• Blog Stats

    • 473,733 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Image Props for Stories #4: A Remote Control, a Basket of Flowers, and a Bandage


“Image Props for Stories #4: A Remote Control, a Basket of Flowers, and a Bandage”

remote control for a television

Remote Control – © 2012 Joan Y. Edwards

basket of yellow daisies

Basket of Flowers – © 2012 Joan Y. Edwards

side of band aid with gauze pad on it

Bandage – © 2012 Joan Y. Edwards

Dear Readers,

The challenge is to use all three props: a remote control, a basket of flowers, and a bandage in a meaningful way to show emotion in your main character.  Feel free to add a paragraph or more in a comment below.

Joan Y. Edwards wrote:

There was not a bandage big enough to cover the hurt from relinquishing the remote control to my wife last night. 

“What! You want to watch Boxing with the Stars?”

Ann said, “Uncle Ted is on it.”

“You don’t even talk to your Uncle Ted, yet you want to watch him on television?” It was all I could do to contain my temper. Why was I getting so upset about this anyhow? I don’t have control of my wife. I definitely don’t have control of her Uncle Ted.

“It’ll just be for an hour,” she said.

I know now, I’m upset because I was about to relinquish control of the television. Giving control of the television for an hour was like giving it up for a lifetime. This was my downtime from work. This was my recreation. But I owed her a little.

“All right,” I said. I slung the remote control down on the coffee table in front of her. It knocked off a basket of flowers.  I didn’t mean to throw it that hard.

Ann picked it up and placed it back on the table. She patted the seat beside her. “Would you watch it with me?”  She clicked through the channels to the right one. “Would you?”

I didn’t answer right away. Would it be relinquishing more control if I watched? I turned and looked at the screen. Oh my gosh. Uncle Ted was in boxer shorts. This I had to see.

“Yes. I’ve got to see Uncle Ted in boxer shorts.”

No bandage covered my hurt. But humor transformed it. I searched for ways to transform other hurts in my life.

Change any of the story you like. Use the props above in a free-spirited writing exercise. Write down the words that flow from your mind. Perhaps you’ll find a way to add a prop to one of your works in progress. A prop can add pizzazz to your story.

I tried this once and no one responded, so I decided to add an example. No prizes. Just adding for the fun of it.

Thanks for reading my blog. Click the Sign Me Up in the left hand column, or click on Follow if it is visible at the top of the page to subscribe to my blog. When I reach 100 email subscribers, I’ll choose ten at random subscribers to win a free first page critique. The 100th subscriber will win a free critique of the first 1000 words of a manuscript, along with its pitch.

Here are links to my whole series on Props for Stories:

  1. Joan Y. Edwards. “Props for Characters: Toys, Games, and Other Items:” https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2011/09/21/props-for-characters-toys-games-and-other-items/
  2. Joan Y. Edwards. “Image Props for Stories #1:” https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2012/01/02/image-props-for-stories-1-all-that-was-left-a-stapler-a-money-bag-and-a-bird-ornament/
  3. Joan Y. Edwards. “Image Props for Stories #2:” https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/image-props-for-stories-2-bananas-scissors-a-vacuum-cleaner-and-a-ferris-wheel/
  4. Joan Y. Edwards. “Image Props for Stories #3:” https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2012/01/23/image-props-for-stories-3-a-basketball-a-pillow-and-a-pair-of-boots/
  5. You are reading this one. Joan Y. Edwards. “Image Props for Stories #4:” https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/image-props-for-stories-4-a-remote-control-a-basket-of-flowers-and-a-bandage/
  6. Joan Y. Edwards. “Image Props for Stories #5:” https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/image-props-for-stories-5-love-bug-dogcat-and-love-letter/
  7. Joan Y. Edwards. “Image Props for Stories #6:” https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2012/04/27/image-props-for-stories-6-coffee-maker-earphones-and-a-lamp/
  8. Joan Y. Edwards. “Image Props for Stories #7:” https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2012/08/29/image-props-for-stories-7-pay-phone-blue-wildflowers-and-fast-moving-river/

Do something fun for you today.
Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards

2 Responses

  1. Joan,

    Another catchy challenge with photos. I like that you include three photos. Encouraging writers to use a prop is another fun element. I hope lots of people participate.

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      I’m glad that you like that I include three photos. A prop can add many overtones to a story because it can be used to symbolize an inner or outer need of the main character.
      Do something fun for you today!
      Never Give Up!
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

