What Entices You to Submit Your Writing by Linda Andersen (Guest Blogger-PubSub3rdFri)


“What Entices You to Submit Your Writing” by Linda Andersen (Guest Blogger-PubSub3rdFri)

Linda Andersen: Joan, thank you for inviting me to be a guest blogger on PubSub3rdFri.
Joan Y. Edwards: You’re welcome. I am very honored that you’re willing to share your ideas about PubSubbing with us.

PubSub3rdFri Participant

Pub Sub 3rd Fri Participant

Linda Andersen: Today’s topic is:  WHAT ENTICES YOU TO SUBMIT YOUR WRITING?

What if you read an advertisement for PubSub3rdFri that guaranteed publication, would you give it a try?  What if the program assured increased likelihood of publication, would you participate?  Why not check out PubSub3rdFri and determine your own satisfaction rating?  I think you’ll be glad you did.

When Joan Edwards, originator of PubSub3rdFri, modified the program guidelines to include submissions to critique groups, I knew my monthly goal was obtainable.  Sometimes, a writing sample needs to be critiqued and revised more than once before it is ready to send to a publisher.  PubSub3rdFri encourages monthly submissions to publishers, but not until the writing is ready.  Now, I have a double incentive for producing writing samples monthly—my writing group and PubSub3rdFri.

What if it’s nearly time to submit to my critique group and I don’t have something ready to send, what do I do?  I look for a way “to light a fire under me.”  I need a writing sample and quick.  Sometimes, I pull out an old manuscript and revise it.  A few months back, I did just that with some rebus stories.  Once my writing group gave its critique, I revised and submitted to a publisher.  Unfortunately those submissions did not sell.  Perhaps I’ll revise them at a later time and try again.

In 2011, I set a goal to be published in several leading children’s magazines.  I wanted to earn more magazine credits before submitting manuscripts to book publishers. My strategy was to customize two stories to magazine themes, send four queries to another themed magazine, and revise an existing story.  Three of these submissions were purchased; thus, I reached my publication goal and my PubSub3rdFri goal.  What a great feeling.

No matter how polished your submissions, some manuscripts may never be published.  PubSub3rdFri is there to entice you to submit, but it has no power over submission acceptances.  You will have projects that aren’t purchased.  Even projects dear to your heart may need to rewritten in a different genre.  Sometimes your project may be passed on due to marketability. How flexible are you?  I have one such project that may never be purchased, although it’s possible that the information might be of interest in another format—perhaps as a pamphlet for museum tours.  I’ll think on possibilities.

If you would like to belong to a community that encourages, motivates, and supports submissions, register with PubSub3rdFri.  Happy PubSubbing!

Do the PubSub3rdFriday
And turn your luck around,
That’s what it’s all about!

Linda Andersen
Guest Blogger

Joan Y. Edwards: Thank you, Linda for those encouraging words. I appreciate your willingness to post February’s reasons to Pub Sub.

Thank you for reading my blog. I hope it inspires you to believe in yourself. When I reach 100 email subscribers, I’ll choose ten at random subscribers to win a free first page critique. The 100th subscriber will win a free critique of the first 1000 words of a manuscript, along with its pitch.  That sounds like fun to me. I hope it sounds like fun to you, too. Subscribe today. Click the Sign Me Up in the left hand column, or click on Follow if it is visible at the top of the page.

I’d be honored if you share this blog post with your friends.

Do something you enjoy today!
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2012 Joan Y. Edwards

10 Responses

  1. Joan and LInda- Thank you for sharing this and encouraging other writers too. We all know that we’re never going to get published if we don’t ever submit! 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Carol,
      Thanks for writing. I am delighted that Linda was willing to share her thoughts about PubSub3rdFri. She’s very persistent and dedicated about sending off her articles to magazines. She met her goals. Now she’s made new ones. Go, Linda. go. Go, Carol, Go.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. Thank you, Linda and Joan! I applaud your success and admire your verve and dedication.
    Maureen

    Like

    • Dear Maureen,
      Thanks for writing. Linda is definitely successful. She sets her goals and then dedicates herself with opportunities and steps to achieve them. You’ve also been very successful. I admire your spunk and creativity.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  3. Linda and Joan — Good post! I know you must have a great feeling of satisfaction from reaching your goals this year, Linda. I think having a plan and sticking to it is a great way to reach your destination in publication. I need to get on the boat! 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Donna,
      Thanks for writing. Perhaps your goals are set within you and you haven’t written them out. You have gotten “Being Frank” published. This has been a time to be glad and enjoy the moment. You can make new goals. You’ll make them when the time is right. I hope PubSub3rdFri will help you obtain your goals.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  4. Carol, Maureen, and Donna,

    Thank you very much for your kind comments. PubSub3rdFri has been a great motivator and so have encouraging friends like you.

    Joan, thanks for inviting me to post. What an honor. Thanks also for being a dear friend to me even on days when goals seem unobtainable.

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thank you very much for being a guest blogger and sharing your goal setting and successes using the principles of PubSub3rdFri. Get it ready, send it out.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  5. Thanks, LInda and Joan, for being so liberal with your good advice and experience.

    I’m proud to say I know both of you!

    Jean
    Write2Ignite!

    Like

    • Dear Jean, It is good to hear from you. I was excited that Linda agreed to be a guest blogger. She gives lots of wise advice. I hope the Write 2 Ignite conference goes well for you, the other presenters, and those who attend.

      Do something good for yourself Joan Y. Edwards Author/Illustrator

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

