• Blog Stats

    • 485,606 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Dianna Gunn Gave Me The Lucky 7 Meme Award


“Dianna Gunn Gave Me The Lucky 7 Meme Award” by Joan Y. Edwards

The Lucky 7 Meme Award

*Please Note: I heard the first post didn’t work right, so I posted another one. I already had comments on one, so I didn’t want anyone to miss them. Therefore, I’m leaving both posts here so that the people whose blogs are listed below will be seen.

On March 26, 2012 Dianna Gunn gave me “The Lucky 7 Meme Award.” It looked like fun so I thought I’d give it a try. I did a bit of research first.

A meme, according to Wikipedia and other dictionaries, is an idea, behavior or style that spreads from person to person within a culture.

As I see it, a Lucky 7 Meme is an award given by one blogger to seven other bloggers. In a Lucky 7 Meme blog, a writer shares a 7 part portion after line 7 on page 77 of his work-in-progress (WIP) and puts links to the seven bloggers he chooses for the award. In this way, many people are recognized and have a chance to share a miniscule part of their work online.

Here are the rules:

1. Go thou to page 77 of your current MS

2. Get thee hence to line 7

3. Copy down the next 7 lines – sentences or paragraphs – and post them as they’re written. No cheating!

4. Tag 7 authors

5. Let each and every one of them know

Here is 7 parts after line 7 on page 77 excerpt from my novel, “Follow Your Immigrant Heart.”

            “Joy put her brother, Dr. Steven Polanski in the tunnel. He should be here any minute.”

            “That is good news,” I said straightening Papa’s quilt.

Lawrence said, “You two stay in this room. Close the bedroom door and hide. I’ll make sure it’s really the doctor. If I come in and say ‘Charity,’ stay where you are and breathe only when you must. If I say, ‘Philippè, the doctor is here,’ you will know everything is fine. Then you can get from your hiding place and open the door. Do you understand?”

            “Yes.”

            “I’m off to the tunnel,” said Lawrence.

            We closed the bedroom door. I made sure my father looked comfortable. Then I hid in the privy room. Randall sat in a chair behind the door.

            In a few minutes, we heard footsteps cross over the hardwood floor in the kitchen.

***

I hope you enjoyed stepping into my novel. It’d love to hear your opinions about it.

Now I pass the Lucky 7 Meme torch on to seven people whose blogs I am thankful for:

  1. Karen Cioffi
  2. Roxie Hanna
  3. Tara Lazar
  4. Joy Acey Frelinger
  5. Kathie Pugaczewski
  6. Darcy Pattison
  7. Donna Earnhardt

I hope that these Lucky Seven will participate so that I can read their excerpts.

Do something fun to celebrate you today!

Never Give Up Joan Y. Edwards

4 Responses

  1. Joan,
    This time it’s working! Yay!
    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for letting me know the other one didn’t work and that this one is working. Hip Hip Hooray!
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. Meme on, Joan!

    Like

    • Dear Widdershins,
      Thanks. You are so cool. You have a great sense of humor. I needed to laugh today. Thank you.

      Do something fun for you!
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

