here sympathetic and caring members.

5. I can give back to the group by sharing, providing my time and insights. It’s healthy for me to get out of my own head and hear what others are up against. We are all valued and respected at Pubsubbers.

Advancement as a Professional

6. Pubsubbers helps me to seriously see myself as a writer. No more taking it as a hobby.

7.  Just like networking through LinkIn, Facebook and other social sites, I am expanding my associations. The members provide a wealth of information, sharing tips on how-to-write books they’ve found helpful, information on upcoming online classes, etc. I have something to offer the group as well and staying connected to the outside world is a great way to grow as a professional.

8. Pubsubbers offers a manuscript critique exchange, an even swap. No matter how many times I look my work over, I’m going to miss something. I always welcome constructive criticism. The swap also gives me a chance to learn while editing the writings of others.

Time Management

9. The four-week program keeps me on task. I set goals and try to meet them. Although I don’t follow Joan’s schedule exactly (I have yet to get a submission out on the third Friday), I’m constantly reminded via emails to hop on it, and complete anything I’ve gotten started.

10. I know I can take a rain check if I’m unable to get out a submission and not feel guilty about it. There’s no pressure. We all know life gets in the way, but as long as I’m making an effort to meet my goals, I’m satisfied with my progress.

Being a part of Pubsubbers has helped me grow into a more courageous and savvy writer. Statistics don’t lie – over the last six months, I’ve increased my submissions by 35% and acceptances by 30%. Here are 3 things I got published this year:

1. guardian-angel-kids.com ezine: A Box with Bellows (Aug. 2012, pages 9-11); http://www.guardian-angel-kids.com/8-012-3Dflipbook/index.html

2. mylightmagazine.com: Our Lady Speaks to Juan; http://mylightmagazine.com/Our-Lady-Speaks-to-Juan.php

3. Devozine: Ice Cream Fast; http://devozine.upperroom.org/spiritual-practices/ice-cream-fast/

I’ve also gained confidence, expanding to other markets beyond my usual. I’ve polished the first chapters of a Young Adult novel for professional critique and written a new novel for Middle Grades. Truly, this is all thanks to involvement with Pubsubbers. Elizabeth Barrett Browning wrote, “No one can be called friendless when he has God and the companionship of good books.” I’m going to add Pubsubbers to that list.

Wow! What an wonderful article, Juliana.  Congratulations on your increased submissions and your increased acceptances. Thanks again for being a part of PubSub3rdFri and Pubsubbers. Celebrate you today.

Do you submit at least one of your manuscripts to an editor or agent once a month? Then you are a Pubsubber.

There are steps to get your manuscript ready for submission:

Week 1 Choose an editor, agent, or contest.

Week 2 Follow their guidelines.

Week 3 Time to Submit to agent, editor, contest, critique group, or professional editor

Week 4 Educate and motivate the muse within you

Join the Pubsubbers Yahoo group to post successes, ask members for help. etc. The group has automated reminders for the weekly steps to get your work ready for submission. You can swap manuscripts for critique. You can submit your work any time. We just set the third Friday as our goal.

Join by sending an email to pubsubbers-subscribe@yahoogroups.com or write me at the email address from the left-hand column to let me know.

Thanks for reading my blog. Please feel free to ask questions and give your comments to Juliana Jones or me. We’d love to hear from you.

We have 84 subscribers now. When we reach 100 subscribers, ten lucky subscribers will win a free pitch and 1000 word manuscript critiques. One lucky person will win a free pitch and 5000 word manuscript critique. Would you like to win? Subscribe now by email from the left hand column, please.

October 9, 2012 is the third birthday of my Never Give Up blog. I’m going to give a surprise gift to everyone who comments on my blog that day. Be sure to join the fun!

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2012 Joan Y. Edwards

14 Responses

  1. Juliana,
    I’m so glad you’re a fellow pubsubber. You contribute so much to the group through regular submissions, blog comments, and support! It’s been great getting to know you and now I know Lily, your rescue dog. It looks like you’ve both been rescued. It’s hard to tell who’s happiest 😉

    Like

    • Dear Linda, Thank you for writing such a sweet, heart-warming letter to Juliana. I know it will mean a lot to her.
      Have fun today.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

    • Thanks, Linda. It’s been great getting to know you, too, especially when you wear such a cool hat!

      Like

  2. Is Pubsubbers just for writers submitting to publishers? I have three books under contract at the moment with a publisher, but now I’m writing a self help book to self publish. Thanks for the interview Joan, and nice to meet Juliana, and Lily

    Like

    • Dear Susan,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you enjoyed meeting Juliana Jones and her rescue dog, Lily. She is an inspiration. Pubsubbers is primarily meant to help people meet their goal of traditional publishing. We count as a submission when you submit to critique groups, contests, agents, editors (to critique and edit your book before submitting it), or publishers aiming at publication. It could also be for illustrators for the same purpose. If you are self-publishing, some of the steps for Week 1,2,3,4 (Check out these tabs at the top of my blog) could help you. Instead of looking for a publisher, you would spend more time researching for information to add to your book and make sure it is top notch for self-publication. We set goals for ourselves. Setting goals for yourself at the beginning of the month and then we check at the end of the month to see if we’ve met them. Congratulations on your three books under contract…wow. You could try the pubsubbers group and see if it helps you. We’d be honored to have you.

      Celebrate you!
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  3. An excellent post– and a very good interview. I like your pubsubbers idea. Someday, when I am not feeling too lazy, I would like to join you. In the meantime, I applaud your zest and your zeal and the great ideas that you share with the rest of us. And… of course… I am in awe of your technical skills!! 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Maureen,
      Thank you for writing. I agree. Juliana wrote an excellent article. I’m glad you liked the Pubsubbers idea. We’re here if you’d like to join us. Thank you for your kind compliments. You always make me feel good. I smile for hours after reading your comments.
      Do something fun today!
      Laugh Smile Giggle
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

    • Hi, Maureen:
      I’m glad you enjoyed my article. Trust me, I have days when the zest is low, but I write when I can, at my own pace, and then the zeal returns. The important thing for me is that I try. And also, I make it a point not to compare myself with anyone.
      Juliana Jones

      Like

  4. Dear Juliana,
    Thank you for writing such a positive “Never give up! article. (sorry Joan I stole your quote) It was very uplifting. I’m glad I know you, Juliana. Joan thank you so much for starting pubsubbers.
    June

    Like

    • Thanks for you comments, June. I hope my words will help you stay enthused about the writing life and being a part of pubsubbers!

      Like

    • Dear June,
      Juliana did write a positive “Never Give Up” article, didn’t she? It’s okay to use that quote. I’m sure I was not the first to use it. I don’t think you and I will be the last to use it, either. You’re welcome for my starting Pubsubbers. Thanks for being a member!
      Do something fun!
      Write a story that makes you laugh.
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  5. This is an encouraging blog post! Thanks for sharing Julianne. I think I should be a Pub Subber. Joan is the most encouraging writer friend I know! I am already in her other group!
    Megan

    Like

    • Thanks for your thumbs up, Megan. I’m happy to encourage you on your writing path. We’d welcome you enthusiastically if you choose to join pubsubbers.
      Juliana

      Like

    • Dear Megan,
      Thanks for your compliments about Juliana’s blogpost. She did an outstanding job. She is a great writer and a wonderful encourager and friend. We would love to have you join Pubsubbers. Just send an email to pubsubbers-subscribe@yahoogroups.com.
      Thanks for being my friend.
      Do something fun to celebrate you today!
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

