Submit to an Editor or an Agent in August (Pub Sub)


“Submit to a Publisher or Agent in August (Pub Sub)” by Joan Y. Edwards

Dear Readers,

I can’t believe it’s August. This year is flying by. How many submissions have you made this year?

Choose your best writing month from January – July.
How many hours did you spend writing manuscripts this month?
How many hours did you spend looking for markets for your book(s)?
How many hours do you spend working on a project that will help with expanding the number of people who know you and your writing? marketing your book(s)? Blogs? School Visits? Organization Visits? Facebook? Twitter?

During August perhaps you can increase the area in which you think you need to work. Say increase the amount of time by 10 minutes.

Path to Publication

A. Road to a good manuscript

  1. Writing a manuscript
  2. Self-Edit your manuscript
  3. Submit it to a Critique Group.
  4. Submit it for a Paid Critique.
  5. Submit it for a Free Critique.
  6. Edit it to the “polished – as good as I can get it for now” stage. Properly formatted. Punctuation and grammar checked. Pitch written, Plot checked. Characterization embedded.

B. Road to a good publisher – the gate to publication

  1. Submit polished manuscript to a contest (with a prize of publication)
  2. Submit polished manuscript to a publisher.
  3. Submit polished manuscript to an agent

I want to motivate you to make at least five more submissions to editors and/or agents this year. That’s one for August, September, October, November, and December. Let’s focus on August. Get the submission done for August, then we’ll worry about the other months. Go ahead. Submit your manuscript to an editor or agent during August. You’ll be glad you did.

Let’s face it. If you write, critique, revise continuously, that is really good. That gets you to the polished manuscript. That gets you to the gate. The gate openers are the agents and editors. Now is the time to take a chance on you and your polished manuscript(s). Now is the time to submit your manuscript to an agent or editor.

I believe in you. God believes in you. Your critique group believes in you. Your great-grandfather believes in you. Your neighbor down the street believes in you. Your mail carrier believes in you. Take a step to show that you believe in yourself. Submit your manuscript to an agent or editor.

Do I practice what I preach? To be truthful, I need to submit more manuscripts to publishers or agents. I haven’t done well in submitting to editors and agents in 2012. I plan to focus on that for the next five months. Although I did a bunch of things, I didn’t submit to an agent or editor. I wrote, edited, and improved my marketing platform. I wrote blog posts, taught mini-lessons, taught online workshops, visited with family, and talked with friends. However, I did not submit a single manuscript to an editor or agent. Come on. Join me. Let’s submit a manuscript to an editor or agent during August.

Winners of the contest when this article appeared are in the comment area.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

I love my readers and subscribers. 83 people have subscribed to my blog. Subscribe and receive notices by email of new posts and a free gift. Thank you.

For other inspirational blog posts about submitting your work once a month, check out this link:
https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/category/writing/pub-sub-3rd-fri/,

For Step-by-Step Directions to get your submissions ready, check out the following links:

Week 1,

Week 2,

Week 3 Pub Sub Friday,

Week 4

Submit your work. You are worth it. Good luck with all your publication endeavors.

Here are six  articles I found on the internet to help further increase your chances to get published.

  1. Michelle Kerns. “30 Authors Who Were Rejected Repeatedly and Sometimes Rudely by Publishers” http://www.examiner.com/book-in-national/30-famous-authors-whose-works-were-rejected-repeatedly-and-sometimes-rudely-by-publishers
  2. David Miller. “Four Ways to Increase Your Chances of Getting Published” http://matadornetwork.com/notebook/4-ways-to-increase-your-chances-of-getting-publishing/

  3. Sharon Miner. “What Are the Chances at Getting Published?”  http://www.ehow.com/info_8097393_chances-getting-published.html

  4. James Weseen. “How to Increase Your Chances of Getting Published” http://www.writerscoop.org/How_to_Increase_your_Chances_of_Getting_Published.pdf

  5. Henry at Creative Writers Desk. “Increase Your Odds of Getting Published with a Killer Query Letter”  http://www.creativewritersdesk.com/queryletter.html

  6. Julie H. Ferguson. “Five Proven Ways to Increase Your Chances of Being Published:” http://www.beaconlit.com/fiveways.pdf

Put a Positive Spin on Life
Never Give Up

Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright 2012 © Joan Y. Edwards

9 Responses

  1. Joan,
    So far this year I have submitted one manuscript to Eerdman’s and one to Ideals. I also have one manuscript out with a museum for consideration. Thanks to a good friend, I now have a blog and I have been posting regularly since May 1. I am also critiquing a book for a family member who may self publish. I also participate in a critique group each week. I’m pretty pleased with my writing accomplishments for the year, but there’s room for improvement. Thanks for encouraging us to set worthy goals and strive to achieve them.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Wow! You have accomplished a lot in the writing, marketing, submitting area. That is great. I am proud of you and all your accomplishments. I hope you get published soon. You’re welcome for my encouragement to set worthy goals and taking action to achieve them. It helps me to reach higher, too.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards
      http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Like

  2. Joan, I submitted a novella to my editor on Friday and hope to finish and polish a submission for a call out by the end of August. Thanks for the challenge.

    Like

    • Dear Lynn,
      Thanks for taking me up on the challenge. I am very proud of you for submitting a novella to your editor yesterday. I’m proud of your polishing a submission for a call out by the end of August. Perhaps it will be ready for submission in September. Hurray for you. Celebrate today!

      Joan Y. Edwards

      Flip Flap Floodle, the happy little duck who Never Gives Up
      Hear Flip’s Song
      Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Flip-Flap-Floodle-Joan-Edwards/dp/1594572852/
      Barnes & Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/flip-flap-floodle?r=1
      Website: http://www.joanyedwards.com
      Blog: http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com/

      Coming in June 2015: Joan’s Elder Care Guide 4RV Publishing.

      Like

  3. Hi Joan,
    I made a comment on subpubbers saying that I subbed a query on my ya to Kendra Marcus at BookStop Literary Agency today. I thought it was going through but then I got asked for WordPress password, which I put in three times to no avail. Sorry I don’t know how to get it to work.

    Susa Silvermarie

    Like

  4. Dear Susa,
    I copied and pasted your comments from your email here. I’m proud of you for submitting to a literary agent. You and Lynn Cahoon are in the drawing now. I hope more people take the challenge and join you.
    Do something good to celebrate you today.
    Never Give Up!
    Joan Y. Edwards

    Like

  5. Hi Joan,
    I’m on a roll. Just subbed queries on my YA novel BELONGING to two additional agents, Molly Jaffa of Folio and Judith Engracia of Liza Dawson Associates. I’m so glad to be back in the saddle of subbing. Thanks for your encouragement.

    Blessings and Balance,
    Susa

    Like

    • Dear Susa,
      You really are on a roll. Good for you. Thanks for writing. So far you and Lynn Cahoon are in the running for the free critique!
      You’re welcome for the encouragement.
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  6. Dear Lynn and Susa,
    Thanks for letting me know about your submitting to an editor or agent.
    I’m going to Random.org to select the winner. Linn is number one. Susa is number 2.The number Random.org chose is: Dun Da Dun. Number 2. Therefore Susa Silvermarie, you won a free pitch and 1000 word manuscript critique by me. Send it to me in Word Document format to…joanyedwards@earthlink.net.
    Linn since you came in second place, I’ll critique a first page for you, if you like. Send your first page in Word Document format to…joanyedwards@earthlink.net.

    Congratulations, Susa and Lynn!
    Good luck with your submissions and your publishing dreams.
    Never Give Up
    Joan Y. Edwards

    Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

