• Blog Stats

    • 467,439 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

“As Quiet as a Mouse”


“As Quiet as a Mouse” by Joan Y. Edwards

I washed the dishes in the kitchen after supper. I took the trash out the back door. It was dark. When I came back in the house, I stopped at the steps going into the basement. I heard a noise downstairs.

“Rattle, rattle, rattle.”

“Who’s down there,” I asked.

No one answered. There’s nothing scarier than silence. Being a second grader made me brave. I wiped the dining room table off and swept the floor.

I went back to the landing leading to the basement steps. I heard the same noise again.

“Rattle, rattle, rattle.”

It was even creepier than the first time. I said, “Who’s down there? Speak up.”

No one answered.

This called for action. I needed my emergency contact person. I called Junior Gambrell. He lived two houses up from us on Birch Street. I dialed his number that Mother had put by the phone. When Junior answered, I told him my dilemma. He said he would be right down. He said, “Don’t go near the basement.”

He didn’t have to warn me about that. There was no way that I was going to go down in the basement.

Junior had high-powered legs that got him there in a matter of seconds. Although to me, it seemed like hours. When he arrived, he followed me to top of the basement steps. He has a flashlight in his hands. We both stood  and waited in silence.

“Rattle, rattle, rattle.”

Junior asked, “Who’s down there?”

No one answered.

I put my hand over my mouth to keep from screaming because Junior walked down those steps into the basement. He looked up at me and put one finger over his mouth motioning “Shhh.”

I started praying. What if there was a thief down there? My “what ifs” made me more afraid. What if he hurts Junior.

I looked down the stairs and waited to hear something from Junior.

“Rattle, rattle, rattle.”

Junior asked, “Who’s down here? Where are you?

Then I heard Junior laugh. He said, “Turn on the lights, Joan.”

Then he said, “Everything’s all right. Come on down here.”

When I got down there, Junior was standing in front of a huge barrel that used to contain household items when we moved there a couple of months before. 

“Come on. It’s okay. I want you to see your noisy thief. ”

He was looking inside the barrel. I went and leaned over and took a peek.

There at the bottom of the barrel was a tiny brown mouse. 

Each time he jumped trying to get out of the barrel, the barrel made a rattle, rattle, rattle sound.

When he heard us talk. He knew to be quiet.

Junior got rid of the mouse.  He left and went back home. He told me to call if I needed him again.

Mother came back from the store, just as Junior was leaving. I went upstairs to bed, but it took me a long time to go to sleep that night. The stories about being as quiet as a mouse aren’t always true.

This was a true story. I know Mother and Daddy weren’t there. I don’t think my older sister was there either. However, my younger brother may have been there.  He might have been asleep. My younger sister wasn’t born yet.

I hope you enjoyed this story. It is my gift to you for helping me get to over 20,000 readers in 28 months. Thank you. I’d love to hear stories from you.

Do something today to celebrate your sense of humor
Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2012 Joan Y. Edwards

6 Responses

  1. We love you, Joan. Thanks for the cute story!

    Like

    • Dear Sharon,
      Thanks for writing. Aw, shuckins, Sharon. You say the nicest things. It’s a wonderful feeling to be loved by my readers. Thank you very much. Being surrounded by people who love you is great encouragement to keep on going! This experience was only funny after it was over!

      Do something fun to celebrate you today!
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. I’m glad your brave neighbor came to the rescue. Cute story. I especially like how well the title fit the story. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, Thanks for being glad that my brave neighbor came to the rescue. I was so afraid. My first title was “Noisy Thief.” Then I happened to write the quiet as a mouse in the closing part, it just seemed appropriate. I thought it wouldn’t give away the ending. And there really wasn’t a thief. I’m glad you thought the title fit the story.

      Enjoy what you’re doing now Never Give Up Joan Y. Edwards http://www.joanyedwards.com http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Like

  3. Great story Joan. That poor little mouse was probably as scared as you were!

    Like

    • Dear Lisa,
      Thank you for writing. I’m glad you liked my story. You know what. I hadn’t thought about it. But, you’re exactly right, that little mouse was definitely as scared as I was. Now it would be interesting to write the same story from the mouse’s point of view! Hmm. Food for thought. See you’ve inspired me to think a different way. Thank you.

      Do something fun for you today!
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

